• Franno makes it clear: It's all about Me....not Jamaica

Not Me! ... Francis has no interest in JAAA head coach slot

Published: Sunday | November 8, 2009

André Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter
    Francis
    Following sharply on the heels of Glen Mills' decision to discontinue his association with Jamaican teams at major championships as head coach, fellow top-coach, Stephen Francis, has distanced himself from the post, choosing instead to concentrate on his MVP Track Club athletes.

Francis, who has a long-standing dispute with local athletics regulators, the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA), which came to a boil during last year's Olympic ]Games and before the World Athletics Championships in Berlin in August, underlined his commitment to his athletes and believes taking up such a post would represent a serious conflict of interest.
    hypocritical move

The outspoken Francis, who conditions the likes of Olympic and World champions Shelly-Ann Fraser and Melaine Walker, along with former 100m world record holder Asafa Powell, 100m hurdles World champion Brigitte Foster-Hylton and Olympic and World 400m ]silver medallist Shericka Williams, emphasised that his allegiance is only reserved for the athletes under his ]care and nobody else.

Said Francis: "It would be very hypocritical if I were to accept a position as team coach of the Jamaican team. I believe that post is for someone with less personal interest," he told The Gleaner.

"I have in the past strongly believed that people who coach a number of athletes, especially non-Jamaicans in a private capacity, should not be accepting positions on a national programme primarily because, well for me,

I am really interested in how the athletes who I coach perform, and if I coach an athlete from Trinidad or from Bahrain, I am going to want my athlete to beat any Jamaican that I do not coach as a result of the whole athlete-coach thing," a candid Francis stated.

"The truth of the matter is that I don't have the best interest of the Jamaican team members at heart. What I do have is the best interest of the people that I coach at heart."

Francis, who was part of Jamaica's coaching team for the 2001 IAAF World Athletics Championships in Edmonton, the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney and the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, under special circumstances, has turned down several subsequent offers to be part of the coaching contingent.

"I have repeatedly in the past turned down offers and have told the JAAA that I will not be available for any such position because it's not fair to the athletes who are a part of the team, it is not necessary. But some people, for whatever reason, have felt that they need to continue doing it," Francis stated.

"I don't do it and I don't see that changing in the future because as I said, I am going to want to see my individual athletes who I coach from whichever country beat whichever Jamaicans they are up against as long as I don't coach them (Jamaican athlete)," he continued.
    possible replacement

When asked to comment on Mills' tenure and to identify a possible replacement for upcoming assignments at next year's Commonwealth Games in New Delhi, India, and the 2011 World Championships, Francis did not single out anyone in particular, but expressed the hope that the choice is solid.

Said Francis: "I wouldn't want to recommend anybody. These things (appointments) are not done by ability anyway. it's about friendships and who is comfortable working with whom, and so forth. At the end of the day, however, the selection process is carried out. I hope it is someone who would be an asset to the people who will represent Jamaica at these meets."
    Last edited by Don1; November 8, 2009, 05:32 AM.

i think he has a point. but more importantly, he feels strong enough about the possible conflict of interest to say no.

the other stuff, he could have well done without saying because the only purpose it serves is to be controversial e.g. "These things (appointments) are not done by ability anyway. it's about friendships and who is comfortable working with whom, and so forth."

fair enuff

Y'sr spoken like a professional

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Y'sr spoken like a professional
          Spoken like a mercenary.

Jamaica needs professionals... but also patriots.

Taken to its logical conclusion Francis would in the ordinary course of business (national coach or not) deny Jamaican athletes not affiliated with his club, the benefit of his great abilities....because they may threaten his athletes...even the foreign ones.

You call that professional...I call it mercenary.

You are aware that a national head coach means that his interest are for the national team 1st i.e Jamaicans ! not his profesional interest .........I guess you are aware with this statement (because they may threaten his athletes...even the foreign ones)

Francis said it would be hypocritical to take such a post becuase of obvious conflict of interest .

Professional , mercenary etc or national cocah , I wonder which one pays more and has less headache ? Why would any sane coach do both at the same time ?

