US Sprinters reach for Jamaica..Only Catch the Wind

• US Sprinters reach for Jamaica..Only Catch the Wind

Lauryn Williams and USA track have solid showing at Milrose Games at Madison Square Garden

BY Ebenezer Samuel
    DAILY NEWS SPORTS WRITER

Saturday, January 29th 2011, 4:00 AM

Lauryn Williams believes the U.S. can regain its track and field dominance this year, that the nation that fell so short of expectations in Beijing can finally beat Jamaica in this summer's World Championships in Korea.

"I really believe we can," she said.

After Friday's performance at the 104th Millrose Games at Madison Square Garden, the veteran sprinter has proof - at least a little bit.

The meet was billed as a chance to settle the rivalry, with the U.S. and Jamaica squaring off in the men's and women's 60-meter dashes.

The Jamaicans captured first place in both events, but the U.S. won on the scoreboard, outscoring Jamaica 23-19. And to Williams, that was where it counted, so much so that she chanted "USA! USA!" as soon as she learned of the result.

"We won today," she said. "We had more points. So we're ahead."

Then again, Jamaica's top runners still managed to assert themselves. American up-and-comer Queen Harrison struggled in the 60-meter hurdles, finishing fourth in 8.19. She barely challenged Jamaica's Vonette Dixon, who finished in 8 seconds, a world best.

Nesta Carter won the men's race, nipping U.S. runner Michael Rodgers by four hundredths of a second and finishing in 6.52, the best time in the world this year.

Defending Olympic 200-meter champion Veronica Campbell-Brown was even more dominating in the women's 60, exploding from the blocks and leading for almost the entire race. She finished in 7.11 seconds - another world-best - and easily outraced Williams, who finished a distant second in 7.22.

"It's a good way to start the season," Campbell-Brown said. "It's early season, so there's always room for improvement."

Williams foresees that, too. After all, she said, she hardly competed last year, and she got out of the blocks sluggishly Friday. Only a late surge over the last 20 meters helped her capture second place. Americans Lisa Barber (7.23) and Miki Barber (7.30) finished right behind her.

Not that Campbell-Brown was impressed by any of it. When asked if Jamaica was the sprint capital of the world, she responded with a wide smile and asked, "What do you think?"

The US Sprinters are nearly as delusional as you Don2...

yuh fi tap falla man round di board like One Puppy

Man?