I Did NOT Write This Article!

• I Did NOT Write This Article!

Preface: For much of my adult life I’ve been fascinated with a certain characteristic displayed in the thinking of many Jamaicans. I’m referring here to the rather unique paradox of a crude macho arrogance mixed with a rather simplistic sensitivity that tends to interpret constructive criticism as “negativity” and “anti-Jamaican”. And so while we, for example, arrogantly and crudely refer to the smaller islands as being “minnows”, we at the same time become surprised and defensive when an unimpressed world reacts in not surprising ways (in fact, in predictable ways) to the naivete of our dancehall ambassadors-at-large and their homophobic messages.

But I digress from the matter at hand.

A couple of days ago I posted comments here which reflected my concern that, while we continue to overwhelmingly dominate the other Carifta countries in overall medal count (70-plus medals is no joke!!), at the individual performance level we have had to fight much harder in recent years to achieve those medals. And while I watched this year’s Carifta Games in its entirety, I chose to make critical reference to only two events, the Under-20 girl’s 4x400-meter relay and the Under-20 boys’ 4x400-meter relay.

The article below was not written by Historian, and so I’ll end my preface here and allow you to read on. But the similarity between Hartley Anderson’s opinion and mine is such that I had to state in the title line here that “I Did NOT Write This Article”!

Are the islands closing in on Ja?
    From the Sports Desk
    BY HARTLEY ANDERSON
    Sunday, April 11, 2010

AS fans bask in the afterglow of another scintillating display by our young Caribbean athletes at the 39th Carifta Games in the Cayman Islands last week, a critical reflection from a Jamaican perspective is appropriate.

But before that, it is perhaps prudent to say, even as the world prepares to descend on Moncton, Canada, for the 13th World Junior Championships in July, that if last weekend was anything to go by, the Caribbean will be favourably represented at the meet.

Considering Jamaica's depth, the final medal count at Carifta was not surprising, as was emphasised by head coach David Riley, who sought to dispel the spiralling notion that the other islands were catching up with the perennial powerhouse of regional and world sprinting.

A defiant Riley went further, declaring that conversely, he was disappointed with the comparative performances of the athletes from the other islands -- this against the background of his team landing only three or so gold medals out of a possible eight in the 100 and 200 metres -- and that essentially, Jamaica were positioned to dominate at this level in the foreseeable future.

Unfortunately, I find it difficult to share all of Riley's optimism or opinions regarding what unfolded at the three-day meet, even from the safe haven of television land.

In contrast, what I saw was Jamaica, apart from triumphing on the basis of team depth, strugggling to land medals in events that were previously a cinch, like the 400, 800 metres and the shorter sprints.

Again, I was awed by the high-quality display from a few athletes from the other islands, notwithstanding the splendid performances from Kemoy Campbell, Natoya Goule, Chad Wright, Odean Skeen, Shericka Jackson, Gleneive Grange, Chadrick Dacosta, Samantha Elliott, Frederic Dacosta,
    and a few others who donned the Jamaica colours.

In fact, I pondered the whereabouts of the other vaunted stars from Boys' and Girls' Champs as the valiant search for dominance in the traditional events assumed a measure of urgency, even among the Jamaican coaching staff.

For those who watched this riveting meet in Georgetown last week, the number of events that went down to the wire contributed to the thrilling atmosphere, with the Jamaicans having to summon their reserves and superior preparation to conquer marauding rivals from Trinidad and Tobago, the Bahamas and Barbados, in particular.

Despite their grudging respect for the quality and achievements of Jamaica over time, matching their skills against the metaphorical Goliaths of the region is the primary motivation for many an athlete from these islands, and I daresay the gap seems to be gradually closing.

Indeed, this catching-up has become more pronounced over the past few years, and for Jamaica to be lulled into a sense of snugness could spell disaster in inducing a rapid shift of power.

And while conceding that Jamaica was deprived of some of its best athletes -- like Jazeel Murphy of Bridgeport and Antonique Campbell of Herbert Morrison -- this is no excuse since as regional forerunners in the sport with the best accomplishments at the global level, and the most advanced in athletic acumen, much is expected, even by way of stewardship.

That our depth was tested and in some areas, found wanting, should not, however, detract from the high quality of last week's meet which saw 13 new records and some world-best performances.

In this vein, record-breaking hurdler Jehue Gordon of T&T, Kirani James of Grenada and sprinter Allison Peter of the US Virgin Islands were the real stars of the Games.

The diminutive Goule, who was a rare Jamaican winner over the two-lap event and is in the mould of the Turner sisters, Kenroy Levy and Aldwyn Sappleton, was equally impressive as she continued to dominate at this level.

And while we laud virtually unstoppable Barbados in the 800-metre events, one notes that a positive for Jamaica was the number of medals won in the throws.

Also, as the drama was enacted before riveted eyes at the Truman Boden Complex last weekend, it occurred to me that in years to come, it won't be the USA, but rather, our Caribbean neighbours who will be Jamaica's nemesis on the international stage.

When one considers T&T's Richard Thompson, Cuba's Dayron Robles, Chris Brown of the Bahamas and Rennie Quow of T&T, that is a tangible possibility.

