WI selectors messed up big time........

• WI selectors messed up big time........

in appointing Sammy as captain.When appointing a captain you have to make sure a player is good enough to command a place in the team and in my opinion Sammy is our weakest link both with the bat and the ball. Ravi Rampaul proved with his performance today that he would strengthen our bowling attack now it will be interesting what the selectors do when Roach returns for the quarter finals.

he is also inconsistent on the field. he dropped 2 big catches last match and had a fumble or 2 ....

Well, Sammy will not be dropped...so, from the last team that played vs. India I would drop Benn and Edwards and bring back Chanderpaul along with Gayle (Gayle is a sure pick).

The injury to Dwayne Bravo exposed our lack of a batting strength. Roach, Rampaul Bishoo cannot be depended on as genuine bats but will have to bowl 10 each, Gayle, Pollard and Sammy are the all-rounders who can also bowl 10, except Sammy has not said anything with the bat...

The lineup could be Gayle, Smith, Bravo DM, Pollard, Chanders, Thomas, Sammy, Russell, Roach, Bishoo, Rampaul. This lineup is not ideal as we are short two batsmen as I have dropped Sarwan, but we have an abundance of bowlers so I would want a genuine keeper behind the stumps (that is if you consider Thomas genuine; he has not done badly behind the stumps but the batting is not up to par). The other option is to bring in Sarwan who might have to keep or share keeping duties.... not good at all.
      Last edited by Peter R; March 21, 2011, 07:37 PM.

sammy had one decent score...be fair to the man. he made a quickfire 39 or so against england. don't dm bravo can keep?

Well, Sammy will not be dropped...so, from the last team that played vs. India I would drop Benn and Edwards and bring back Chanderpaul along with Gayle (Gayle is a sure pick).

The injury to Dwayne Bravo exposed our lack of a batting strength. Roach, Rampaul Bishoo cannot be depended on as genuine bats but will have to bowl 10 each, Gayle, Pollard and Sammy are the all-rounders who can also bowl 10, except Sammy has not said anything with the bat...

The lineup could be Gayle, Smith, Bravo DM, Pollard, Chanders, Thomas, Sammy, Russell, Roach, Bishoo, Rampaul. This lineup is not ideal as we are short two batsmen as I have dropped Sarwan, but we have an abundance of bowlers so I would want a genuine keeper behind the stumps (that is if you consider Thomas genuine; he has not done badly behind the stumps but the batting is not up to par). The other option is to bring in Sarwan who might have to keep or share keeping duties.... not good at all.
          Sarwan and Chanderpaul is a must so too is Gayle and Smith. The team should be Gayle,Smith,Bravo,Chanderpaul,Sarwan,Pollard,Russe ll,Thomas,Benn,Rampaul and Roach.That would be the best balanced team but there is no way they will drop Sammy so he would have to play instead of Rampaul with the hope that he finds some form wih bat and ball.So Sammy would bat at 7, Pollard at 6 and Russell at 8.

I suppose you are correct as leaving out Sarwan as I did in my lineup leaves us woefully short of batsmen. I wouldn't argue with leaving Rampaul out as Roach has earned his pick and has been consistent and is among the top bowlers. I would argue that Benn doesn't have momentum going for him and would play Bishoo instead...

I think ultimately a positive outcome against Pakistan will depend on how we bat.

Let's see how this pans out; good luck to the team, they'll need it.

Promote Pollard up the order! Chanders bat slow, push him down.

so willi...the game is pretty much over now so i can ask...IS WHICH MATRIX YUH DID A LOOK THRU?!!

When wi out, wi can talk. LoL

ready to talk?!!

Yeah

Better to live in Hope than die in Constant Spring. ROTFLMAO.

Pastures? Valley? Gardens? what about living in gimme mi bit?

LL

Bwoy, yuh full ah lyrics is ah shame!!

Mi seh suh to fi real, likkah how mi nuh use to di uptownish ting Pastures not (di cow) wouldah duh fi mi.