in cricket people can argue

• in cricket people can argue

about who was the best ever batsman or bowler or whatever.

there is no controversy about who was the best cricketer ever... sir garfield st. a. sobers (salute when yuh say that name damnit!)

http://www.espncricinfo.com/legends-...rogram=1048038
    Last edited by Gamma; December 15, 2010, 10:19 AM.

True dat!

no doubt about that!

I remember as a teen being in Barbados when West Indies were playing England (Aug 1973) and of course every single Bajan was locked on to a transistor radio... my parents took us to tour some place or another and the workers were all glued to the radio...

Sobers took a catch, my brother(s) and I never forgot a Bajan guy saying : "Garry again!" he took four catches in that match and made 150 retired not out. He bowled a total of 12 (sparingly) overs for 37 runs but no wickets, Windies won by an innings and 226 runs. Those were the days!
        http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63113.html

Whenever Sobers did anything after that, we always used to say "Garry again" (with a Bajan accent). His career ended soon after that.

i wish those days, would, come back once more. why did those days, ever, have to go!

it was NZ that yagga debuted aginst nuh? yuh memba?

It was against NZ and I was lucky enough be at Sabina for his debut and witnessed his first 100.
              Last edited by Peter R; December 16, 2010, 10:08 PM.

and i was at sabina park for yagga debut... witnessed history... a touch of class...

mi grudge unnuh!