((((((((( sickko )))))))))) whaagwaan...

• ((((((((( sickko )))))))))) whaagwaan...

Originally posted by Time View Post
    Wolmer's Boys School with 45 boys does not have the depth of KC 120 boys but the boys from heroes circle with help from Jamaica College, Munroe and St Jago intends to steal point from KC and Calabar and level the playing field.

Wolmer's girls dont have any intention of winning but they certainly intend to cause some serious problems.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/teena...horses_7496576

this observer writer was most insightful... on point with his analysis...

Teenage
    Dark Horses
    By Ian Williams TEENage Observer writer UWI
    Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Over the past decade, Kingston College (KC) and Calabar High have been the only schools to stake a claim for the boys' title at ISSA GraceKennedy Boys' and Girls' Championships, but this year Wolmer's Boys' and Munro College, who have been lurking in the shadows could look to reshuffle the deck as they take aim at the coveted boys' title.
    KC and Calabar start as perennial favourites with Jamaica College and St Jago High also looking to mount a strong challenge, but the school that will definitely cause some problems are the boys from Marescaux Road.

400m hurdles favourite Danielle Dowie will be hoping that her performance can boost Wolmer’s push for the Girls’ Champs title.
    Class Two double sprint champion (Western Champs) Delano Williams of Munro College will be looking to upset the favourites and claim a top three finish.
    Odean Skeen of Wolmers' Boys will be looking to make amends for his absence last year and propell his school to a Champs 100 victory.
    Highly favoured STETHS jumper Rochelle Farquharson will have to remain determined if she is to claim top honours at Champs.

With impressive performances throughout the pre-season, the David Riley-coached boys are beaming with confidence heading into the championships. Quarter-milers Ashawni Mitchell and Dwayne Extol, Carifta double gold medallist Julian Forte - who is dangerous on the tracks and in the fields, and hurdler Kamal Fuller are just some of the key members on a strong Wolmerian team that possess over 10 Carifta representatives.
    After finishing fourth with a relatively young team last year, Riley believes his team now possess enough experience and depth to challenge for this year's title. Wolmer's, however, are lacking the added impetus of crowd support as the stadium expected to be decked out in purple and white on one side and green and black on the other.
    The boys from St Elizabeth have been climbing the ranks over the years and at the 100th anniversary of the boys championships they will look to capture the title that has been alluding them since 1948. Known for having strong relay teams and competitive sprinters over the years, Munro College's inclusion of hurdler Rosean Maxwell, thrower Rajae Gayle and triple-jumper Myles Chingara could be the depth they require to mount a strong title challenge.
    While many will underestimate the strength of this Munro College team, if their pre-season performances are anything to go by then this championship should be remembered for the many upsets that could take place.
    On the other hand, the girls competition is wide open and with Edwin Allen dethroning Holmwood Technical at the recently concluded Central Champs, there could be problems for the defending champions at the ISSA Boys' and Girls' Championships.
    With Edwin Allen and Manchester High, both fielding strong teams, this could be the most evenly contested girl's championship in recent years. The teams that should steal vital points from the favourites and cause problems for the girls from central Jamaica are corporate area champions Wolmer's Girls and the Monk Street-based St Jago.
    St Jago's challenge in the fields will be marshalled by Kellion Knibb and Shuali Prince while sprinters Natalli Whyte and Shenel Francis should lead the pack on the track. Wolmer's Girls have already conceded that they will not win the championships but are keen on causing many upsets while retaining top honours in the corporate area.
    Hurdler Danielle Dowie, long jumper Adrienne Rose and high jumper Shanice Hall should be the athletes leading the wolmerian charge.

Wolmers CANNOT win Champs this year no matter how much you Wolmerians wish for it to happen, you need to do in the throws what you have been doing in the jumps then you can start thinking abot winning a modern Champs

Plus you dropped the baton in one of the relays on Wednesday night already

What I cna tell you is that the margin betwen the top and fifth team wll be the closest it has been in years
    sickko, how yuh miss dis suh...

i have to admit, i did not see it coming (wolmers win) but i am far removed from the high school t&f... admittedly, i am ignorant to t&f a yard, mi is just a die-hard unabashed kc supporter tuh de end...

we need an explanation from yuh sickko... how dis cudda be so off...

