Lets hope that the JAAA and MVP see eye to eye

Dislike for Francis? WTF? Whenever I see Stephen or Paul we can talk or I feel free to call either of them or Adrian or Bug... dont get this twisted plus there are informers here who take things back to suit their own twisted agendas so be very careful.

Sorry it is Independence Day and I am listening to some wicked festival music on RJR while waiting for the meet from Sweden then going to a barbeque so excuse for not reading further than the first paragraph, maybe tomorrow or Monday I will finish it.

Originally posted by Time View Post
      Naw, this bigger than any high school alum. This is about big money and shoe contracts. Islandman has hit one of the nails on the head. MVP believe that a camp is for amatuer athletes and therefore a wast of time for its superstars plus they fear burnt out from doing relay training. Let work on theese issues now. We can do it, Jamaica Land We Love.
      Burn out on relay training?

Well Time I guess you never even watched T&F

Yes, that is a legitimate issue.
        None issue!
        The athlete either wants to be on TEAM Jamaica or not. When we go to 'the games' we enter a Jamaica TEAM...nto a Comets, KC, Vere, UTech, MVP or Races team...a Jamaica TEAM.

The JAAA sends out invitations to athletes. Not Steven Francis or Glen Miles or whomever.

You want to accept?
        Fine

You do not?
        Fine!

If you do accept you abide with the rules and regulations laid down by the national body.

get real karl..the national body has to realise day in day out that it does support the athletes or provide training.

the viability of JAAA DEPENDS on the performance of the athletes so there is a symbiosis there that needs to be nurtured. instead EGOS have gotten in the way and that can be just as detrimental as anything else.

EGO EGO EGO that is the problem. funny enough, unlike other situations it is not the ego of the athlete but rather of the coach and the governing body!!!!!

Gamma it is a chicken and egg situation..the athletes secure a lane on the circuit by their performance for their country at either Olympics or World Championships, ergo if they dont represent their country it will be hard to get a lane in the big meets come money making time, so performance for country is very important if you want to make mney

get real karl..the national body has to realise day in day out that it does support the athletes or provide training.

the viability of JAAA DEPENDS on the performance of the athletes so there is a symbiosis there that needs to be nurtured. instead EGOS have gotten in the way and that can be just as detrimental as anything else.

EGO EGO EGO that is the problem. funny enough, unlike other situations it is not the ego of the athlete but rather of the coach and the governing body!!!!!
              Yes...Stephen Fancis and some of his MVP bredren dem.

i understand that, but you get invited to trials based on your performance, at least i think that is why all now mi nuh get to invitation fi the jamaica t&f trials.

theoretically, IT could happen that an athlete can buss if the country decides to blackball him. if he is good enough another country will invite him.

e.g. a college student runs spectacular times but doesn't get invited to national trials. but runs good enough times to get invited to the circuit and mash up the circuit. if one country doesn't call him, another one will. see merlene ottey, she repping slovenia at 50!!!

so, yes the JAAA may hold the handle but that don't mean dem must try draw blood, same way, franno need to stop acting like an ass when it comes to this issue.

JAAA too!

Not at this level Gamma, other coaches dont just walk in and tell adult athletes about minor things, it is not their job, unless there is a relationship between the two..it is just not done.

And the main reason for the camps are relay changes and we all know how important this is as you wont get any chance once the Championships start and people start doing their individual events.

As for working with your individual coaches, in most cases three days or a week before a championships wont kill you plus in this particular case the MVP coach was given full acces to the camp.
                    If the coach do not already have them ready before attendance at the meet..trus mi dem wi neva readi!

reckless statement, what if they WANT the coach to be there?

You cant always get what you want son, fact of life... remeber VCB's coach was in prison when she won the 200m at the Olympics and the 100m at the WC

so that is a reason? ok, sowhen bolt set the world records, wasn't mills there? yes we cannot always get what we want because sometimes it is IMPOSSIBLE, but where it is possible shouldn't it be explored?

i still don't see WHY it has to be an extreme situation in either case. to me that is just further evidence of egotism!

reckless statement, what if they WANT the coach to be there?
                            What has wanting the coach got to do with that coach already having prepared the athlete to be in best condition at the games?

The truth is in T&F you are prepared to peak in the few weeks of the championships and produce your best in your event. That that does not happen as often as the coach and athlete would wish does not in any way negate the aims and the effort directed at making it happen.

As fact is once peak conditioning has been achieved the aim is to maintain peak for the duration of the targeted period. It is more following a carefully crafted program that is specifically geared to 'maintaining that optimum performance level' that is important. Unlike junior athletes...these reponsible professional individuals should have no problem sticking to the program during the few short days of the meet.

Besides with the advent of the technology we have it is easy to maintain the intimate contact the athlete has with his/her coach. Hell if Wint and McKenley and our then athletes could take of themselves and do what they did in 1948 there is nothing to prevent our current athletes to go about their tasks with the same discipline and dedication in environs where all the creature comforts are provided and all the support equipment, facilities and personel is in abundance.

I was convinced when MVP started the fracas that it was a selfish and stupid power play by that organisation. My position was and still is, even after my revelling in there athletes many glorious accomplishments, that the JAAA...our national boby should have expelled those MVP athletes who put self and MVP above Jamaica. It would have been the right thing to do...and I remain convinced it is the right thing to do if the athletes and MVP comes again with that distracting nonsense.

You either want to represent the country on the country's designated body's terms are you do not. End of story!

what if the athlete WANTS the coach? yuh give mi some treatise on a topic whey mi nuh ask about!

was francis working with his charges at the last 2 major meets at the meet? how did MVP do?

i see now the kind of intransigence that will ensure that we continue to have these issues.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                                In 2008 when Franno said that he does not want any coach working with his stars, that they may burn them out and when Shelly-Ann said that Franno only want baton change practice to be done at slow speed (jogging?) they was clearly talking about the relay practice BEFORE the individual events. The relay practice can be used to burn out his stars before they hit the individual events. This is dirty business Paul, don't hide you head in the sand.

I really don't want to see another JAAA/MVP war so lets work on the issues now. Jamaica Land We Love.
                                1. That is nonsense about relay practise burning out athletes.
                                Baton changing exercises are planned and act as...besides concentration on getting the baton most effectively passed...act on a secondary level as conditioning - wind-sprints.

No relay coach has his athletes in such pre-meets practise sessions running entire relay legs at full speed. ...and all things associated with recovery time, etc. built in/factored in and the sessions planned accordingly.

Francis speaks nonsense about any athlete being burnt out because of relay practise. Is he saying the JAAA coaches and mangers plus hhimself and or the athlete(s) cannot find the time or has the commonsense to schedule relay practises within that planned schedule to aid the athlete(s) to do the exercises to maintain 'peak'?

2. ...and that talk about relay practise being only at walking speed - relay practise must at some stage have the actual practise transfer of baton done at best speed = Not the running of a leg of a relay at full speed but the actual reduced area used to effect a transfer of the baton covered at 'best speed transfer of the baton'.

3. The passing of the baton and the receipt is both a science and an art. It is about the scientific working out of best measurements and timing on outgoing speeds and incoming speeds along with most effective way of transferring of the baton. ...and the art of recognising...the practised and built reflex (instinct & recognition) that allows for adjusting to...actual speed of incoming and outgoing runner.

We must have practises!

He is only able to get away with the nonsense he puts out because of silence on the part of former and present athletes and officials and the ignorance of the vast majority of the public to what is possible and what should be ruled out during the period covering athletes representing us at these international meets.
                                Last edited by Karl; August 7, 2010, 11:52 AM.