What sort of cry cry business this?

• What sort of cry cry business this?

What sort of cry cry baby business this? If we get all the Visas and some more dollars to take more people then we can beat the Californians!

Paul, you need to mention the fact that last year we had to pay for the girls teams to enter the stadium on Saturday.

Team Jamaica Bickle hoist a managers and coaches meeting onThursday or Friday. I will let you know when I get there today.

Sport
    No prejudice against Jamaican teams at 'Penns'
    ‘Penns’ official rubbishes talk of bias against J’can athletes

BY PAUL A REID Observer writer reidp@jamaicaobserver.com
    Thursday, April 22, 2010

PHILADELPHIA, USA — A top Penn Relays official has denied allegations of bias against Jamaican high schools teams taking part at the prestigious Penn Relays Carnival in Philadelphia, USA.

For years, a number of Jamaican high schools coaches and track and field fans have claimed biases against the Jamaican runners who have dominated the meet since 1964 -- winning dozens of relays and individual titles, while competing against other Jamaican and American high schools.

JOHNSON... now the Jamaicans have accused us of bringing in the California teams to beat them

1/1

The whispers reached a crescendo a few years ago when a number of coaches started talking about boycotting the meet and going elsewhere. This never gained momentum nor wide-range support and Jamaican teams are still going to the Penn Relays in record numbers. This year nearly 40 high school teams and six college teams are expected to take part.

The main bone of contention among the Jamaicans is that rules have been changed to 'level the playing fields', including limitations on the number of times that athletes can take part in the meet as well as whispers of the relay organisers subsidising teams from California to beat the Jamaicans.
    Director of the meet, Dave Johnson, however, shot down these allegations during an interview with the Observer earlier this year.

Johnson, who was in the island earlier this year as a guest of the University of Technology, said it was ironic that the Jamaicans would level those charges as the same allegations were levelled at them by the New York-based schools whose decades-old dominance was broken by the Jamaicans.

Asked whether there were any truths that teams were being subsidised, Johnson said: "We can't subsidise travel for no high school because that would be against NCAA rules and it would be seen as recruiting benefits."
    "The New York schools had dominated Penn Relays from the 1940s through to the early 1960s and they accused us of bringing in the Jamaicans to beat them; now the Jamaican have accused us of bringing in the California teams to beat them; the question is whose oxen is getting gored?" argued Johnson.

As for the eligibility rule changes, Johnson said the rules were always there, but it was the organisers who were lax in enforcing them. "That wasn't done at all for the sake of levelling any playing field, that was a clarification of long existing rules," he explained.

Johnson said the proliferation of the Internet and the easy access to meet results from anywhere in the world, made things a lot easier for the organisers to track the athletes and schools.

It was pointed out to Johnson that a number of Jamaicans had competed more than four years as were listed in the records section of the meet progra mme each year, including Catherine Scott who won watches between 1987-91, Claudine Williams (1990-94) as well as Aileen Bailey.

"That is a record that probably will never be broken and frankly should not have been allowed then, but this is what having computers can do as we can catch up on this," he said.
    Last edited by Karl; April 23, 2010, 12:06 PM.

It would be an even better event if the top teams in America compete! I say bring it on!

Yes! What's the problem?!? They need to stop the whining!

There are those who flout the idea that the Jamaican schools should boycott Penn Relays because them not getting any money.

My stance has been the schools/colleges that participate from Jamaica must be deriving some benefit. Otherwise, why would they every year put out nuff $$$ - scarce resource that they can ill afford; either through begging, borrowing (and probably stealing ) for the sake of getting to Philly.

lickey-lickey, shameless souls.

And what is the problem with the girls paying to go in on Saturday, they run Thursday and Friday and as far as the organisers are concerned they are taking up seats that can be paid for on Saturday.

they are embarrassing us.

And what is the problem with the girls paying to go in on Saturday, they run Thursday and Friday and as far as the organisers are concerned they are taking up seats that can be paid for on Saturday.

There is no "free lunch"

Now you see the difference why no money can't mek a stadium. All who never run and them cousin go in free.

Mosiah tell me that entertainment nah do good but if them charge Mavodo, Bounty, Vibez, Capleton and Sizzla crews etc. Promoter woulda laugh.

Boys Teams locked out from Penns on Thursday

Penns shocked everybody and enforced the lock out rule on Thursday, a day when the stadium is almost empty and also on which various people have free access to the stadium. There was nothing to be gained financially because boys were not taking up seats that would have been sold. They should have least told us before, because the Jamaican teams are fed at the stadium.

Tory come to bump!

Then find a way to get the food to them then...it is not rocket science Time, stop making excuses for free loaders...we get the boys to philly certainly we can get the food to them.

The food is NOT prepared at Franklin Field and has to get there, TJB has several buses and the same buses that ferry the girls to and from the stadium can take the food to the boys.

I was downtown Philly Sunday and saw Jamaican high school athletes walking out of stores with massive bags of stuff they bought, Munro and KC athletes were on the same flight down with me today and I saw them spending upwards of $40 on cheap trinkets at the airport stores, certainly they can afford the $10 or $15 for a Thursday ticket.

Maybe the mentality is now that "we nuh fi pay, cause a we run tings @ Franklin Field".

Just wondering!

That is exactly the mentality...on Wednesday two high school coaches were looking at the new construction at Frankllin Field and said loudly that "Penn was making millions off us and we cant get anything from them"

he was wrong on two counts, the money spent on the construction came from football boosters and two if Penn gives any high school money like that to help with travel etc then none of the athletes who travel then will be eligible for scholarships to NCAA schools

One of the problems is ignorance, they dont know that college football is a massive thing at Penn and while Penn Relays is sold out one day a year, Saturday, football is sold out every weeknd for months

Ignorance fi true. Them think the one-day Saturday gate receipt @ the Relay can maintain stadium facilities, pay cleaning crew, factor in the millions of gallons of water consumption, electricity, etc.