MVP at it again...

Bruce James - Finally spoke on/to the issue!

No room for Simpson at Ja invitational

file - Sherone Simpson
    Ryon Jones, Star Writer
    Olympic silver medallist Sherone Simpson, who is currently trying to get back to the pinnacle of her profession, following an injury-riddled 2009, has seen her request for a lane in tomorrow's Inter-national Invitational Meet denied.

Simpson, who copped silver in the 100m at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, and four years earlier helped Jamaica's 4x100m relay team to gold at the Athens Olympics, has in recent weeks publicly stated her desire to participate in the 100m, where she would have faced compatriot Kerron Stewart and world's fastest woman Carmelita Jeter.

The invitation to be part of the meet was originally extended to Simpson and her MVP teammates. However, according to meet director Donald Quarrie, the MVP camp advised that Simpson was among a number of MVP, who would not be available to participate.

"It is totally unfair to her for them (MVP) to have taken her out of the meet, they should never have done that, she doesn't deserve that, to put her in limbo like that was not right," said Quarrie.

already allocated

"She should have had a say, early enough, if she wanted to come out or not. So everyone needs to question the MVP administration, coaching staff and management staff, as they should give Jamaica an explanation as to why they took her out.

"I would have been willing to put her back in but the lanes were already allocated. Whatever they did, they did not have her interest at heart and I guess they realised it after the fact," he added.

MVP's president Bruce James however, puts forward a possible reason for Simpson having not been originally entered to compete at the meet.

"The coach knows her level of preparation, the coach knows what type of form she is in, for example she was entered in the UTech meet on the 17th of April, she was entered in the Penn Relays on the 24th of April. Therefore, when the coaches at first determined that the April 17th race and the April 24th race would be enough for her, I was satisfied with that decision by the coaches," said James.

"After further reflections the coaches determined that she could handle April 17, April 24th and May 1st back to back, again I supported their decisions," he added.

Following the coaches' decision for Simpson to run, her agent Paul Doyle made contact with the meet organisers requesting a lane for her, but one could not have been found.
    "Initially, we told them that she wasn't going to run and then a few days later we realised that it would have been in her best interest to run," said Doyle.

"So around three weeks ago, we decided that she would like to run. I contacted Donald Quarrie and Howard Aris but ultimately they weren't able to find her a lane," he added.

Simpson will, however, be in action this weekend as she left the island last night for where she will compete in the 100 at a meet on Saturday.

http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/2010...s/sports1.html

--------------

Aside: Think James' words say - the truth is the Twitter post was a lie!

Why was it done?
    Who knows? ...but it may have been to pressure Quarrie to 'bump' someone and put Sherone in? ...good management tactic or no?
    Last edited by Karl; May 5, 2010, 12:51 AM.

this adds nothing. and i STILL see no reason for all the public brouhaha!

egos still at the forefront....the real loses is the sporting public! they are eaching trying to get the public on their side each with thier PETTINESS!

she finished 3rd in guadeloupe running some 11.2 something. hardly impressive.

ok....she woulda finish last in JA...but again..why the big deal?

mi nuh know. absolutely tiyad of this MVP soap opera. Mind you, DQ might have something personal wid dem, but still, every day is someting new wid MVP.

Bolt mi seh - shows up, runs, sets records! What more can you ask for?!?

Not fair, long trip across the Caribbean the day before the meet could have affected her... there is blame to go arojund and it rests squarely on the shoulders of her handlers or herself...if more of the MVP athletes are willing to stand up like Michael Frater who said on TV he cant turn down the chance to run at home on a fast track in front of his home crowd

then that is his choice....merlene decided to represent slovenia...sanya richards to represent the us if the athletes don't want to stand up...that too is their business.

mi TYAD ah di personality and egos thing because to me, that is what it comes down to...franno versus the JAAA and everybody else suffers especially the fans! the way i see it there are no innocent parties!

The wind in Jamaica was +1.5ms. Guadeloupe unknown...

she came third, willi! beaten by some unknowns. or was she affected by the wind and not the other girls?

very strong cross winds in those French islands...sneaky frogs...

You mean SA Brooks, the Commonwealth Champ is a no name???
                        Again, without the wind reading, you cant make a definite conclusion.

In any case, 11.26s as a time would have been 4th in Kgn. However, it COULD have been faster given the high wind in Jamaica +1.5ms!!!! Capice???

brooks came first and second?

sherri-ann? why not...shi have 2 first name!

lol

You said ...and I quote..."some unknowns".

Now dat means more than one. Given that ongly 2 people beat her, it logically follows that you consider SAB an unknown.....so I thought I needed to educate you as to who SAB is. LoL