• Back off Wayne Cummings

Western News

You’re so wrong about the Trelawny Multi-purpose stadium, Wayne Cummings
    ON THE SPORTING EDGE
    Paul A Reid
    Thursday, July 15, 2010

THE broadside against the construction of the Trelawny Multi-purpose stadium by president of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association's (JHTA) president, Wayne Cummings, would have been funny if his comments weren't so badly misguided.
    According to Cummings the facility that was completed in 2007 in time for the start of the ICC World Cup is a "white elephant", "the biggest waste of money" and "a joke".
    For his sake I hope he was misquoted, because one would hope that someone in the tourism industry would see the need for a facility of this sort in the region.
    If Mr Cummings had taken the time out to do some research before going on the offensive, I am sure he would have been made to understand the need for not just this one facility but at least two or three more around the island.
    Trinidad, which is maybe a third the size of Jamaica, has more world-class facilities than we do and thus is able to attract more world-class events than we can, including FIFA World Championships.
    I thought by now we would have gone past the 'Sabina-Park-issufficient-for-all-cricket-needs-in-the island' talk a long time ago, and if the JHTA president understood the scope of what took place in 2007 then there is certainly no way he could hold this opinion three years later.
    Obviously, when he stepped out of trying to improve the tourism product and into discussing sports and sport facilities in the island he left his comfort zone.
    While I will accept that the facility was too cricket-oriented in its design and that work needed to be done especially to the field, it would be foolhardy to dismiss it as useless.
    This talk of white elephants, without any serious empirical evidence to back up the claims, has gone on long enough.
    I would be willing to bet that the Trelawny facility has had several days where it has earned more money than Sabina Park in the last three years.
    Cummings' reported anger was misplaced and maybe he needs to be part of the solution and use his tourism connections to attract events to the facility.
    There seems to be a rush to jump on the bandwagon to bash the facility without proper checks.
    Just last weekend there was a site inspection by baseball interests which, if it works out, would be a massive fillip for not just the Trelawny Multipurpose stadium, but for the entire island.
    Imagine the impact the introduction of baseball would have on the island and how the faltering sport of softball would also benefit.
    The hope here is that given the availability of lands at the property on which the stadium is built, there will be expansions and additions as time and money will allow, and then we will see a real multi-purpose facility.

If the stadium is not being used and paying for itself then it was a waste of money.
    If the stadium was built mainly for cricket then it was a waste of money because for international cricket we already have an underutilized facility available.

If they can find a way to make it profitable then great, but based on the the choice back then and the reason, it was a complete waste of money.

Is Sabina Park paying for itself?

Independence Park ltd sent out a release a few weeks ago, outlining the income stream for the stadium over the post two years and it was more than any other sporting venue other than national stadioum complex.

A one thing with Cummings a defend and a JHTA. A bet you him never see nuh waste a the Sandals whey Vin them build fi government.

While it wasn't my choice of spot but the stadium de deh already so him can help make use of it. Did he hear about the one in St.Catherine that KD build?

Is Sabina Park paying for itself?

Independence Park ltd sent out a release a few weeks ago, outlining the income stream for the stadium over the post two years and it was more than any other sporting venue other than national stadioum complex.
          If Sabina park doesn't pay for itslef it doesn't mean you should build another stadium. That simply means that there are now two facilities that do not pay for themself instead of one.

When that stadium was constructed, the use of it and the detrmination of how it would pay for itself were not well thought out. It was a waste.

If they had a detailed plan about how it would pay for itself and the country would not be burdened, then it would have been a good choice. However, there was no such plan in place.

While I will accept that the facility was too cricket-oriented in its design and that work needed to be done especially to the field, it would be foolhardy to dismiss it as useless.
            Cricket-oriented but still not able to host test cricket match. den what it really mek fah? opening ceremonies alone?!?

Woiee Sickko - give the man some b-i-t-c-h slap!!

Jah cure prison release parties.

I wonder if Cummings would say the same thing about any our schools? Is it then that those who are given the responsibility to manage these our physical plants (...or such I have said, manage these institutions?) bear no blame?

...would say the Holiday Inn or a Breezes plant or MoBay Parish Church or... be termed as Wayne blast claims?

..or should Wayne make himself part of the solution rather than mere windbag?

So by your logic, we should not build anymore stadia then, and further more tear down the ones we have now that are not paying for themselves?

We most definitely should not build any more, until we can figure out how to use the ones we already have more cost effectively.

So by your logic, we should not build anymore stadia then, and further more tear down the ones we have now that are not paying for themselves?
                        Why would you build stadiums if they do not pay for themself? Especially in a case when you already have a venue for International Football and Cricket and the country is in a fiscal nightmare.

If there is no plan for getting close to profitability what is the sense of building a stadium? Is there some additional real estate development that is coming along with the stadium? Is there an increase in private enterprise in the surrounding area where you can recoup some of the money from taxes.

You don't just build because one day you want to be able to host a world cup. Poor Poor planning.

Our schools? What are you talking about?

you can tell him nuh support free education. LOL

Sass, that one up in Sligoville, St Catherine is the one that gets me! A lovely facility, yet no one (not even the JFF) attempt to use the field for even training or practice. Sad reality!
                              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011