• JAMAICA needs stronger club structure in track and field

JAMAICA needs stronger club structure in track and field

by Carole Beckford begin_of_the_skype_highlighting end_of_the_skype_highlighting on Tuesday, September 21, 2010 at 6:23pm

KINGSTON, September 2010 Just over 62 years ago, Jamaica participated in its first Summer Olympic Games in London. This was after a 12-year break from the Games because of World War II. The last being in Berlin, where American Jesse Owen took the world by storm. Jamaica (with the Union Jack flag as its symbol) copped three medals - one gold and two silver. Arthur Wint won gold in the 400 metres and silver in the 800 metres; while Herb McKenley took silver in the 400 metres. Since then the country has participated in every Summer Games.

Fast forward to 2008 edition in Beijing where the country earned its most medals in the Games history - six gold, three silver and two bronze for a total of 11. What has been the constant throughout these years? The love for track and field, and so the Jamaica Olympic Association (JOA), Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA) and its affiliates have made every effort to manage the sport.

As is customary in any business, the success has opened the doors of opportunity and the country has a glorious chance to create a dynamic club structure which fosters the growth and development of track and field. The two known and outstanding clubs are
    - MVP led by Bruce James
    - Racers led by Glen Mills
    I know there are others around, but they need to be formalised and organised to absorb the ground swell of people/potential athletes who now seek to be trained and developed in Jamaica.

What has happened the burden is now on those two clubs and with hunt for medals on for 2011 (Daegu) and 2012 (London) - athletes have begun and will continue to search for a comfortable track and field home.

I am calling on the rest of the clubs to become formal and attract athletes and create a structure around them that will help them development. The templates are available and no need to re-invent the wheel. October/November is the start of the club year so there is time to get cracking. It would be a great way to support the sport of track and field we all love

What say you?

Tony Morrison Absolutely right...the only thing I can think of adding is that we convince some of our over-supply of 100 and 200 metre sprinters to try the middle distances, the 400 and 800...because we can only enter 3 or 4 athletes in any one final, while we usually have much more than 4 who can post qualifying times in the shorter sprints, even after picking reserves... ·
    • Anthony Foster It was just 2 hours ago I was telling a jamaican track and field star that we need a stronger club structure so we can have club champs...get sponsors so the club can charge a fee and we have the best runners meet...also we could invite 2 american clubs and get ESPN to buy the tv rights ... take the meet to catherine hall...a hugh sell off
    • Patricia Garel As usual we can depend on you to push us as a people, brillant idea we should all help with, I am sure there are companies yet unattached that have some marketing dollars to spare, lets get going!! ·
    • Karl Wallace Right on the money, Carole!
      We have a large supply of captive youngsters who are in the schools and only some of the cream move on to become senior participants. It is fact that over the years many excellent prospects leave active partic...ipation through lack of club oportunities. We need rapid development of number of clubs and they must be good quailty club organisations.

I hope the private sector and those with the expertise at preparing athletes will jump to answer your timely call. The numbers of athletes with good potential needed to fill club spaces only keep growing each year.

You are right on the money!
    Last edited by Karl; September 21, 2010, 06:57 PM.

Carole Beckford - Guys, like eveything else, database is key...JAAA has a list of coaches and so does ISSA, there are a number of them not aligned to any of the senior clubs. They should be pursued to grow in their craft in addition to getting support people... for this idea. Let's not fool ourselves track and field is a champion in the sport industry for Jamaica and we should prepare/plan effectively to support. GC Foster, Mico, UTech and UWI all have prgrammes for this kind of support. if we do not develop the club structure (which is the gap) we may start losing our athletes again to overseas clubs. West Indies cricket leaders failed to see the signs and all I am saying is, let's do this now...

Willi, MdmeX and the rest of T&F massive, come in!

Willi if it is not on the T&F site take it over there from Carole's FB page, nuh?

OK!

...see it is over there!