Benefits Of College Athletes At Carifta

• Benefits Of College Athletes At Carifta

I mentioned in another thread this morning that returning college athletes who are within the Carifta Games’ age eligibility can -- and indeed sometimes do -- assist their respective countries in achieving really outstanding performances at the Carifta Games level. One visible exception to this practice is Jamaica.

One can easily and logically argue, of course, that in Jamaica’s case this is inconsequential because despite the notable absence of our college-based athletes who are still eligible but choose not to represent us, Jamaica continues to dominate this regional meet with an ever-increasing stranglehold, as it has been doing each year since the mid-1980s.

This post, therefore, is NOT about the effects on Jamaica’s performance should our eligible college athletes return, because aside from maybe a couple more records, there would be very little effects, if any, on our medal total. Put simply, Jamaica’s high schools are a “track and field factory” in the truest sense of the phrase, and the facts prove this at the Carifta Games level.

Rather, I’m starting this thread in the hope that it will stimulate fact-based discussion on the whole matter of college-based athletes’ contribution and potential contribution to the Carifta Games and Junior CAC Championships. I have no intention of dominating this discussion, so I’ll simple start it off by presenting a couple of statistics on how USA college-based athletes from Trinidad & Tobago, Grenada and the Bahamas have helped their country in memorable Carifta performances in specific events.

Kelly-Ann Baptiste (Trinidad & Tobago): At the 2005 Carifta Games Louisiana State University freshman Kelly-Ann Baptiste returned to represent Trinidad & Tobago. She won BOTH the 100 and 200-meter races at that Carifta Games, in the process beating race favorite Anneisha Mclaughlin in a memorable 200-meter race. (In my opinion, it took Anneisha several years to psychologically recover from that surprising upset.)

Note also that freshman Kelly-Ann also represented LSU’s Lady Tigers in the NCAA’s that same year.

Sherry Fletcher (Grenada): Sherry was in 2005 a student at Central Arizona Junior College (she competed in the 2005 NJAA Championships) before moving to LSU’s Lady Tigers in 2006. At the 2005 Carifta Games, Sherry returned to represent Grenada, and won the silver medal in the 100-meter dash behind Trinidad’s Kelly-Ann Baptiste. Sherry also won the bronze medal in the 200-meter race (behind Kelly-Ann and silver medalist Anneisha McLaughlin).

Note: In the past I’ve written in some detail on Grenada’s talented NCAA Champion Sherry Fletcher over on the Caribbean Track and Field Forum.

Sheniqua Ferguson (Bahamas): Sheniqua returned from Southwest Mississippi Community College to represent the Bahamas at the 2008 Carifta Games. And did the Bahamas benefit that year from its college athletes!

At that 2008 Carifta Games, held in St Kitts, the Bahamas Under-20 4x100-meter relay trio of USA college students Sheniqua Ferguson, Krystal Bodie, and Cache Ambrister, with high school student Nivea Smith on anchor, set a new Carifta Games record of 44.36 seconds (the previous record, set by Jamaica in 2003 with a team anchored by Sherone Simpson, was 44.42 seconds). Interestingly, two months later Sheniqua won both the NJCAA 100 and 200-meter titles.

Personally I think while it benefit the other countries it is no benefit to us. The other countries know that they are competing against a strong Jamaican team and can use the performance as their marker while for our ahtletes in college the marker is the NCAA or the Jamaica national games.

Carifta medals are a big thing in the other islands. Its only a "nice to have" for Jamaican athletes.

Ato Boldon is an exception. He never went back for Carifta, neither as a Collegian nor as a H. Schooler.

But, if I was a Collegian, Carifta would not be in my plans. Bigger track meets to anticipate participating in.

Carifta medals are a big thing in the other islands. Its only a "nice to have" for Jamaican athletes.

Ato Boldon is an exception. He never went back for Carifta, neither as a Collegian nor as a H. Schooler.
          Ato Boldon as I recall discovered track at Jamaica High School in Queens, NY....no?

Yes (Joe Trupiano discovery), but normally they would send for someone like that to rep dem in Carifta. There are precedents.

ok boss

Carifta is relatively irrelevant

The Carifta Games are NOT vital to Jamaican track development.Why?

1. Being so close to Champs there is no time or need to prepare for the meet... in fact with athletes peaking for Champs this probably militates against optimal performance at Carifta...it's an anti-climax.

2. Jamaica doesn't need Carifta for our elite athletes...what much is there to gain for them a few days after Champs?

We should consider sending mostly 2nd tier athletes who can benefit from good competition...make the competition closer and the games more interesting

3. What exposure do we get?? Much less than we get from Champs itself or Penn Relays in terms of scouts & scholarship opportunities....Penn Relays is FAR more important than Carifta from a development perspective

Not to say we shouldn't compete at Carifta...but where's the beef? We need to just use this meet as a development meet for our 2nd level....until our domination is seriously threatened

To attend Carifta you would have to attend the trials for Carifta. This seems to take place at a most inopportune time for many of the athletes so many just don't go. Afterall, they are trying to peak for Champs, not Carifta Trials.

Coming close to Champs is not really the issue in my view.

Indeed, maybe the Carifta team should be chosen as a result of the Champs results.

To attend Carifta you would have to attend the trials for Carifta. This seems to take place at a most inopportune time for many of the athletes so many just don't go. Afterall, they are trying to peak for Champs, not Carifta Trials.

Coming close to Champs is not really the issue in my view.

Indeed, maybe the Carifta team should be chosen as a result of the Champs results.
                    I just believe that going all out for Caribbean bragging rights is not that important... I don't see any great value in Carifta other than exposure for 2nd tier athletes

Not much bang for the money spent on it

i agree. especially if we have to fork out nuff dollars for VISAS TO ATTEND A CARIFTA EVENT!!! dat nuh mek it!

word

If it wasn't going to be said that we are disrespecting the "spirit" of the games, we should consider just sending our senior athletes from our All Age schools Champs. Let's face it Histy, Jamaica's T & F dominance over the rest of Caricom and the rest of the caribbean is akin to Jamaica's inferiority in football to the rest of the top footballing countries.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Penn will not help the ahtletes who come from smaller schools who don't have a good relay team.

Bolt in high school, I doubt they could find a good relay team.

Titchfield one 2 medals from a class 3 distant runner and if he choose to remain there he will never see Penn but he can surely make a Carifta team if he continue to excel.

There is still a place for both.

Bolt's Team during his WKnibb days won a small schools realy at Penn. Check Youtube for the video!