Lets hope that the JAAA and MVP see eye to eye

Originally posted by Time View Post
    No, Paul I don't believe that Franno is an angel, everyone knows that he is not! I think we agree more than we disagree what type of person he is. However your dislike for Franno is clouding your thinking. I understand both the interest of JAAA and MVP but unlike you I want to see both of them work together in peace.

We can agree that Franno cares more about his individual athletes than Jamaica. He has said that. He said it when he was asked about the national coach job. Bruce answer was more elegant, he said that when MVP athletes do well, Jamaica does well.

The JAAA is interested in Jamaica winning the medals and in a perfect JAAA would not care which athlete wins the individual medal. Franno is interested its MVP athletes winning the individual medals and don't care about the others. Franno selfish attitude is not as bad as it seems because his selfish attitude is actually helping Jamaica to win more individual medals. The same principle works well in capitalism.

The problem is the relays and this is where we need a compromise. Lets agree that Franno does not care much about relays and that is selfish attitude is a threat to Jamaica winning more relay medals. The question is, is his position unreasonable? Relays are also a danger to athletes because the extra work is a risk to performance in the individual events and there is an increases risk of injury during the baton change. An injured athlete is not going to be earning big money in the weeks after the relays and MVP is in this business to make money. Can you understand that?

Lets agree that it is true that the other athletes are also at risk of burnt out and injury because of relay practice. What if the lack of relay practice helps MVP athletes to win more individual medals and also to earn more money in the following weeks? Remember in 2009 when Veronica gave up medical treatment in Greece for relay practice in camp while MVP skipped camp and took its stars to Italy? Perhaps if Veronica had gone to Greece instead of relay practice then she would have beaten Shelly-Ann, Kerron or Carmeliita in the 100m? Perhaps if Veronica had gone to Greece instead of relay practice then she would beaten Felix in the 200m and Jamaica would have gotten a gold instead of a silver?

Paul, The JAAA needs MVP in order to deliver more medals. MVP needs the JAAA in order to enter Olympic and World Championship individual events. Jamaica has some on the best administrators and coaches on this planet. The JAAA and MVP can solve the relay problem now! All they need to do is to sit down and talk. We don't want any more war, we want peace and medals!
    The relays? Medals? MVP athletes earnings?

It is worth reflecting on Asafa's only Gold at the two premier meetes - Olympics and World Champiuonships - being relay Gold. That certainly helped put more money in his pockets and MVP coffers.

It is worth thinking on Bolt being tripple Gold medalist (that includes the 4 x 100M) at the Olympics and the World Championships. ...and that the relay wins
    being a part of the sales narative leading to multi-million USD deals?

Short-sightedness on Franno's part?
    Certainly not Shelly-Ann Fraser's part if the fracas involved with and about VC's participation in running the 4 x 100M at the last World Chanmpioships is considered.

Sit down and talk?
    ...and yes! Leave egos at the door. Compromise! Take/make commonsense decisions!

Sit down and talk?
      ...and yes! Leave egos at the door. Compromise! Take/make commonsense decisions
      !

Betta yet - dem fi leave dem SKIRTS @ the door

Mills has been head coach for decades and there were times he did not have a Bolt or even a star athlete or even an athlete on the team, so the thing set big man

you miss my point.

anyway, i do hope they can find a workable compromise.

No no no... you done miss the point long time, you keep hammering about athletes wanting their coaches there and not every single athlete will be able to have that luxury, simple.

Plus given that MVP some times have the bulk of the athletes but Stephen has said over and over he is not interested in being a party of the national coaching staff as he does not want to waste time with other athletes in the camp when he is here for his athletes alone.

so who miss the point?

sorry boss you missed my point from the get. i said what if the athlete wants the coach there ....surely there ought to be some mechanism to facilitate that athlete having access to his coach whether in th camp or not.

as i said from jump, both sides carrying belly fi dem one anedda hence the drawn lines and crossed swords!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                !

Betta yet - dem fi leave dem SKIRTS @ the door
                Yuh seit! ...pure 'owman tracing business dat!

LoL

Dats why Simoes failed to qualify for RSA 2010.

I hope yuh wuz happy in RSA backing Brazil, ah mean Ghana or whoever!

Dem fi 'low the Pro to do dem thing. Is their livelihood and dem must be allowed to prepare the best they can (no interference), as they sink or swim based on performance.

Jaaa is like guvvament, dem just gwine screw up things in their lust for undue credit.

Imagine if Guvvament tell yuh how fi prepare yuh cases inna courthouse???

It will be interesting for Racers, now that Glen is no longer Nat Coach. I wonder if he will allow new coaches to tek weh Bolt, Blake Gunz etc in the final 2 weeks before Olys and Champs and have them "bond" (ridiculous for an indiv sport with seasoned adult pros) and do innapropriate workouts for their stage of preps..."gimme chree laps deh nuh".

This is no longer amateur hour High School Champs. The yanks coming fi wi head and our people better be METICULOUSLY prepared or ELSE. Ah science run things now. The old fashioned bakra master thing dun. Is Science not religion that guarantees results in this game.

If we have another showdown and results BOMB, the backlash will be against the JAAA. The coaches and the athletes can move on as their worth is proven. JAAA will be left to pick up the pieces. The sooner they learn that facilitiation helps them, the athletes and overall results, then things will move to the next level. Right now what happened with France in RSA 2010 is EXACTLY what we face in Jam. T&F. Same way Domenech was the old guard that feared the new players "taking over".

Well JAAA dun know seh Franno wont back down and rightly so. He did it their way in 2007 and it was detrimental to MVP. Franno simply wont turn over his business assets to JAAA for 2 week for them to screw up his results and affect his bread and butter. Him simply naah guh do it, no matter the consequences. Everybody dun know seh him dat draconian and tuff headed.

It is incumbent on the JAAA to find a livable solution for everyone, as it is their brief to defend excellence in JamDung T&F, not Mills, not Franno, but JAAA.

Jamdung will learn or it will feel. Plain truth.

Yuh must think the sport is still stuck in 1975!!!

Training techniques have advanced a lot and ESPECIALLY in Jamaica. That is why we get these results.

Gwaan go try kill the geese that lay the golden eggs. Seh feh!

and they are pro athletes who pay THEIR money for the coaching....archaic thinking. coaching methods have evolved, administration should evolve too.

having said that, COMPROMISE on both sides is the way to go.

But of course!