Skeen wins Olympic gold

• Skeen wins Olympic gold

Odean Skeen won the gold in the 100m today at the first Youth Olympics in Singapore running 10.42seconds while a Japanese kid was second and the Briton third.

This means a Jamaican man has won every global 100m title since 2007-

Dexter Lee World Youth in 2007 and two World Juniors- 2008/2010; Bolt World Championships and Olympics and Now Skeen.

There is some amount of questions in my mind about this 15 year old kid however and wondering how they will use him for next season that raining normally starts in October.

And not just him alone but athletes like Russell from Holmwood and Fennell from KC who all went to World Juniors in canada last month.

In canada we heard Skeen was too injured to run the 200m and was held back for the 4x100m but it makws you wonder if he was being rested for this meet and why werent we told that then.

If he was too injured to run in Canada and ran only two relays legs, then his recovery to run 10.42 seconds here is nothing short of miraculous.

Odean Skeen won the gold in the 100m today at the first Youth Olympics in Singapore running 10.42seconds while a Japanese kid was second and the Briton third.

Dexter Lee World Youth in 2007 and two World Juniors- 2008/2010; Bolt World Championships and Olympics and Now Skeen.

There is some amount of questions in my mind about this 15 year old kid however and wondering how they will use him for next season that raining normally starts in October.

And not just him alone but athletes like Russell from Holmwood and Fennell from KC who all went to World Juniors in canada last month.

In canada we heard Skeen was too injured to run the 200m and was held back for the 4x100m but it makws you wonder if he was being rested for this meet and why werent we told that then.

If he was too injured to run in Canada and ran only two relays legs, then his recovery to run 10.42 seconds here is nothing short of miraculous.
    If he was too injured to run the 100M ...then firstly I assume he did not start our relays...but in any case it would seem he would not be risked (injury to himself and not fair to our other runners and the nation) on the relays. Something does not sit right there.

Sickko, you of all people should know to take what they say with a barrel of salt!

Remarkable though! Our sprinting is indeed supreme and unlike di rest of unnu, I think it will last for a very long time! Can't stop big up Asafa for putting di man dem back on the sprinting map!

I consider Commonwealth global enough and we have that too!

Congrats to him, as Don1 say we have fi enjoy it while it last

He was certaintly fit for this one. I met the Junior Olympic Team and had a talk with Grace Jackson about the workload and injuries to these youngsters doing international duties. She is 100% against overworking these youngers and made it clear that she would never take an injured youngster to a meet. If she suspect injury then you are out. I lift my hat to Grace, we need more people like her to protect these youngsters.

Yes and the West Indies cricket board also thought we would be walking around picking fast bowlers off breadfruit tress and top class batsmen would be falling off ackee trees for perpetuity as well

Time, no coach will ever tell you they over work anyone at all, it is ignorance that leads to overworking

it can be greed too. But since they are junior I don't think it would be in this case.

Nuff youths used to get abused at Champs back in the day. It was driven by the desire to get every possile point at all costs.

watch it now

Skeen is from a family of track and field enthusiasts.
                      "We all love track and field and every member of the family has been involved in the sport, as I used to compete for Tivoli Gardens and his father competed for Excelsior and Tivoli also," said Cheryl Skeen.
                      She warned rivals that there is another rising star in the family.
                      "His six-year-old brother, Xavier, who now attends Hydel, will even be more awesome than Odean. The Skeen dynasty will be around for a long time as Xavier is more talented at this stage than Odean was," concluded an emotional and happy mother.
                      - R.G.

A six year old???!!!! Poor kid....too much pressure too early...mek de boy go play and climb tree and shoot bird...oh is not country...play video game, watch tv, pick Julie mango.

SIGH poor Xavier...what a burden to carry

A sure Mama skeen don't agree with you .

She a groom him just like how Bella groom fi gymnastics.

Are you familiar with the history of athletes who were 'forced' or groomed by over zealous and misguided parents to be superstars?

The kid is six years old, let him be a kid and do whatever the hell he wants to do