• UNESCO Approves Funds For Sports Study

UNESCO Approves Funds For Sports Study
    Published: Sunday | February 21, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions
    Andre Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

Minister of sport, Olivia 'Babsy' Grange, is beaming following a successful application to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) for the funding of a feasibility study, to examine the positives to be derived from Jamaica's positioning as a training base for international athletes.

With sporting facilities such as the National Stadium complex, Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium, Sligoville multi-purpose complex and the soon-to-be completed facilities at the University of the West Indies, such as the Jamaica Football Federation academy, Grange is hoping that the country can capitalise on the goodwill it enjoys by attracting top competitors from various sporting disciplines.

"I had applied to UNESCO to do a feasibility study on how Jamaica can offer training facilities and coaching services to athletes overseas with a special focus on the continents of Africa and Europe," Grange told The Gleaner. "Everyone wants to come to Jamaica so we want to ensure that we have the infrastructure to allow them to come here to train."

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports8.html

Did they mention the Sligoville complex?

"Everyone wants to come to Jamaica so we want to ensure that we have the infrastructure to allow them to come here to train." - I think we should we careful how we talk about infrastructure.

Why don't we get the basics right before running into pie in the sky schemes?

thank yuh!