Don1,

i disagree with your position on this. While I agree JA needs professionals and patriots, were many a coach to adopt the "patriot" position many Jamaicans and others would never have gotten the benefit of the teachings of learned coaches. Are the athletes who hire foreign coaches being unpatriotic?

If we take it to another level, should Jamaican doctors only treat Jamaicans? Jamaican lawyers only act on behalf of Jamaicans etc etc etc?
    Bredrin....You offer a simplistic construct which does not reflect my position. It's not black & white...my argument is nuanced...there are shades of gray.

Francis is a great coach...probably one of the best in the history of the sport. He could be of immense benefit to the entire Jamaican track community if he shared his knowledge ...not as national coach but in some other capacity.
    Instead his approach is to limit himself to his club...including assisting foreign athletes who will compete against Jamaicans.

The fact that he would refuse to even consider assisting Jamaican athletes not affiliated with his club...is not the thinking of a patriot...it is mercenary thinking..imho.

He has every right to have such a mercenary approach...it's his time & skills to dispose of as suits him.
    Last edited by Don1; November 8, 2009, 07:09 PM.

Not confused but dont deny him that because he chooses a professional tone.

I dont see you offering the same service to a competitor whom isnt paying you squat when you have your paying charges expecting results from your paying service ?

Please D yuh nuh affi like the man fi gi im im due.
      How much more due mi fi gi di man?? Im ah di bes coach mi si....strait.

That doesn't mean that I will agree with every position he takes.

ok sah we agree to disagree....patriotic vs mercenary strong words .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Ah, but this is not in fact true.

He (and Jamaica) would have been better off doing just that in Beijing, but he did infact help Ruggu-ruggu, who beat Wire for the gold. Though if Wire had done as he told her, she should have won anyway.

You are arguing from conjecture based on this interview, but the reality is a bit different.

Anyway, yuh know Franno loves the controversy! LoL

MBA actually...from Michigan.Top20 school in the USA.

This is simply not the truth, no matter what you intuit from the article.

The reality is that all coaches in Jamaica shared info and tips freely...except recently when they started to feud. The JAAA has not done its job to repair the breach and in fact has exacerbated thing. Most unfortunate.

Small gripes have been allowed to flare into family feuds. Where we really need big minded patriots is in the JAAA. Functioning correctly, they could indeed play a crucial role in reconciliation.

why yo waste yo time wid dah no-nothing mental midget breddah ya fah?...yo nuh hear di man seh JAAA develop athletes through champs.....LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!

whe him deh when di JAAA pull Frater and Bridgett pass ova Osaka?

badmind is a hellavating!
                Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

I did not read it anywhere either..it is about knowing...

This is simply not the truth, no matter what you intuit from the article.

The reality is that all coaches in Jamaica shared info and tips freely...except recently when they started to feud. The JAAA has not done its job to repair the breach and in fact has exacerbated thing. Most unfortunate.

Small gripes have been allowed to flare into family feuds. Where we really need big minded patriots is in the JAAA. Functioning correctly, they could indeed play a crucial role in reconciliation.
                    Can agree with you... however you eternally seek to deflect blame...no...responsibility ....away from Francis in achieving a better relationship.

The responsibility for reconciliation is shared between coaches and the administration....
                    Ah suh di ting set.

Ah, but this is not in fact true.

He (and Jamaica) would have been better off doing just that in Beijing, but he did infact help Ruggu-ruggu, who beat Wire for the gold. Though if Wire had done as he told her, she should have won anyway.

You are arguing from conjecture based on this interview, but the reality is a bit different.

Anyway, yuh know Franno loves the controversy! LoL
                      Can't see how your post disproves or even challenges my opinion on Francis.

It seems more to support it....at least with respect to Jamaican athletes.

Francis extends olive branch to JAAA

Published: Tuesday | November 10, 2009

André Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

Francis
                        At one time, there seemed to be no end in sight concerning the fractious relationship between noted Jamaican athletics coach Stephen Francis and officials from the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA).
                        However, there are a few encouraging signs things could change after the 45-year-old gave some insight into the long-standing dispute and called for more respect from the JAAA top [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]brass[/COLOR][/COLOR].
                        Both parties have been at loggerheads for several years and the feud took a turn for the worst over the past two seasons with the MVP Track & Field Club coach and the JAAA embroiled in an accreditation stand-off during the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, China, before this year's IAAF World Athletics Championship controversy that almost saw a number of MVP athletes barred from competing at the event after missing a pre-meet camp.
                        When speaking about a possible truce between himself and the JAAA , the usually hard-talking Francis presented a road [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]map[/COLOR][/COLOR] of sorts towards a peaceful solution.
                        "It's very easy I think for this so-called rift to heal, I think all that is needed is just a little [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]accommodation[/COLOR][/COLOR] from either side," said Francis in an exclusive interview with The Gleaner.
                        "It's very simple and I hope that sometime in the future, the people in the JAAA will understand that it is not a power issue, it's about doing everything possible to get the athletes to perform to the best of their ability," he added, in reference to his decision to keep his athletes at a separate camp before the start of the World Championships, much to the ire of the JAAA top brass.
                        "The JAAA needs to understand that the dynamics of the sport have changed and that a large part of the sport now relates to the preparation of our athletes. In the past that wasn't the case. They need to understand that we have to be specific about preparation; they need to show the coaches respect in that they need to understand that the coaches of the individual athletes will know a lot more about how the athletes should be prepared, more than themselves or anybody of whatever coaching pedigree that they can appoint," Francis explained.
                        Keep hands out
                        The trained [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]accountant[/COLOR][/COLOR], who now conditions the likes of word superstars Shelly-Ann Fraser, Asafa Powell, Brigitte Foster-Hylton, Melaine Walker, Shericka Williams, Michael Frater and Sherone Simpson, is beseeching the local authorities to keep their hands out of the preparation affairs of athletes and concentrate on facilitating their participation at major meets.
                        "I don't know if they (JAAA) will ever understand that the coaches who prepare the individual athletes at this level are the people who know what is to be done for them, but hopefully they will and if they accept their role, which is just to facilitate the work of those coaches, then I think everything will be smooth. But if they can't, then these problems will continue," stated a very candid Francis. "Even if it was the world's greatest coach came here as a JAAA appointee, they will not know as much about the preparation of any particular athlete as that athlete's coach. So they should understand that the performance of these athletes is paramount and that they should not presume to be telling the people what they should and should not do ... and I think that once they understand that things will run smoothly," Francis added.

Franno does not coach Ruggu-Ruggu...Cowan does.

She is neither MVP, nor Jamaican and yet Franno still helped.

What I am saying is that despite the quotes and the hard line you hear Franno touting, reality is different.

Agreed, but the people vested with AUTHORITY are to be held to the higher standard!

I wonder if Clifton Forbes will be the man the JAAA calls on?

Franno does not coach Ruggu-Ruggu...Cowan does.

She is neither MVP, nor Jamaican and yet Franno still helped.

What I am saying is that despite the quotes and the hard line you hear Franno touting, reality is different.
                                I know he doesn't coach her.

Would love to see him adopt the same attitude with Jamaicans.....if he does... his rhetoric doesn't support it.