• Sprinters- Longer toes & ?

http://www.vancouversun.com/sports/s...tml?id=2219468

Interesting, boss.

----

Prehistoric man faster than todays best athletes?
    http://www.vancouversun.com/sports/P...548/story.html

Also found the above interesting!

I read an article on this in Scientific America last week. I thought about posting it here, but did not get around to it.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yeah, it makes some kind of sense though, if we are truly primates evolved from other primates we must have been considerably stronger and faster, although we know of no fast chimps, monkeys or gorillas, Hahaha this sounds really strange, not sure what I believe on this point, but when you think that the Aborigines in Australia (an isolated human group for thousands of years) have been living the way they have for so long still in very much a hunter/gatherer mode as you would imagine it would have been when they are making these claims can it really be true that they slowed down so much when the fundamental conditions around them remain the same, the only Aborigine runner we have heard from is Cathy Freeman and she was probably 1/2 european, or maybe with the disappearance of fast predators Aborigine man slowed down. This one is way over my head!!

BTW Karl what happen you never have anything to add to the Rasta argument pre 65 versus post 85, was looking to hear your thoughts on this, dont let me put any pressure on you though I know how it guh sometimes.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          Yeah, it makes some kind of sense though, if we are truly primates evolved from other primates we must have been considerably stronger and faster, although we know of no fast chimps, monkeys or gorillas, Hahaha this sounds really strange, not sure what I believe on this point, but when you think that the Aborigines in Australia (an isolated human group for thousands of years) have been living the way they have for so long still in very much a hunter/gatherer mode as you would imagine it would have been when they are making these claims can it really be true that they slowed down so much when the fundamental conditions around them remain the same, the only Aborigine runner we have heard from is Cathy Freeman and she was probably 1/2 european, or maybe with the disappearance of fast predators Aborigine man slowed down. This one is way over my head!!

BTW Karl what happen you never have anything to add to the Rasta argument pre 65 versus post 85, was looking to hear your thoughts on this, dont let me put any pressure on you though I know how it guh sometimes.
          Re: The Rasta argument
          I am convinced Rastas have "everything" to do with where we are today...but your post put in a mood of longing for the 'good old days' (I put that in those parenthesis as the good old days were not 'good'...and that "everything" was certainly not everything but 'a lot')...

It was in many ways a gentler time. I can remember, for example, living in Little London, Westmoreland and visiting often at the post office where my Aunt was the PM and there was the letter carrier/telegram carrier a Rasta...ganja smoker, Papa-larn...and listening to his reasoning for hours. He was a gentle soul.

I remember my parents could send me from one end of the island to another on the buses or the Royal Mail by myself. It was safe. I can remember walking down from my Uncle's residence on Fleet St to North St to the intersection of Foreshore Road (at least I think it was Foreshore Road) to listen, within a semi-circle, to the Rasta reasoning and druming. I remember even in 1967 walking from Windward Road, up Mountain View...yup! ...passing the now notorious Jacques Road, pass the Rifle (JRA ) range...between Backbush and where Nannyville rose...down Arthur Wint Drive...Yup! through Swallowfield...Tom Redcam...Camp Rd into Cross Roads... safe and sound night after night...or I should say early morning as the 'last Jolly Josephs' had long left without me.

Tons of memories came flooding back... the Rastas and a new assertiveness... the kicking over of traces. The social commentary. The challenges presented to the 'establishment'...there was the Rev Henry and his followers...names such as Thunder... ...and there was the MoBay, Coral Gardens 'uprising'... violent flexing of muscle...yet those were days when kids could get a hiding from any adult if they misbehaved outside of the home/wen dem deh a-road...where saying mornin' to perfect strangers was the norm...the songs of protest...and hope... Yes...the Rastas were right upfront in that 'kicking over of the traces... The Rasta influence is heavy on us even today...even in the crass behaviour and lawlessness we now are experiencing... It is just that just protest...has moved into our going mad.

It is not that what each poster is saying does not have a ring of truth...even as it appears some of what is being said seems to be poles apart...it is just that the proper connection is not being made...or the linkage is not being articulated...the connecting rods missing...because they all speak truth...it is on the one hand there were the potests, etc...and on the other there were the reasonings for peace and the call to pull together...as the links in the threads were missed...so we have missed opportunities to see the whole Rasta story...teachings...

Yes...you put me in a place where there was a wistful looking back...a crying for what might have been. A difficult to explain...and a crying time place.

It would take too long to really address what you asked about!
          Good thread it is and very interesting answers...interesting take on the times...and on the Rasta influence...I just preferred to retreat and to 'listen'.
          Last edited by Karl; November 17, 2009, 05:28 PM.

karl, this is one of the best posts i have ever read from you!

Can't believe he had it in him. The good schooling has risen to the top! Is like Karl coulda write a novel!

Howeer, I must pick onthis typo:
              ...a Rasta...ganja smoker, Papa-larn...and listening to his reasoning for hours. He was a gentle sole.
              I hope Karl really does not know how gentle his SOLE was!

well...into each life a likkle rain muss fall...

look like Karl mix up di Rasta discussion wid di one bout longer toes, das why him a talk bout di Rasta man being a gentle sole!

wooiiee!

heheheheheheh.... GOOD ONE!!!! all caps...yuh dun know!

miseeit!

karl, this is one of the best posts i have ever read from you!
                        Why? ...because I also gave you a little look in my soul...and said a little bit about a time that seemed so far away...so long ago?

Can't believe he had it in him. The good schooling has risen to the top! Is like Karl coulda write a novel!

Howeer, I must pick onthis typo:

I hope Karl really does not know how gentle his SOLE was!

Soul! mi good now?

i just thought it was well written and COHERENT!

look like Karl mix up di Rasta discussion wid di one bout longer toes, das why him a talk bout di Rasta man being a gentle sole!

wooiiee!

Jus a ansa di question...an put dun di wrang sole fi di rite soul.