• Much Adu in Jamaican Tennis

J'can eyes main draw at Wimbledon
    BY ANDREW HANCEL Observer writer
    Sunday, January 03, 2010

JAMAICAN professional tennis player Dustin Brown is eyeing a main draw at Wimbledon this year after a meteoric 2009 season saw him blast through the ATP rankings by 355 places.
    Brown, a German-born 25-year-old of Jamaican parentage who resides in Montego Bay, is ranked 144th in singles and 206th in doubles after the latest rankings were released on December 28, 2009.

BROWN... made phenomenal progress in ATP rankings

1/1

That's the highest achievement for Brown and it has generated a lot of attention towards the Jamaican top seed whose career earnings now stands over US$100,000.
    Having started the year at 499th (singles) in the world, his massive leap up the rankings is certainly one of the biggest movements, if not the biggest jump, in the rankings for 2009 by any player.
    In 2009 Brown played in eight ATP singles finals, winning two, while triumphing in five of nine doubles finals.
    "It's been a really good year, 2009," Brown said in a Sunday Observer exclusive from India, where he's playing in the Aircel Chennai Open.
    "I quickly realised that I could also stay with the guys on the Challenger level, so later I played finals at the challenger in Karlsruhe (in Germany), beating a string of really good guys within the top 250 ATP."
    "After that it went straight uphill," he noted.
    And Brown's 2010 season has continued in the same vein as he won his opening game comfortably in Chennai yesterday, beating Todd Widom of the United States, 6-4, 6-3, in Round One qualifiers.
    But the Jamaican, who sports dreadlocks, has set his sights on moving rapidly up the ATP rankings and envisages playing at the famous All England Club this summer.
    "The goal for the beginning of 2010 is to get my ranking within the top 100 as soon as possible," said Brown. "But definitely I want to be playing Wimbledon main draw."
    Last year, Brown played mostly on clay and carpet, while his only hard court game ended in defeat in a finals, (6-3, 5-7, 6-4) with Ukraine's Ivan Sergeyev in Almaty, Kazakhstan.
    Back on hard court at the Aircel Chennai Open, India's largest tennis event, Brown is hoping to claim one of four qualifying spots available.
    If he's successful he could face the likes of 2009 French Open finalist Robin Soderling of Sweden, ranked 9th in the world; former world No 1 Carlos Moya, Marin Cilic and Stanislas Wawrinka.
    Surely Brown's game is on the up and Jamaicans could see him participating in a major slam before the year ends. At this rate his chances look good.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Check out this article too, what is especially amazing about this article is that the writer thinks Jamaica is in Africa, we thought that FoxNews guy was bad, but this guy is from India, the Commonwealth, cricket nation etc, a writer and you must assume he has had some level of formal education to get his job, unlike the FoxNews guy who just has to have a good far right rant and the job is there for the taking.

http://www.espnstar.com/tennis/chenn...ht-in-Chennai/

Iffa laf, a cry!

I wonder if this really should be, 'iffin mi nuh laff, mi cry'?!

I remember Dustin as this brash but super talented kid when he lived in MoBay and used to play the local circuit...happy for him..

Idiots! And they say he looks like James Blake! I guess all black people look alike.

Brown is a little unkind, or naive. I guess corporate Jamaica could have done something for him, but Tennis Jamaica is flat broke! Maybe his team needed to have done a better job selling him!?

And what does this mean, that there is no lawn tennis in Jamaica?!? I don't know if he couldn't find people to practice with. There are many very useful players in Jamaica who could give him a good practice. I have seen who some of the best players practice with and we certainly have some players good enough to give him a good workout.

And he makes it seem as if he gets no press whatsoever. Well, how come I know a lot about him?!?

He will be happy to know that he did get some press today as the Observer is reporting he failed in his bid to make the main draw of the Chennai Open.

All the best to him though. I hope he does make the Wimbledon draw as it has been a while since Africa hs had a representative there.

He looks like James Blake of old times with long braided hair. But the comparison stops right there. While Blake, who hails from the United States of America is in a country where the sport gets the best attention, it's exactly the opposite for the 25-year-old Brown.
            The rising star, who has a German mother and a Jamaican father moved to the African nation when he was five. When most kids his age took to the tracks, he fell in love with the racquet game, "I started tennis when I was five in Germany and then moved to Jamaica. But, there's no lawn tennis in Jamaica that leaves me with no one to practice. I like playing for my country. I am happy to go somewhere and see our flag. I like doing it. But it's terrible if you don't get some sort of help."
            It has been hard work for him for the last seven years, "It's not easy to get wildcards for bigger tournaments. I have to work my way up, starting with Satellite tournaments and Futures. I have been playing Futures till the middle of last year. That's when I started playing really well. I played five Challenger finals and won one. That got my ranking up and I am here.