• Fothergill glad to be back on track

Raymond Graham, Star Writer

Allodin Fothergill - File
    Embattled 400m sprinter Allodin Fothergill has expressed great disappointment at missing out on last year's IAAF World Championships in Berlin, but vows to be more careful as it relates to his nutritional program in the future.
    " I am very disappointed that I did not get the chance to represent my country in Berlin last year, but in the future I will be very careful what I take into my body, as I would not like to go through that trauma ever again," Fothergill told Star Sports.
    The athlete ran an impressive 1:01.74 to win the the 500 metres at the Armory track in New Yorkrecently. The athlete along with two other Jamaicans, who had qualified for the World Championships, did not get the chance to compete as they were given three month suspensions after being found guilty of taking a banned substance.
    Fothergill, in his last year at the University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) was a second-place finisher at the Jamaica National Championships, clocking 45.57 seconds, but losing the 400 metres by two hundredths of a second to Ricardo Chambers.

the Trials
    "Although I lost at the Trials I knew that I was ready to go, as I had just come off a busy collegiate schedule and with several weeks to go before the Berlin meet, I was very confident that I would have got my time down," said the 2008 Beijing Olympic representative. "What happened is in the past now and I am looking forward to the upcoming season and next year's World Championships. I will be super ready this year as I am anxious to make up for the past year's disappointment."
    "I am ready to put Jamaica back on the map in the men's 400 metres, which has not been good for some time now," Fothergill said.
    The former GC Foster College student, who stated that he trained harder than before this time around, was happy to be back on the track.
    "I am really happy to start competing again and my first step is to dominate the event in my final year at college and then, look forward to the Commonwealth Games." Based on his impressive showing in New York in the 500 metres, where he clocked the fastest time over this event so far this season, he looks in immaculate condition. "While I was going through my ordeal last summer I thanked my mother, along with my coaches and Ventley Brown, who all gave me full support and encouraged me all the way," concluded Fothergill
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015