It is NOT just T&F!!!!

That is true, my comments were meant for the T&F side of tings.

It is sure funny (stupid funny...mmmm?...puzzling funny) to hear some of our athletes and administrators promote the idea that the Commonwealth Games as a 2nd class games.

I wonder if they would care to list the top 10 world track and field games? Where would the Commonwealth Games fall on each person's list?

Nouveau riche is what we are! How our new found riches have gone to our heads? Amazing?

I suppose if we suddenly won the World Cup we would wish to have a bye to the CONCACAF finals or not take part at all? What nonsense that would be!
        Last edited by Karl; September 2, 2010, 10:55 AM.

None a dem naah guh!

Steeups...yuh nuh hear bout terrorist threat?
          In Ja is is not threats! It is ongoing terrorist activities...and we just keep coming!

exactly!

when you win an Olympic gold, what is a Commonwealth gold?!? but that should not be the attitude.

er..WHAT?

er..WHAT?
                di...eerrrrrrr???? ...altitude???

DAT was supposed to clear it up?

If our guys go, bye bye offseason and medal chances in Daegu.
                    Willi you have made the 'spiiners' tie you in knots!

Ask yourself this question: Is it not normal for athletes to take part in MORE THAN ONE MEET in closer proximity to major championships?

...and the answer is?
                    YES!

Why is it so many of those athletes then produce PBs or otherwise excellent times at the following Olympics or World Championships?

Part of that happening is a result of work done previously...including work done
                    during those preceding 'minor' championshps?

...and again the answer is, YES!

It is all about following a program that takes into account the meets previous to the Olympics and World Championships. Implicit in what these spinners want us to believe is "WE have great coaches! Smart coaches...but on matters of selecting meets and preparing programs to include, say a Commonwealth Games, the coaches are fools! ...unable to work out...not capable of thinking through and putting out...producing the necessary schedule to accommodate the Commonwealth Games and the following major meet.

Yah man...dem a di best...but dem fool cyaan dun!

Last edited by Karl; September 2, 2010, 11:38 AM.

Karl you really dont have a clue do you? certainly you are not just trying to sound so out of it, this must be a joke question on your part..

Waste of time for you but for countries like Canada, England, Australia, new Zealand, Cook island etc, it is massive.

It should be for us too but not when it is hekld so late in the season.

BTW I dont recall anyone calling it a waste of time four years ago when we dominated in Australia..funny how opinions change
                        I agree with you Sickko. But what most here forget is that it's not just for the T&F athletes but other sports also. Jamaica should not send a T&F team - young or old because it's at the end of everyone's season and it serves no benefit to any of them.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Well I think there are a few of our young athletes who would benefit from this meet, people like Yohan Blake and Germaine Gonzales need a title to their names and this is the closest they will come to one any time soon.

Then there are the third tier ones like Thompson who won the 400m at Trials, Bailey who won the 100m plus some of the others who are not in College could benefit from this 'big meet' experience

Karl you really dont have a clue do you? certainly you are not just trying to sound so out of it, this must be a joke question on your part..
                            Well Siccko I just do not know if you spent as many years as I did in the sports?

If we count schoolboy through to adulthood I would say - 1959 through to 1977...from pretender on the track to coach to official at Champs and Intercol and other smaller meets too numerous to mention.

...besides I actuially studied the subject of preparation of athletes for competitive meets.

Originally posted by Archibald05 View Post
                              we have a very strong team . . . hopes are upon them that they perform well .
                              Well I hope we mash-hit hup!

...and what does that mean? based on what you have said here and written it means you have wasted all those years as you obviously have not learnt anything worthwhile