Link for the Sunday Observer commentary above:
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Carifta-Desk-4-11
    Last edited by Historian; April 11, 2010, 09:49 AM. Reason: Providing a newspaper link for this commentary

No mention of poor selections, key injuries, early departures and food poisoning?

unnu a gwaan like frighten fred.

A few years ago when Darrell Brown them came through you thought that they would have been the Bolts and Asafa.

There was a time when the Bahamian ladies were on the rise and we had to give credit. There was a time when the Cubans were kings and queens but we have always been there.

By next year The standard will rise again. Imagine if we had drawn for our college runners as they these islands did? No worry we can't be consistently great every single year. In class one for example our runners are not even running Ray Stewart times this year as a result of over production over the last few years. From Yohan Blake who left early to Dexter Lee etc. How can we consistently produce that talent every year without taking a year or two off?

My feelings exactly.

Similar to the doom and gllom every year for the Penn Realy professional events when America wins.

People naah study di big pictcha.

LoL

I am surprised at Historian as a SENIOR don in this sport! Weak heart bizniz not called for.

My Response and An Assignment!

unnu a gwaan like frighten fred.

A few years ago when Darrell Brown them came through you thought that they would have been the Bolts and Asafa.

There was a time when the Bahamian ladies were on the rise and we had to give credit. There was a time when the Cubans were kings and queens but we have always been there. By next year The standard will rise again. Imagine if we had drawn for our college runners as they these islands did?

Assasin, boss, I’m not sure how closely you follow track and field . You probably follow it very closely . In my case, it is the ONLY sport that I follow consistently, and I do follow it very closely indeed. Therefore, to say that “unnu a gwaan like frighten fred” is a remark aimed at the wrong person (Hartley Anderson, of course, will have to defend himself).

Senior Level: Of course, “we’ve always been there,” as you correctly stated, but what has been the gold-medal count at the senior level prior to the 2006 Commonwealth Games (albeit not a global event) and the 2008 Olympic Games? In other words, we have NOT been “consistently great” most years when the global events have been held!

Junior Level: On the other hand, at the junior level I do not expect to see Jamaica failing to win a Carifta Games track and field event in the foreseeable future! Therefore, a statement that the region is catching up does not equate to another regional country winning the Carifta Games in athletics! But at the same time we cannot ignore the uncomfortable fact that the vast majority of our junior stars do not translate into senior stars!

Your Assignment: Now, before I go any further, I’m going to assign you a “fun task” (lol). Since by stating that “we have always been there” in the context of the “Bahamian ladies” and the “Cubans….kings and queens” you’re clearly referring to the senior level, your assignment will revolve around these two Caribbean nations. Of course, when looking at the two senior global meets, an assignment involving a comparison of Cuba’s track and field gold medals with Jamaica’s during the period 1948 to 2004 might be a bit difficult.

Since Cuba might be a challenging assignment, here’s a much simpler assignment for you: Compare the Bahamas’ IAAF World Championships (outdoors) gold medals with Jamaica’s during the period 1983 to 2007 and post your results. I start with 1983, of course, because that’s when this event started.

Why This Particular Assignment? Well, you made an interesting statement that “there was a time when the Bahamian ladies were on the rise.” Are you failing, by this remark, to give credit to a tiny nation that has been consistently “up there” in global track and field meets since the early 1990s, including winning gold medals in various field events by its men, and even in sailing at the Olympic Games level (silver medal in 1958 and gold medal in 1964)?

I eagerly await your post on this assignment, particularly since you stated that “we have always been there.”

Your Other Points: Now to the other points you made. My view that “the region is slowly catching up” is not without basis, I can assure you. To not realize this is to live in a dream world of permanent Jamaican athletic superiority! In fact, as Anderson suggested in his commentary, the future challengers to Jamaica at international meets will probably emanate from the Caribbean region, not the USA.

The 100-meter men’s line up in the finals of the Beijing Olympic Games (3 Jamaicans, 2 Trinidadians, 1 from the Netherlands Antilles (Churandy Martina) and 2 Americans) and the 200-meter women’s finals in Bejing (2008) and Berlin (2009) surely supports Anderson’s suggestion and as such may very well be a sign of things to come.

We Have Influenced Others: Jamaica has the numbers, of course (population size inside Jamaica 2.7 million), and we have the athletics fervor (Champs is a world class junior event), but take it from me that the achievements of Usain Bolt, Asafa Powell, Shelly-Ann Fraser, Veronica Campbell, Melaine Walker, Sherone Simpson, and then men’s and women’s 4x100-meter along with the women’s 4x400-meter relay teams has impacted NOT ONLY Jamaicans! What Jamaica has done, aside from establishing itself as the current most formidable sprinting power on planet Earth, is motivate OTHER Caribbean teens to believe that this region (of which they are a part) can achieve world class results.

Trinidad: You mentioned Darrel Brown, so let’s look briefly at Trinidad & Tobago as an example. Prior to recent times, that country could hardly be described as a track and field power. One Olympic Games track and field gold medal (way back in 1976) does not make a country into a “track power”! Yet, in recent times we have seen a remarkable increase in track and field activity and results, particularly among the men, and one result is that today that country can boast the commendable status of being the third fastest sprint relay country in history (behind Jamaica and the USA)!

