so the rest of us who don't agree with you are fools?
The pitfalls of giving Bolt the OJ.
Sass stop behaving like X, I am sure you understand exactly what I was trying to say, surely you cant be that dumb?Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostI totally disagree with you. Bolt is representing Jamaica and no honor in Jamaica is too high for him. How many times people get honored and end up go off track? People like "Sir Allan Sanford" and so many others.
what Bolt has achieve something to honor. Anybody can be honored by their own communities and parish council. The government of Jamaica need to honor him for his achievement. Again if Bolt don't deserve it for his accomplishment then nobody else does.
What age does he have to be?
From what I have seen of Mr. Bolt I think another honour or set of honours would be just fine. Let him mellow like fine wine...then if he is considered deserving of the OJ or a higher honour...then and only then!
I just do not take to my OJ holder 'daggering' (or is it 'daggerin'?) and acting childish on the World's stage? I have vision of what my OJ should represent and what the holder should stand for...I am sorry, Bolt at this moment is not it!
...but then all our 'old good ways' have gone to hell or are going to hell fast! ...perhaps as my kids tell me at times - "Dad, this is new times!" ...clear inference...no it is a pounding over the head that I am not 'with it'! ~ sigh!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
USAIN: Bolting happily into history
BY Garfene Grandison Observer TEENage writer UWI
Tuesday, September 29, 2009
Entering this well-secured residential complex, the setting was no different from any other gated complex in Uptown Kingston. In this complex there is one huge exception.
Here lives one of the world's most popular men - Jamaica's own glory kid.
It was not surprising then, that the security detail meticulously reviewed our person and possessions and only after were we finally admitted into the intimate community. We did not, however, need the number of the town-house in any case the BMW parked in the driveway was a dead giveaway.
We made our way from our car and to the front door where we were invited inside. Not surprising, an exotic odour captured our nasal passages as we ventured past the kitchen. Some of that infamous Trelawny yam perhaps. In my head I thought "maybe I should try some and see if its really in the yam", but then I was brought back to reality when I heard the soon-to-be Honourable fellow on his back patio dejaying.
Fear gripped me - not because I was interviewing the world's fastest - but because I was totally unprepared to conduct this interview. See, only 15 minutes ago, I was summoned from lunch at UWI to conduct this exclusive interview. Surely this wouldn't be an opportunity to pass over. However, I got my bearings together, greeted the man, who so many wish to emulate and took it from there: here goes nothing.
Then 16-year-old Usain Bolt, engages the crowd at the 2003 staging of the Pan-Am Junior Games in Barbados. (Photo: Observer file)
Seated on a black couch with nothing but fatigue in his eyes the man I came to interview greeted us and beckoned us to the plush couch.
Looking at his attire there was no surprise who sponsored this gentleman. He was decked out in Puma from head to toe. As the interview began he started to feel more comfortable and then we saw the Usain Bolt that we are used to seeing on the track: fun, jovial and laid-back.
After a number of questions, the 23-year-old Usain Bolt gave me the reason as to why he looked so tired.
"Me guh Blitz las' night". In addition to the many days of non-stop fun, which of course was well-deserved, there was no doubt as to why Bolt was so tired. But still he was up and in high spirits.
And just before jetting of to New York last Wednesday, Usain sat down with TEENage to give us an exclusive.
When asked how has life been lately, the 100- and 200-metre Champion stated, "It's been okay. I'm just laying low, trying not to do much. But mainly it's all about relaxing and enjoying myself."
My next question kinda took him by surprise. Putting down his plate of dumplings with sausage and beans he gives me a puzzled look. Then he repeats "five words to describe myself?
Laid-back, fast (laughs), intelligent, confident." The fifth quality took a little more time to be chosen as he debated with his best friend sitting beside him, but then NJ finally found a word to describe his friend. "hilarious".
