• shelly-ann fraser escapes ban...

Shelly-Ann Fraser escapes ban

Jamaican Olympic and World Champion Shelly-Ann Fraser has escaped a mandatory two-year ban after the International Association of Athletic Federations (IAAF) agreed with the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association's (JAAA) authorities that circumstances around her case were exceptional and did not merit such a punishment.

The 23-year-old, tested positive for a non- performance enhancement prohibitive substance, Oxycodone, at a Diamond League meet in Shanghai, China.

The JAAA tribunal will now meet to determine what sanctions are to be handed down to Fraser.

Fraser in May, gave her account of the events which led to her positive test at a three-member JAAA disciplinary panel hearing headed by former chief justice, Lensley Wolfe.

Fraser, in media reports prior to the hearing, said she took a painkiller for a tooth condition prior to the meet. However, as per procedure, she failed to report it on the meet's drug testing form. The painkiller, according to reports, was Oxycodone.

While not a performance-enhancing drug or masking agent, as per IAAF rules, the drug is on the World Anti-Doping Agency list of drugs which must be declared by an athlete prior to competition.

In the meanwhile Bobby Gaye Wilkins received a two year ban for a banned substance.

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=22424

I think they might be going after the coach instead

???? THAT would look and sound vindictive!!

Why would it? By his own admission he did give her a powerful prescription drug that he had no right to do and I am sure this is the exceptional circumstances that the IAAF and JADCO are talking about

not going down the oft travelled road . ....... if it was simply a matter of declaring it (i.e. that she has taken this medication for the condition) then if they discharge her from charges i don't see why they should go after the coach.

it just look transparently vindictive to me....

She will not be discharged of the charges, she will be disciplined but not to the fullest extent and get two years...she will be banned- my gut says maybe six months

the drug..is a prescription drug was it prescribed by her coach or medical personnel? was it the coach who recommended that she take the medication? they also say it is non-performance enhancing ..... so

it look like a witchhunt to me, sarry.

I still don't understand why it is illegal if it is not performance enhancing or a masking drug. And a with a potential 2 year ban at dat?

i'd have to agree with gamma... seems like a witch hunt... vindictive... from all indications it was a matter of negligence on saf's part... failure to declare that she had taken the meds... its not a performance enhancer... she had a dental condition which required pain meds to alleviate the pain to allow her to compete... the error was in not declaring it...

the ja panel should not recommend any additional time... she has already served all her time during this process... a public warning and time served should suffice for the athlete and perhaps similar public warning to the coach...

it has to do with 'protecting' the athletes from themselves... some drugs like the oxycodone can be addicting... they can be abused...

Was it vindictive when the IAAF and USADA banned coaches who are involved in doping allegations too?

Not saying Francis was doping anybody up but the man did give the athlete a drug AND did not declare it...clear violation of the drug code gentlemen, take the sentiments out of this.. I am sure if a US coach gave a US athlete some thing you all would be bawling for the law to take full effect

Hmmmm, I hear you.

Me nuh think that is part of the mandate of the IAAF though. What next, dem going to want a report on how many drinks Usain had at Quad?

It Was Not Declared...

if you read what i said you'd see where i said it was negligence on saf's part by not declaring taking the painkiller...

Was it vindictive when the IAAF and USADA banned coaches who are involved in doping allegations too?

Not saying Francis was doping anybody up but the man did give the athlete a drug AND did not declare it...clear violation of the drug code gentlemen, take the sentiments out of this.. I am sure if a US coach gave a US athlete some thing you all would be bawling for the law to take full effect
                              There is big difference between substances that should not be taken and substances that are allowed if declared.

So far based on what I have read I have not seen anything to indicate that the IAAF/WADA cares if a person has a prescription for a drug. All they seem to care about is whether or not the person took it and if it is one of those that can be taken if declared then whether or not it was declared it. It appears that Shelly is in hot water for failure to declare it and that the special circumstance is that they knew that she was in pain and had reason to take a painkiller.

Her coach could only in in trouble for dispensing it.The big issues here are whether the drug is a prescription medication in the country where it was given to her and any IAAF/WADA rules concerning the dispensing of prescription medication without a medical license in a country where a medical license is required.