That would be playing the mercenary.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You are aware that a national head coach means that his interest are for the national team 1st i.e Jamaicans ! not his profesional interest .........I guess you are aware with this statement (because they may threaten his athletes...even the foreign ones)

Francis said it would be hypocritical to take such a post becuase of obvious conflict of interest .

Professional , mercenary etc or national cocah , I wonder which one pays more and has less headache ? Why would any sane coach do both at the same time ?

That would be playing the mercenary.
              I'm not referring to his being national coach...I have no issue with that decision....none at all...in fact I would NOT like to see him as national coach...he's too divisive.

What I have an issue with is his philosophy of denying assistance (even advice) to non MVP Jamaican athletes because they may compete with his...even those who are foreigners.

Yuh cudda deal......dat ah Mercenary ting...strait.

LOL...wait till those MVP fanatics who call themselves knowledgeable wake up and see this...

I did agree with you however that this has nothing to do with any conflict of interest but a conflict with his bank balance.

X-tremely idiotic can go on fooling himself, Francis has made it plain to all who want to listen he does no care two hoots about Jamaica but about those who are paying him.

...Francis has made it plain to all who want to listen he does no care two hoots about Jamaica but about those who are paying him.
                  I don't recall reading where he said he doesn't care two hoots about Jamaica. I have no problem with him being a loyalist to his athletes before country.

Sick man yuh ave a serious comprehension problem, fi a journalist.If his interest is his bank balance i.e professional contracts with various athletes vs the JAAA madhouse and meager salary .

Then its a conflict of interest!His interest .Has francis ever said he wont help any Jamaican athletes ?

If an athlete is competing against his charges why should he help them ? Jamaican or not?

Let me get it the reason again national pride ?

Its best if you stay in amatuer land.Is this the same Francis that sent a written proposal on how he could work with the JAAA and hasnt gotten a response .

What Francis has made clear SICK man is he doesnt give a rats ass about the JAAA and its amatuer conflicting constitution.

Prove him wrong!

Don1,

i disagree with your position on this. While I agree JA needs professionals and patriots, were many a coach to adopt the "patriot" position many Jamaicans and others would never have gotten the benefit of the teachings of learned coaches. Are the athletes who hire foreign coaches being unpatriotic?

If we take it to another level, should Jamaican doctors only treat Jamaicans? Jamaican lawyers only act on behalf of Jamaicans etc etc etc?

That arrow Don1 threw is a cover for the real issue, he knows its a conflict of interest , he knows full well that Francis has offered said JAAA ways to work together.

The fact that he states openly to be Jamaicas Head coach would be hypocritical as he would be coaching other non paying athletes vs professional athletes who are paying him his full 100 both Jamaican and non jamaicans esp when monetary endorsements based on performance is the name of the game.Is nothing but a fact.

Crucify the man for being a professional , or as Don 1 says mercenary.He has to sleep with his professional conscience , not us.
                        Last edited by Sir X; November 8, 2009, 06:52 PM.

Don 1 mi nuh get yuh , a man return to Ja after getting a Bachelors mortgage im house , land and car return to Jamaica setup a link with a University in Jamaica to start a T&F club and becomes The #1 club in the world built on Jamaican backs literally and you question his national pride?

All this done in broke ass Jamaica whe nuh help nuh man!

Visionary and patriotic comes to mind.

Don 1 mi nuh get yuh , a man return to Ja after getting a Bachelors mortgage im house , land and car return to Jamaica setup a link with a University in Jamaica to start a T&F club and becomes The #1 club in the world built on Jamaican backs literally and you question his national pride?

All this done in broke ass Jamaica whe nuh help nuh man!

Visionary and patriotic comes to mind.
                            Visionary yes....patriotic not particularly.
                            He's made it clear that his interest is his athletes foreign & local...interest in Jamaica developing is somehere down the list. He has the right to take that position...it's his blood, sweat & tears.

But don't confuse the visionary with the patriotic.

Not confused but dont deny him that because he chooses a professional tone.

I dont see you offering the same service to a competitor whom isnt paying you squat when you have your paying charges expecting results from your paying service ?

Please D yuh nuh affi like the man fi gi im im due.