Who writes these things?!??

• Who writes these things?!??

Olympic and World Championship 400m hurdles gold medallist Melaine Walker shaked off an Achilles tendon injury to post 52.84 seconds to place second in the flat 400m behind MVP training partner Stephanie McPherson, who won in 52.48.
    - Observer

Wha wrang wid it?? De woman "shake aff har injury" fi come second behind har training pardna in the 400. Cho!

Our Semi-Literate Culture!

- Observer
      Maybe there’s another error somewhere in this somewhat retarded sentence. However, I’m just “passing through” -- that is, taking a quick look at today’s posts before going out – and so I have no time for the usual discussion this evening.

The obvious error is “shaked”! The correct word is “shook”, but should I be surprised that, with more than 30 hits on this thread, there was only one (irrelevant) response to this simple, easy-to-spot error in grammar?!

Yuh saw it too???
        MDYADWL

I could not believe my eyes when I sawED it! LoL
        I thinkED I was going crazy!

Kayron....

Re: Yuh saw it too???

Yuh saw it too???
            MDYADWL

I could not believe my eyes when I sawED it! LoL
            I thinkED I was going crazy!
            Willi, this guy Kayon Raynor is a worse writer than many people realize!! In fact, as I mentioned on this forum sometime last summer, I sometimes browse his sports articles just to have fun identifying his inevitable mistakes! The errors in his writing are sometimes unbelievable.

His editor, by the way, is just as bad. Granted, in many cases today automatic spell checkers take the place of good old careful copy reading/editing. But....

That's what I am thinking - how did "shaked" not get picked up by a spellchecker?!?

I just typed the word into MS Word and it was underlined, not once with that red line, but TWICE!! And the suggested options did not include "shook" because Word is saying, nuhbody coulda fool suh! Instead, it believes the writer wanted to say "snaked" or "shacked"!

sigh!

When I see him on Face Book - I will tell him to maximize his spell checker

A lot of half baked journalist deh bout sah. English is really a second language for them.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

well, i believe English is Jamaica's second language, suh is not just di journalist dem.
                    Last edited by Mosiah; April 20, 2010, 11:03 AM. Reason: there is no such word as Engish

was that even patois?!!

No!

Our dear Portia said yesterday that she hopes the PM will tell us the truth about Bradygate today because we would not want to have to hear it from some US news medias.

That was not patois eedah!

Disappointing, but not surprised

No!

Our dear Portia said yesterday that she hopes the PM will tell us the truth about Bradygate today because we would not want to have to hear it from some US news medias.

That was not patois eedah!
                          Hard to believe such a high profile figure not being able to distinguish "medium" (singular) from "media" (plural)!! And she wants to lead our nation and go abroad giving fancy speeches!

The only time "medias" is correct is with an apostrophe; that is, "media's". Over to you, Jawge (she's your idol). Damn!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                            Hard to believe such a high profile figure not being able to distinguish "medium" (singular) from "media" (plural)!! And she wants to lead our nation and go abroad giving fancy speeches!

The only time "medias" is correct is with an apostrophe; that is, "media's". Over to you, Jawge (she's your idol). Damn!
                            Cho Historian...and I am not saying this because I also make terrible 'gaffes' or my known admiration for Mada P...but errors in use of the English Language should not disqualify one from leading the nation. If that were the case all our past leaders (including Norman Manley and Michael Manley who both made slips and at times corrected themselves)...and all of our present leaders would be disqualified as one time or the other mistakes were made.

"corrected themselves" can be a saving grace.