'Champs' winner eyes double success at Princeton

• 'Champs' winner eyes double success at Princeton

THOUGH attending Ivy League school Princeton University where the focus is in the classroom, 20-year-old Damon McLean, a past student of Campion College, intends to graduate with honours on the field and fulfil an ambition of representing his country.
    The 2010 triple jump champion at the ISSA Boys and Girls Championships, McLean also hopes to make the grade in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA).

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1Btw7x6K6

The Ivy League does not provide athletic scholarships, secondly the quality of the athletes in the league are not the highest in the country. Good luck to him in the classroom!

True but they do compete against others outside the Ivy League and can qualify for the NCAA finals

wait deh .. him nuh brown....hail from trelawney ... ascot primary ...whey dat deh? portmore ...... ah...bwoy look whey campion come to, eh chiron?

quick question ... when is a centaur not a centaur? when it is a jackass!!!

Ouch, easy no man. Is a new year you know. ah no fi him fault all now him no get de memo.

true!

the person who came second to one Raymond Stewart at Champs got an academic scholarship to Princeton. he was good enuff to get an athletic scholarship to anywhere in the world. so no one should say they are not good enuff just because they chose another route.

please forgive me!!!! i have sinned against you my lord!!

LOL. The canteaur must get the memo this year. Head can't tough so.

oh?

Even some NCAA colleges get their players academic scholarship to take the pressure off their budget.

I got academic scholarship as my GPA from Comm College was good enough and it means the coach could spread the money to get a few other players. Unless you have great GPA Ivy League won't even bother with a yard player.

The school has to be careful when it comes to academic scholarships for athletes. Harvard did something similar sometime ago, and one of their rival schools submitted a complaint to the league.

if the athlete have the credential then I can't see a problem.

Yeah, I agree.

love dat!!....