Lets hope that the JAAA and MVP see eye to eye
Time, please educate yourself on how camps work and stop being sensational, no coach not event at the Junior level 'coach' in a pre-competition camp or during events.
At the level of MVP each athlete have their own programmes to work with and mostl likely if there is not a coach from their club there as is most likely the case, they will have club mates there with them to over look what they do.
But once they get to a WC or Olympic theses people can work by themsleves for the few days they are ina camp.
In Moncton last month for the Junior Championships, the coaching staff there were at pains to remind the jamaican media that they dont 'coach' at the events as they cant go in and try to change what the respective coaches had done up to that point to get the athlete to the meet.
If you notice that the Wolmers sprint hurdler/long jumper crashed in the first hurdle in the semi-finals. His school coach was in canada and they tried to work on his start after the first round and it ended in disaster.
Thank God it was not one of the coaces from the panel who did that.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
It is NOT an issue cause it wont happen..for example you would not see Mills working on Asafa's start cause that is not how the camps work.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
yes they COULD but what if there are minor technical issues? it can easily arise and is a live issue!
if an athlete wants to work with his coach is that so wrong or inconceivable?
Not at this level Gamma, other coaches dont just walk in and tell adult athletes about minor things, it is not their job, unless there is a relationship between the two..it is just not done.
And the main reason for the camps are relay changes and we all know how important this is as you wont get any chance once the Championships start and people start doing their individual events.
As for working with your individual coaches, in most cases three days or a week before a championships wont kill you plus in this particular case the MVP coach was given full acces to the camp.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
which is why it ought to be at the option of the player. whether it will or won't kill them is for them and their coach to decide. again i say what if the coach has multiple clients in multiple camps? they are bein paid to coach the players so the players have a right to theor services
i believe most coaches attend the games, why? and if the coach is so unnecessary why is there a team coach?
my point is that there needs to be some flexibility, all round at that and if egos can just take a backseat i am sure that there is a workable solution.
Originally posted by Sickko View PostTime, please educate yourself on how camps work and stop being sensational, no coach not event at the Junior level 'coach' in a pre-competition camp or during events.
At the level of MVP each athlete have their own programmes to work with and mostl likely if there is not a coach from their club there as is most likely the case, they will have club mates there with them to over look what they do.
But once they get to a WC or Olympic theses people can work by themsleves for the few days they are ina camp.
In Moncton last month for the Junior Championships, the coaching staff there were at pains to remind the jamaican media that they dont 'coach' at the events as they cant go in and try to change what the respective coaches had done up to that point to get the athlete to the meet.
If you notice that the Wolmers sprint hurdler/long jumper crashed in the first hurdle in the semi-finals. His school coach was in canada and they tried to work on his start after the first round and it ended in disaster.
Thank God it was not one of the coaces from the panel who did that.
I really don't want to see another JAAA/MVP war so lets work on the issues now. Jamaica Land We Love.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
and Stephen Francis has ALWAYS been honest with the things he says...Time please stop quoting Stephen Francis as if he is Gospel
Have you ever been to a single track and field training session? Have you ever gone to watch relay practice?
OK even if you have not, so they practice at jogging pace, do they run at jogging pace in the actual race..come on man stop allowing people to think for you, you are smarter than this
So the other coaches would also risk their own athletes being burnt out in relay paractice just to spite MVP...unnu need to stop this MVP vs the World foolishness
Dont forget this is the same Francis who did not want Sherone to run in the relays in 2004 either because he does not care about team all he cares is about his athletes and jamaica can go to hell..Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
This is not about JAAA, you do realise? JAAA gets only so many accreditation for coaches and they must then decide who gets them.
In most cases there are more than one team training at the complex so you cant have a free for allSolidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
yuh definitely have yuh dander up about francis, mi can si dat! but that aside, the "my way or the highway approach from either side" (jaaa or franno) is not in the best interest of the athlete and ultimately jamaica.
how did mills deal with his athletes? he too had athletes from other camps, how was that dealt with?
Originally posted by Sickko View PostTime you do realise that it is not for the JAAA to do anything but for MVP to fall in line?
It would not surprise me if she gets a public warning and he (if the very serious allegations are true and given his intransigence in the past with the JAAA) gets a ban.
Originally posted by Sickko View Postand Stephen Francis has ALWAYS been honest with the things he says...Time please stop quoting Stephen Francis as if he is Gospel
Have you ever been to a single track and field training session? Have you ever gone to watch relay practice?
OK even if you have not, so they practice at jogging pace, do they run at jogging pace in the actual race..come on man stop allowing people to think for you, you are smarter than this
So the other coaches would also risk their own athletes being burnt out in relay paractice just to spite MVP...unnu need to stop this MVP vs the World foolishness
Dont forget this is the same Francis who did not want Sherone to run in the relays in 2004 either because he does not care about team all he cares is about his athletes and jamaica can go to hell..
No, Paul I don't believe that Franno is an angel, everyone knows that he is not! I think we agree more than we disagree what type of person he is. However your dislike for Franno is clouding your thinking. I understand both the interest of JAAA and MVP but unlike you I want to see both of them work together in peace.
We can agree that Franno cares more about his individual athletes than Jamaica. He has said that. He said it when he was asked about the national coach job. Bruce answer was more elegant, he said that when MVP athletes do well, Jamaica does well.
The JAAA is interested in Jamaica winning the medals and in a perfect JAAA would not care which athlete wins the individual medal. Franno is interested its MVP athletes winning the individual medals and don't care about the others. Franno selfish attitude is not as bad as it seems because his selfish attitude is actually helping Jamaica to win more individual medals. The same principle works well in capitalism.
The problem is the relays and this is where we need a compromise. Lets agree that Franno does not care much about relays and that is selfish attitude is a threat to Jamaica winning more relay medals. The question is, is his position unreasonable? Relays are also a danger to athletes because the extra work is a risk to performance in the individual events and there is an increases risk of injury during the baton change. An injured athlete is not going to be earning big money in the weeks after the relays and MVP is in this business to make money. Can you understand that?
Lets agree that it is true that the other athletes are also at risk of burnt out and injury because of relay practice. What if the lack of relay practice helps MVP athletes to win more individual medals and also to earn more money in the following weeks? Remember in 2009 when Veronica gave up medical treatment in Greece for relay practice in camp while MVP skipped camp and took its stars to Italy? Perhaps if Veronica had gone to Greece instead of relay practice then she would have beaten Shelly-Ann, Kerron or Carmeliita in the 100m? Perhaps if Veronica had gone to Greece instead of relay practice then she would beaten Felix in the 200m and Jamaica would have gotten a gold instead of a silver?
Paul, The JAAA needs MVP in order to deliver more medals. MVP needs the JAAA in order to enter Olympic and World Championship individual events. Jamaica has some on the best administrators and coaches on this planet. The JAAA and MVP can solve the relay problem now! All they need to do is to sit down and talk. We don't want any more war, we want peace and medals!