Sicko is a good boy, just never saw the MVP factor etc

Sicko and most other sports writers were focused on the modern approach to winning champs (A relatively large team entering a lot of events with lots of room for errors and injuries.) He never calculated the combined assistance of the MVP Track Club helping the land of its birth and the effect of other smaller schools demanding their share of the points pie.

The net effect of this is that the smaller boys and girls teams will realize that KC, Calabar, Holdwood and Edwin Allen can be defeated using smaller teams. Holmwood coach is talking about winning the 2011 champs with over 400 points. Him lucky Wolmer's Girls don't have any interest in winning girl's champs because MVP and the Wolmer's Alumni can deliver champs to Womer's Girl's anytime they want it.

The entire egg farm on my face today, not any indepth analysis just a gut feeling that went terribly wrong...

On the surface no team with no throwers or any significant points from the 800m up shoud be able to win Champs, especially a team that is not allowed to recruit enmass like their top opponents

But despite some arrogance and over exuberant celebration from those who should know better when the two KC hurdlers went down, happy for Wolmers

Originally posted by Time View Post
        Him lucky Wolmer's Girls don't have any interest in winning girl's champs because MVP and the Wolmer's Alumni can deliver champs to Womer's Girl's anytime they want it.
        You won, so you can say anything, but Champs really could have gone to any one of three schools. If you had not won, would you have made that statement above?

Still, brilliant effort by Wolmers!!!

hush yaw... it guh sometimes... just mek sure yuh nuh use warm wata fi clean up... anyway, it seems wolmers had evryting aligned inna dem favor... kc suffered the most from injuries and other mishaps... the hurdles hurting the cause and helping cbar and wolmers... further, neither kc nor cbar had any real dominant stars for safe points...

notice wolmers win champs without any real superstar... skeene, forte and extoll were good but i wouldn't say they were great... this was a down year for champs in terms of times on the track...

give wolmers dem props still, mi want si dem duh it again... bout dem come run up inna big league...

real talk...

To the victor belongs the judge's gavel

You won, so you can say anything, but Champs really could have gone to any one of three schools. If you had not won, would you have made that statement above?

Still, brilliant effort by Wolmers!!!
              No, I would not have said it yet, but now that what was calculated on paper was earned on the track then 'To the victor belongs the judge's gavel.'

Gracias Senor!

good enough to win races...winning and placing were important because of the lack of representation in field events...

isn't that the entitlement of the victor? whether it is provable as a matter of empiricism is another matter altogether....

you all are being very unfair to wolmers. it would not be the first time school has won because of the perceived mishaps of other teams. do we know the extent of mishaps in the wolmers camp? maybe it's because of better training methods why they did not suffer all those injuries suffered by other athletes from different schools.

and the times on the track were "slow" because, for much of the meet, there was a pretty strong headwind.

there was nothing "down" for this year's champs, baddaz. and to say wolmers won without any stars - please! come on!!!

Name one Wolmers athlete without going to look at any newspaper clipping....I hold that KC did not 'win' Champs last year C'bar lost it

Odean Skeene is a fantastic sprinter and will go places. You heard it hear first! Julian Forte. Dwayne Extol. All very good athletes that don't deserve to be shoved under the KC-Calabar rug.

you all are being very unfair to wolmers. it would not be the first time school has won because of the perceived mishaps of other teams. do we know the extent of mishaps in the wolmers camp? maybe it's because of better training methods why they did not suffer all those injuries suffered by other athletes from different schools.

and the times on the track were "slow" because, for much of the meet, there was a pretty strong headwind.

there was nothing "down" for this year's champs, baddaz. and to say wolmers won without any stars - please! come on!!!
                          Thanks Mosiah - Wolmer's had the benefit of excellent preparation and management by the MVP leaders are all Wolmerians. Love or hate it, MVP is the most influential Track & Field Club in the World today. If you unleash that as a force multiplier on 45 boys then expect miracles. As for records, there was a strong headwind and the team had no interest in breaking records, the team goal was secure championship points not to risk injury trying to break records Tyson Gay style.