Olympic and World Championship 400m hurdles gold medallist Melaine Walker shaked off an Achilles tendon injury to post 52.84 seconds to place second in the flat 400m behind MVP training partner Stephanie McPherson, who won in 52.48.
Who writes these things?!??
Our Semi-Literate Culture!
Originally posted by Mosiah View Post- Observer
The obvious error is “shaked”! The correct word is “shook”, but should I be surprised that, with more than 30 hits on this thread, there was only one (irrelevant) response to this simple, easy-to-spot error in grammar?!
Re: Yuh saw it too???
Originally posted by Willi View PostYuh saw it too???
MDYADWL
I could not believe my eyes when I sawED it! LoL
I thinkED I was going crazy!
His editor, by the way, is just as bad. Granted, in many cases today automatic spell checkers take the place of good old careful copy reading/editing. But....
That's what I am thinking - how did "shaked" not get picked up by a spellchecker?!?
I just typed the word into MS Word and it was underlined, not once with that red line, but TWICE!! And the suggested options did not include "shook" because Word is saying, nuhbody coulda fool suh! Instead, it believes the writer wanted to say "snaked" or "shacked"!
sigh!
A lot of half baked journalist deh bout sah. English is really a second language for them."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Disappointing, but not surprised
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostNo!
Our dear Portia said yesterday that she hopes the PM will tell us the truth about Bradygate today because we would not want to have to hear it from some US news medias.
That was not patois eedah!
The only time "medias" is correct is with an apostrophe; that is, "media's". Over to you, Jawge (she's your idol). Damn!
Originally posted by Historian View PostHard to believe such a high profile figure not being able to distinguish "medium" (singular) from "media" (plural)!! And she wants to lead our nation and go abroad giving fancy speeches!
The only time "medias" is correct is with an apostrophe; that is, "media's". Over to you, Jawge (she's your idol). Damn!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."