Wolmer's 4 x 1 team - Greatest Jamaican HSB

• Wolmer's 4 x 1 team - Greatest Jamaican HSB

I said it before and some smart person at the herald has seen the light. My boys can run the 4 x1 in under 39.6.

Let see what Munro can deliver next year. In the meanwhile Wolmer's will hold the title as Jamaica'a greatest 4 x 1 HSB team by virture of running the 39.78 while tired at Penns which is harder compared the 39.78 by St Jago while tired at Champs at Jamaica's National Stadium.

Wolmer’s solves the mystery

Article Published: Sunday, May 2nd, 2010
    At first, it was hard to predict who would be the best high school team in the boys’ 4×100 relay.Wolmer’s had retained all the members of the 2009 Penn Relays team that had run 40.44 seconds.A loss to St George’s College at the Gibson Relays in class 1 and a dropped baton in the Grace/ISSA Championships confused the issue even further.
    The matter was clarified at the Penn Relays as Wolmer’s won the Championship 4×100 in 39.78 seconds. That time not only broke Calabar’s meet record of 39.91 but also equaled the Jamaican high school record set by St Jago in 2008. In a race where the four Jamaican schools went 1-2-3-4, Odeen Skeen, Dwayne Exdol, Julian Forte and A-Shawni Mitchell connected with three perfect baton passes to equal the record set by Yohan Blake and his St Jago teammates at the 2008 edition of Grace/ISSA Champs.
    St George’s College had taken the ascendency with a 40.24 second win over Wolmer’s at Gibson. Sadly, senior Georgian Khorey Spaudling suffered an injury at Champs where Aldain Rankin anchored Calabar to victory ahead of Camperdown.
    On the surface, that was confusing. A closer look at the Champs results revealed the sprinting strength of the Wolmer’s squad. Skeen had taken the class 2 sprint double. Forte took the same events, the 100 and 200 in class 1, with 400 champion Exdol second in the curved sprint. Mitchell, a former class 3 400 winner, came to Penn fresh from a 47.86 second personal best for 400 metres at Champs.
    After a winning experiment with Skeen on the first leg and Mitchell absent at the UTECH Classic on April 17, the Wolmerians went to Penn confident. The heats, run on Penn Friday, gave a hint of their speed. At 40.47 seconds, Skeen, Exdol, Forte and Mitchell had come close to the 40.44 of 2009.
    Few noticed that it was the fifth entry into the all-time Penn Relays top 10. That didn’t matter as more was to come.
    In the final, Skeen jetted from the start and made a perfect connection with Exdol who closed the stagger on Calabar’s hurdler Deuce Carter. Forte pulled away and Mitchell ran well to close the effort.
    Camperdown and St George’s College were second and third in 40.61 and 40.97 seconds respectively. The time was remarkable. St Jago’s 39.78 was set in the spacious surrounds of Kingston’s National Stadium. That venerable structure is similar to many of the world’s great track and field stadiums with long straights and gentle curves.
    Penn’s Franklin Field is cramped with short straights and sharp curves. That combination makes it harder for sprinters to go fast. In 2007, St Jago ran 39.80 at Champs and 39.96 seconds at the Penn Relays. That suggests that the 2010 Wolmer’s team can run under 39.6.
    That potential may never be discovered as Exdol will be out of high school track and field eligibility after this season. It is, however, clear that the 2010 sprint relay mystery has been solved. Even though St Jago and Calabar beat Wolmer’s to sub-40 territory, fans can safely conclude that Skeen, Exdol, Forte and Mitchell are the fastest Jamaican high school 4×100 quartet of 2010 and one of the very best of all time.

So was the Wolmers team the only tired team at Penn Relays this year????
    And are you certain the Extoll will be back, isnt he doing college visits as we speak?

Also Time who is this genius who keeps talking about Exdol?

So was the Wolmers team the only tired team at Penn Relays this year????
        And are you certain the Extoll will be back, isnt he doing college visits as we speak?
        No, but the we are the only tired one that broke HSB 4 x 1 recordis year - LOL th?

No, he won't be back at Champs. They left Penns to do college visits, he has 12 offers.

We have an offer for him to run one more race in the US but I think that is a 4 x 4. I told then that they are welcome to come back for one last race but he final decision has to be made in Jamaica.

Munro? How Munro come inna dis? If yuh talking about the 4x4 now, then yuh have a right to be nervous, since it was Munro that did the fastest time at Penns!

Will Munro be next in the exclusive 4 x 1 under 40 club?

Munro? How Munro come inna dis? If yuh talking about the 4x4 now, then yuh have a right to be nervous, since it was Munro that did the fastest time at Penns!

Who’s next under 40 seconds?

Article Published: Sunday, May 2nd, 2010
            Now that Wolmer’s has joined St Jago and Calabar in the exclusive sub-40 club, it makes you wonder who will be next? This year’s results pinpoint two teams, St George’s College and Munro College. The Georgians ran 40.24 seconds, a school record, to win the Gibson Relays class 1 final this year. That team will be weakened by graduation to reliable Khorey Spaulding this year but replacements may soon come to hand.
            Last year, the North Street school fielded a brilliant class 3 team led by 400 winner Akiel Bowes-Savage. Savage and his teammates will again be in class 2 in 2011. 2009 class 2 400 champion Jermaine Fyffe will then in his second year of class 1. A 2011 combination of class 1 and 2 could put the Georgians under 40 seconds.
            In 2009, St George’s College set a class 3 4×100 relay record of 43.26 seconds. Add Fyffe and give that set of 2009 class 3 speedsters some time to mature and they could beat 40 soon.
            While the Georgians mature, Munro is in pole position to join the sub-40 club in 2011. In 2007, 2008 and 2009, Munro won the class 3 100 metres through Ronaldo Reid, Adam Cummings and Keniel Harrison. The Malvern school also has two-time class 2 200 runner-up Delano Williams. The Turks and Caicos native anchored class 2 sprint relay wins in both 2009 and 2010.
            If they all stay healthy and if they all stay in Malvern, Munro definitely has the speed to break 40 and to surpass the Jamaican high school record jointly held at 39.78 seconds by St Jago and Wolmer’s.

Okay then! I guess we'll just have to take it! We won Class II when we had injuries, so...

Not to mention tired... I guess Time does not wnat to just accept that the Wolmers team ran a brilliant race he wants to embellish crap about the boys being tired...hey come late April EVERYONE is tired even the big belly know nothing sports writers

So if everyone tired does not make Wolmer's not tired?

You have more sense than this and you sounding like Lazie trying to defend the JLP in the Dudus affair, what I am saying is simply this...every single team came into the season knowing exactly how long the seaosn would be and what they had to do, given what we know that MVP was the force behind Woilmers and not really the four assistant coaches, it should be a given they would be prepared for the long haul and so you need to stop talking about a 'tired Wolmers team' as if they walked to Philly and slept on the side walk in the cold but still broke records.

Trust me it is getting really tiresome

I rest my case, I leave you to Mosiah. I am going to look like an Angel when Mosiah done wi you
                      Last edited by Time; May 4, 2010, 04:38 PM. Reason: spellling