• EDITORIAL - The Shaming Of Champs

EDITORIAL - The Shaming Of Champs
    Published: Tuesday | March 30, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions
    We suspect that among the first things that Mr Herbert Nelson, the principal of Kingston College, did on Monday morning was to summon one of the members of the school's athletics team for a good ticking off. If Mr Nelson didn't, he should have.

Then, at school assembly, the principal should have spoken to all the students about what is acceptable behaviour for Kingston College students, how inappropriate behaviour diminishes the individual and the institution, and how bad behaviour can mar grand and noble occasions. Which is how we perceive the annual boys and girls' athletics championships, which concluded at the National Stadium last Saturday night: grand, beautiful and noble.

Indeed, the boys' competition has survived for 100 years, an achievement that is perhaps unparalleled in schoolboy athletics anywhere. Jamaicans, rightly, and with pride, celebrated the occasion.

Champs 100, and the girls' competition - which is itself more than half a century old - was, in that regard, an opportunity to demonstrate the genesis and depth of Jamaica's global athletics prowess. So, for those who came to observe, and cared to understand, these games offered a profound explanation of why the Bolts, the Powells, the Shelly-Ann Frasers or Veronica Campbells are not merely raw products of nature. They are the outcomes, too, of a fair bit of early nurturing.

Champs, in another way, is a vindication of ourselves; of our capacity to organise and to get things done. It is no small feat for mainly volunteers to ensure participation of hundreds of schools in scores of events and to conclude the games without significant hiccups.

There is beauty, too, the way Jamaicans, at almost any age, cling to the old school tie, turning up at Champs to offer support to their alma mater. And we were usually confident, and took pride in the presumption that whatever went on elsewhere, there was wholesomeness in the competition inside the stadium - on the track and in the field.

Competition in harmony

Champs, the prowess of our young athletes, lifted us above the the vulgarity and crassness that daily threaten to encase Jamaica. It made statements about the possibility of competition in harmony.

And here is where we feel that Mr Nelson's intervention was, and remains, critical. It is important that the breach-of-contract behaviour of a Kingston College athlete not pass unchallenged lest it become the norm.

The issue to which we refer is a boy having successfully completed an event, turning to the crowd with his right fist in the form of a gun and pretending to fire into the stands. This was an open and prideful embrace, by an athlete in a privileged position on his team, of the culture of the gun in a society where more than 1,600 people are murdered annually, most of them with illegal guns.

His action suggested that it is cool to 'back your nine' and fire randomly in celebration, regardless of the consequences. Guns, in the process, are mere accessories, demanding of little accountability and no responsibility.

This athlete, and others, must know that his behaviour was definitely 'uncool' and unbecoming of his position. With his behaviour, he diminished himself, his school and Champs.

The opinions on this page, except for the above, do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner. To respond to a Gleaner editorial, email us: editor@gleanerjm.com or fax: 922-6223. Responses should be no longer than 400 words. Not all responses will be published.

I must have seen that gesture a few times at Champs, and each time my heart sank. It was not a KC thing. They all should know better and should have been taught better.

At least there were no swastikas this year. I think.

no need to wite an editorial for that

I must have seen that gesture a few times at Champs, and each time my heart sank. It was not a KC thing. They all should know better and should have been taught better.

At least there were no swastikas this year. I think.
      If it was 'the middle finger only sign' then I would be more offended, its wrong but there no need to wite an editorial for that.

I disagree! The middle finger in Jamaican society is not nearly as offensive as someone shooting into the crowd. In my opinion, of course.

yuh wrang

It was Wolmerian GC Foster who taught Calabar, KC and JC how to win champs. In 2010 Wolmerians taught Calabar, KC and JC another lesson. How to win a modern champs using a small team

The Father of the Nation taught Jamaica College how to win Champs.... after 100 years still the most influential athlete at Champs level.

what do you meaa by the most influential athlete at Champs level?

Very Good Point, Mosiah!

I disagree! The middle finger in Jamaican society is not nearly as offensive as someone shooting into the crowd. In my opinion, of course.
              Very good point, Mosiah!

I cannot believe, in these dark days of rampant, uncontrollabe violence, that there are Jamaicans who would be more offended by a pointed middle finger than by the symbolic firing of a gun into a crowd!!! Both gestures are by no means similar!

You know, it’s one of the most depressing aspects of our culture today that images of violence have become common and increasingly accepted by our wider society.

Not only is the Observer correct in publishing this critical and timely editorial, but I hope that columnists follow up on this. Equally important, I hope that high school principals (not only KC’s) move to squash this ugly precedent.

The Father of the Nation taught Jamaica College how to win Champs.... after 100 years still the most influential athlete at Champs level.
                NW Manley, the father of the Nation learn his craft during his PE days at Wolmers in 1904 those skills his what he called on when he arrived at JC via St Jago

On a more serious note, Calabar, KC and JC first won their champs after the arrival of GC Foster, the grand master of coaching.

And I suppose that somewhere along the line some one helped G C Foster to hone his skill!

That was the Gleaner's editorial, Observer had one talking about the excellence of Champs and issues that ISSA need to tackle as they move forward

SIGH....let Time go on gloating and crediting Wolmers and MVP for everything great in T&F right now..after 54 years we should allow him some thing maybe he will soon tire of this and move on...we can only hope...

why the headmaster? Why the organizer of champs don't have a code of conduct? It is indeed an offensive gesture of any form there should some rules that deal with it.

SIGH....let Time go on gloating and crediting Wolmers and MVP for everything great in T&F right now..after 54 years we should allow him some thing maybe he will soon tire of this and move on...we can only hope...
                          LOL - I agree - let me enjoy my 15 minutes of fame

13 minutes gone already... we are hearing whispers now that Bolt got his greatness because he went down to Wolmers a few rime during the 2001- 2002 season

did he?! i mean to say...facts is fox!