i love and respect merlene ottey...

• i love and respect merlene ottey...

here is an article on her with an interview... i don't know what to think...

the woman looks great and i am happy for her pursuing her passion but somehow i still don't know what to think... i'm confused...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/katharinemerry/2010/07/ottey_still_fired_by_passion.html

me too but i think we are confused by different things she still looks GREAT but bredrin, mi coulden understand the thick slovenian accent!

the slovenian accent nuh really bother mi... whereas she is immersed in that language and is not around too many jamaicans, it is to be expected...

what is unsettling is when the interviewer ask her if she can do anything else other than (running) t&f, she could not offer any ventures to which she is involved...

i think with her experience, she could be involved with coaching... she should have a lot to offer and her credibility would be unquestioned...

i am also somewhat saddened to see her competing and not looking like the merlene ottey that i'm accustomed to seeing...

i watched her after a race and although the body looks good, her walk wasn't strident and she just looked 'old'... i think she should stop competing and do something else...

Wasnt that the same Italian accent she had once?

i expected her to say "er..ah ... how do you zay in english"

what i am curious about is whether she is financially comfortable...if she is, then even more power to her!

She has a venture with kiniesology and the tensiometer device.

She hab nuff money, so dont worry.

willi, i have no doubt that she is well off financially... just that imho, i think she should start wrapping up the competition part of t&f...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                willi, i have no doubt that she is well off financially... just that imho, i think she should start wrapping up the competition part of t&f...
                She even have cottage at Tryall (Hanover)! ...and fi keep dat tek nuff-nuff dunny! Beautiful class resort.

Wasnt that the same Italian accent she had once?
                  Mi ear heavy Jamaican accent!

Isn't she into some thing with fashion and designing.

I don't think she a go stop. Look for her running in the oldster race at gibson in a few years from this.

She have no kids and may have made running her life.

I am not sure that Merlene would make a good coach. Clearly she has the knowledge but she has never been a great communicator.

RUN Merlene RUN ! She loves it .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

well, there is the language barrier...