I think that this was not only a great move by the IOC, but also a fair one. I was rooting for Chicago, but must admit that common sense prevailed in the decision. Los Angeles in 1984, Atlanta in 1996, Barcelona 1992, Korea 1988 means that the USA, Spain and Asia all played recent host. The continent of South America has never hosted the Olympics. However they arrived at their decision it was a great one. Nuff respect!
2016 Olympics to Rio de Janeiro!!
I live here and was hoping to attend with my family...plain and simple. However, after hearing the comments of the US analysts on your favourite network ESPN I couldn't help but feel pi$$ed off, and then looking at it objectively the choice should have been clear. Anyway, why am I explaining to you? Listen Mo just mine yuh time an mi yuh hear!?
Brazil pledges Olympic security after deadly Rio violence
Brazilian officials are insisting security won't be a problem for the 2016 Olympics despite drug-gang violence that plunged Rio de Janeiro into a day of bloody chaos just two weeks after it was picked to host the games.
An hourslong firefight between rival gangs in one of the city's slums killed at least 12 people, injured six and saw a police helicopter shot down and eight buses set on fire Saturday.
Police said Sunday that they killed two other suspected drug traffickers in overnight clashes near the Morro dos Macacos ("Monkey Hill") slum where the gangs fought for territory a day earlier, but otherwise the area was largely peaceful.
(continue)"Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Brazil blackouts hit up to 60M, spur Olympic fears
Brazil emerged Wednesday from a widespread power outage that plunged as many as 60 million people into darkness for hours, prompting security fears and concern from residents about another black eye for a country hosting the 2016 Olympic Games.
Power went out for more than two hours in Rio de Janeiro, Sao Paulo and several other major cities after transmission problems knocked one of the world's biggest hydroelectric dams offline. Airport operations were hindered and subways ground to a halt.
A group of muggers took advantage of the darkness to rob people en masse near Rio's Maracana stadium, which will host the Olympics' opening and closing ceremonies. But overall, police said, crime did not rise in Rio and fell in Sao Paulo during the outage.
(continue)"Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Originally posted by MdmeX View PostWell dem can always dscredit - Rio is where the action is gonna be!! Figget USA and that dump called C-H-I-C-A-G-O
Yes while I wanted see my man Barack get the olympics I think I would rather go to Rio and enjoy the sunshine, beaches and fine women who will all fine me unbelieveably attractive. - T.K.No need to thank me forumites.