• All Athletes are equal but Usain Bolt is more equal

Sports minister to look at Bolt withdrawal

Reuters - Tue, 13 Jul 14:27:00 2010

Buzz Up!

Britain's sports minister Hugh Robertson said he could intervene after Olympic and world 100m and 200m champion Usain Bolt decided to miss next month's Diamond League meeting in London for tax reasons.
    More Stories

On Monday Bolt said he would not run at the event because of Britain's prohibitive tax rules but Robertson suggested he could work something out with UK Athletics and promoters Fast Track.
    "I've not had a direct approach from either the sport's governing body or the promoters of the Crystal Palace meeting so I don't know exactly what we are dealing with here," Robertson said in an interview on BBC radio.
    "It is a problem we have come across and addressed with other sports and clearly if they write to me I will take it up with the treasury. It's a problem across other sports.
    "Golfers and tennis players have come to me, and I'm pretty sure that at the back end of the 2012 Olympic bill is a commitment not to tax overseas stars who come over to compete in the Olympics.
    "If there is a particular problem (with Bolt) I'm happy to look at it and see if I can help."
    Bolt's agent said discussions were ongoing about the issue.
    "I am in regular contact with the organisers of the London Grand Prix who are working on this situation," Ricky Simms said.
    "Usain loves running in London as it is a world class meet and there are always a lot of Jamaicans in the crowd. We hope to get the issue resolved as soon as possible."
    The British tax system means that Bolt would be taxed on his earnings at the lucrative event and also on a proportion of his huge personal endorsements throughout the year, even though he does not reside in Britain.
    It is a system that has already undermined Britain's attempts to host some major sports events, including this year's Champions League final which was staged in Madrid rather than Wembley.
    Robertson, however, said that it might be too late to prevent the world's fastest man taking on Asafa Powell and Tyson Gay in a mouthwatering 100m in London.
    "Ideally (he will be at Crystal Palace) which is why I say when they write to me, I will see what I can do. Three weeks doesn't give us a whole lot of time to organise a tax concession."
    UK Athletics and Fast Track were both unavailable for comment.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I wonder why the other athletes like Powell and Gay don't withdraw too.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Because they dont have that much to lose obviously.

The British people would be smart to make the changes as they can earn a lot more with Bolt being there than staying away, look at what happened at Penn Relays this year..it is called the Bolt effect

With Bolt there they would get a full house, venders and concessionaires would sell more, people would fly in from nearby places to see him run, more hotel rooms get booked, much more media attention.

For the Adidas GP in New york in June we got several memos asking for confirmation as the overwhelming media requests woulkd see the place being full to over flowing.

After he withdrew you could virtually choose where you wanted to sit in the media areas as many of the media people did not even bother to show up.

I wonder why the other athletes like Powell and Gay don't withdraw too.
        Errrr.. they first have to beat the Big Man. Remember the wrestling credo:
        You have to beat the man to be the man.

Don is Don, Donovan is Donovan!

dis a nuh don corleone, dis a nuh leroy smart!

dont diss di Don. LoL

I ahrdly see you online anymore.
              I wanted a reprise of RSA trip. Will try to catch you soon.

catching up with stuff...yeah man. it was POWERFUL!!!