Looking at his attire and how he is on a normal basis, it came as no surprise that his personal style is simplicity. Although a big fan of Hugo Boss and Gucci, Bolt enjoys the more simple things in life.
There is no doubt that Usain has racked up quite a number of achievements and he feels just as proud of himself as we all do. "I'm definitely proud of maself. It takes lots of hard work to reach where I am today. At 15, it was just about enjoying myself, but I really wasn't looking for this down the road."
There are many people who continue to argue Bolt's credibility by comparing him now to when he was 15 while others think that his partying ways will affect his future achievements.
According to Usain, "people stress too much. A lot of people are nervous about my accomplishments, but I just accept them as they come. As long as I'm running and doing what I love then I'm happy."
The next big question posed to the Olympic and World Champion: How do you feel about being given the fourth highest honour in Jamaica?
With a wide grin as he looked from me to TEENage editorial that was written about him the week before he replied, "I can't find words to describe it. It feels really good that the country is honouring me for my accomplishments and for the glory and whatnot that I brought to Jamaica. I feel really Honoured."
To all the persons out there who do not think that it's fitting for Bolt to receive this honour this is what he had to say, "Everyone has their own opinion. It doesn't matter what people are saying about it. People always say things about me and it doesn't affect me anymore so it all goes back to people and their own opinions and likes."
What does the future hold for our 23-year-old glory boy?
"Track and field is pretty much where it's at for me. That and trying to get some more deals", he stated. Before ending the interview Usain Bolt had this to say to young aspirants, "In life, work for what you want. Nothing comes easy. I have been through the tough times and am now reaping the rewards. But be sure that in everything you do, look after yourself first. Ensure your happiness before anyone elses."
There you have it another B exclusive with the worlds fastest man, Usain St Leo Bolt. And remember you saw it in TEENage Observer, the place where Every TEEN Matters."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
sometimes you come accross on been a bit ruff on opposition so I have to ask.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I haven't heard the positive side of this yet.
What it does is show Bolt in the light of telling the youths that is not only dead men, politicians and Old men can be awarded.
It tells the youths of the country they can achieve great things other than been Dons, and badmen. Often times people ask "where are the positive role models" Yes Bolt like the Princess Diana kids and Clinton daugter is trust in the limelight and they have some responsiblity. What is needed is for the government, the GG, and others with good influence must sit him down and explain to him what is expected of him.
Yes he still has youth on his side but as long as he not doing illega activities I have problem with him having the highest honor. Whether we like it or not, whether we honor him or not, Bolt is representing Jamaica at the highest level.
By the way is there any known Ganja smoker that is honored? Remember the Herb is illegal.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Is it better to ask for clarification than to assume?
I asked just to clarify, not to accuse you.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
OK then, the point is that I was saying that while I know and accept that I am not that smart, I was agreeing with Jangle and was saying one fool agrees with the other.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
Sickko you may not realise, but I bet you there were some forumites who read it defferent. Thanks for the clarification as I just wanted to make sure. I may have taken the fun out of it but..... as not many times on this forum people make such jokes of their position.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostI haven't heard the positive side of this yet.
What it does is show Bolt in the light of telling the youths that is not only dead men, politicians and Old men can be awarded.
It tells the youths of the country they can achieve great things other than been Dons, and badmen. Often times people ask "where are the positive role models" Yes Bolt like the Princess Diana kids and Clinton daugter is trust in the limelight and they have some responsiblity. What is needed is for the government, the GG, and others with good influence must sit him down and explain to him what is expected of him.
Yes he still has youth on his side but as long as he not doing illega activities I have problem with him having the highest honor. Whether we like it or not, whether we honor him or not, Bolt is representing Jamaica at the highest level.
By the way is there any known Ganja smoker that is honored? Remember the Herb is illegal.
..nuh-bady nuh seh nutten lacka Bolt shudden get han-nered!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
people don't normally hear the same thing. Unless a Tappa you a talk bout Jawge and Ben never hear the same thing -- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.