• Accenture drops Tiger Woods sponsorship

Accenture drops Tiger Woods sponsorship
    posted 6 hrs ago - by sulekha news | 21 Views | View Source: DPA

Washington, Dec 14 (DPA) Management consultancy firm Accenture Sunday announced that it would discontinue its sponsorship agreement with scandal-tainted golfer Tiger Woods.

'Given the circumstances of the last two weeks ... the company has determined that he is no longer the right representative for its advertising,' Accenture said in a statement.

'For the past six years, Accenture and Tiger Woods have had a very successful sponsorship arrangement and his achievements on the golf course have been a powerful metaphor for business success in Accenture's advertising,' the statement also said.

Woods, one of the world's most famous athletes, announced Friday that he was taking an indefinite break from professional golf to 'repair the damage' caused by his marital infidelity.

Woods, 33, said he had reached the decision 'after much soul searching' and that he needed to focus his attention on 'being a better husband, father and person.'

'I am deeply aware of the disappointment and hurt that my infidelity has caused to so many people, most of all my wife and children,' Woods wrote on his website. 'I want to say again to everyone that I am profoundly sorry and that I ask forgiveness.'

Once seen as a squeaky clean athletic role model, Woods has been tainted by allegations of serial infidelities with as many as 10 women around the US including various waitresses, nightclub hostesses and porn stars.

He has been the focus of tabloid inquiry since he crashed his car outside his house in the early hours of Nov 27 amid allegations of a massive fight between him and his wife, who apparently used a golf club to break the window on his car.

Woods and his wife Elin Nordegren, 29, have two children, a two-year-old daughter and a 10-month-old son.

Since the accident, Woods has not been seen in public and he withdrew from his own tournament in Thousand Oaks, California, just days after the accident.

Woods has had a phenomenal career, earning more than $1 billion in his rapid 13-year rise, commanding huge fees for sports endorsements and revolutionizing sports marketing.

Already prime time television ads featuring Woods have stopped. Some of his biggest sponsors include Nike, Gilette and AT&T.

Pepsi did confirm that it was discontinuing a Tiger Woods-branded energy drink, but the move had been announced before the scandal broke.

When it comes to endorsements, I can't really blame the companies for dropping him. If you were being marketed as the Perfect Man and you can no longer support that image, then they have to do what they have to do and look for the next Perfect Man.

Most endorsements have baffled me to be honest. I can understand athletes selling track shoes, etc but people really use an AMex card or drink Gatorade because Tiger says he does that? And then now that he has a few women they are no longer going to want to use thier Amex card? People are really strange.

One ting wid Tiger, it appears him never tek care of his ladies & he chose bimbos who had nothing to lose. A man wid so much to lose should a mek sure dem tek care of wid fine gifts such as money, jewelry, condos & cars etc. A bimbo that has a lot to lose would be unlikely to spill the beans to the media etc. The man was so careless in his ways that one chick he was boning was meking $8/hour and drove a beat up saturn.

When it comes to endorsements, I can't really blame the companies for dropping him. If you were being marketed as the Perfect Man and you can no longer support that image, then they have to do what they have to do and look for the next Perfect Man.

Most endorsements have baffled me to be honest. I can understand athletes selling track shoes, etc but people really use an AMex card or drink Gatorade because Tiger says he does that? And then now that he has a few women they are no longer going to want to use thier Amex card? People are really strange.
        I always wondered about those endorsements too. When I used to drink colas, I couldn't care less if Maestro started advertising for Coke, Pepsi would always be my choice. Maybe Pele had me sold several decades ago.

This opens up opportunities for Usain!

yes, but what would we think of him if he had bought her a decent Camry or even better!

If he was not so damn cheap maybe he would not be losing a billion dollars in endorsements. When athletes like Tiger Woods & Kobe Bryant have lots of women & orgies, that's an issue for their wives & families. I don't care!

Rich professional athletes, rock stars & rappers tend to have MANY women & baby mothers. A young rich millionaire who does not have numerous female sex partners is either gay or needs viagra.

Accenture drops Tiger Woods sponsorship
              posted 6 hrs ago - by sulekha news | 21 Views | View Source: DPA

Washington, Dec 14 (DPA) Management consultancy firm Accenture Sunday announced that it would discontinue its sponsorship agreement with scandal-tainted golfer Tiger Woods.

'Given the circumstances of the last two weeks ... the company has determined that he is no longer the right representative for its advertising,' Accenture said in a statement.

'For the past six years, Accenture and Tiger Woods have had a very successful sponsorship arrangement and his achievements on the golf course have been a powerful metaphor for business success in Accenture's advertising,' the statement also said.

Woods, one of the world's most famous athletes, announced Friday that he was taking an indefinite break from professional golf to 'repair the damage' caused by his marital infidelity.

Woods, 33, said he had reached the decision 'after much soul searching' and that he needed to focus his attention on 'being a better husband, father and person.'

'I am deeply aware of the disappointment and hurt that my infidelity has caused to so many people, most of all my wife and children,' Woods wrote on his website. 'I want to say again to everyone that I am profoundly sorry and that I ask forgiveness.'

Once seen as a squeaky clean athletic role model, Woods has been tainted by allegations of serial infidelities with as many as 10 women around the US including various waitresses, nightclub hostesses and porn stars.

He has been the focus of tabloid inquiry since he crashed his car outside his house in the early hours of Nov 27 amid allegations of a massive fight between him and his wife, who apparently used a golf club to break the window on his car.

Woods and his wife Elin Nordegren, 29, have two children, a two-year-old daughter and a 10-month-old son.

Since the accident, Woods has not been seen in public and he withdrew from his own tournament in Thousand Oaks, California, just days after the accident.

Woods has had a phenomenal career, earning more than $1 billion in his rapid 13-year rise, commanding huge fees for sports endorsements and revolutionizing sports marketing.

Already prime time television ads featuring Woods have stopped. Some of his biggest sponsors include Nike, Gilette and AT&T.

Pepsi did confirm that it was discontinuing a Tiger Woods-branded energy drink, but the move had been announced before the scandal broke.
              A salutary lesson for one Usain Bolt.

"SLAM" should run to sign him as a pitchman!

Hey Mosiah fools think alike, I had the same thought about Bolt but he might have to drop a few dozen of his sketels

Like Michael Jordan did.... tsk tsk tsk, these young turks never learn

Tiger is a boy scout when it comes to the Playa biznezz. Him go fall in love wid the odder woman........tsk....tsk....tsk.... plus him cheap. That's why me can't bodder wid the extramarital affair biznezz......it's too damn expensive for a bruk pocket like me.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

And den if wifey find out and decide fe leave....is dat time it get expensive inna dis yah country!

Jordan had another woman in a big house in Illinois well taken care of,

I know first hand of a situation where another major NBA star had a girl who he would send for on a regular basis, even when he went to play in Greece towards the end of his career, she had several Greek vacations and was well taken care of in a nice villas.

She had a good job and earned enough so it wasn't the money she wanted and she was never naive enough to think she was the only one either.

This baller had a house in an Atlanta suburb that was so big he could sneak her in and go up to the third floor while his mother and wife would be in the kitchen cooking and they would have no idea he was even there.

Already have a pitch.. 'The Tiger Slam'

You know first hand? LOL
                              Stop chat out the jumping machine business.