Even a Trinidad ladies’ relay team is now making a global final, as we saw in Berlin last year.

Jamaica’s Darrel Brown’s: Finally, Assasin, while you mentioned Darrel Brown, I could also mention Jamaican athletes who were almost as prominent and promising in their junior years, from Roy Bailey and before to the Remaldo Rose’s of the present era. Where are they today?

(P.S. In a previous post I had mentioned Grenada’s apparent progress in field events at the junior level before Hurricane Ivan completely destroyed that country’s athletic infrastructure in 2004.)

Caribbean improves...BUT so does Jamaica. The gap has NOT been cut. The overall Carifta scores shows that.

Sprinting in a down year, plus more than usual injuries and illness, give others a bligh, that the others capitalized on.

The death of Jamaica sprints has been greatly exaggerated!

Correction

Originally posted by Historian View Post
              including winning gold medals in various field events by its men, and even in sailing at the Olympic Games level (silver medal in 1958 and gold medal in 1964)?
              Correction: Not a “silver medal in 1958” but rather, a bronze medal at the 1956 Olympic Games in Australia.

Historian the "Frighten Fred" remarks was no disrepect but every so often we expect the other islands to have a good games or two. As I said I we can't produce runners at that level every year as people leave early, some go etc. To be frank I don't anyone of us can point to an exceptional class one boy this year after about 4 years of some magnificent times and next year look for some impressive times in that class.

The other countries are doing better, not only because they are doing well against us but also because of the amount of Druggist that has been found over the years and make the playing field a bit level. Noone can point to the big improvement over the last 3 years to say we are losing dominance.

Me and track and field go way back in high school to Eastern Champs and Boys Champs which didn't miss me most of my years in high school and Ja. I was also fortunate to grow up with people like Doreen Small in my district. She would compete against Jackie Pusey at St.Mary's high. My brethren who come on the forum from time to time ran at champs and I use to help him train.

I use Darrell Brown as an example because he and Burns etc. came on the schene and many people was talking how the Trinis are taking over. I am not dimishing what Bahamas has accomplished but we have been there before they came on the schene and we will be there after. Yes there accomplishment has been nothing short of amazing. All I am saying there will be those years that we totally dominate and there will be those that others will clip us in some of these events.

I personally wouldn't talk about catch up with us until they other islands con consistently take medals off our team and we have to plan like how we plan for other events.

Carifta like the CAC games in my view is a chance for us to give others a chance to develop who wouldn't have that scale and may not be a true reflection of our talent especially now when juniors are leaving earlier for college and going pro. You have to realise that our best may not be at the games because of this as oppose to 8-10 years ago when nearly all our top age group athletes were there.
                Last edited by Assasin; April 11, 2010, 03:08 PM.

Trinidad?

I can remember...but I currently am from Shady Pines...The great T'dad sprinter from the late '40s and early '50s - MacDonald-Bailey (I think that is how his name was spelt?).

I also believe he never won an Olympic medal(?) ...4th I think in the 1948(?) Olympics? ...and possible the '52 100s????

Trinidad?

I can remember...but I currently am from Shady Pines...The great T'dad sprinter from the late '40s and early '50s - MacDonald-Bailey (I think that is how his name was spelt?).

I also believe he never won an Olympic medal(?) ...4th I think in the 1948(?) Olympics? ...and possible the '52 100s????
                    Talent abounds! ...and certainly not in Ja. The other islands, as Historian suggests, will use what we have done...currently are doing...as motivating force and throw up there top class junior and senior athletes more frequently.

...Hey! ...look at the visit to France '98? It would seem to me our football leaders thought we were the kings of the CFU and T'dad stepped up. We have to be careful that in the T&F arena we do not take our eyes off the prize...or 'zups' some island may just 'ups' and knock us off our perch!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                      In other words, we have NOT been “consistently great” most years when the global events have been held!
                      Three words - improved drug testing.

Unno can gwaan feel seh Jamaica is not improving.

Next year Carifta, all you all gonna be singing a different song.

Skeene and Murphy. Diandre Whitehorne. The JC Jute in U-17 Rohan (Sky) Walker. Wade from Jago. Javere Bell/Fyffe going 400m. Chris-Ann will STILL be U-17.

I could go on and on...

~sigh~

Unno can gwaan feel seh Jamaica is not improving.

Next year Carifta, all you all gonna be singing a different song.

Skeene and Murphy. Diandre Whitehorne. The JC Jute in U-17 Rohan (Sky) Walker. Wade from Jago. Javere Bell/Fyffe going 400m. Chris-Ann will STILL be U-17.

I could go on and on...
                            I am sure we all agree on that.

...but is the rate of our improvement such that those in the islands at their rate of improvement will not in the near future overtake us in some areas?

Look at the medal count.

Jamdung cant lose Carifta for at least the next 5 years.

Last time Bah set for us when the hosted (using run belly food and all) Jamaica had a record medal haul.

Carifta is like shooting fish in a barrel.