Mosiah did you hear Irwin Claire last night on Klass FM

We dun know Puma a do it long time , dem all ave red ,green and gold inna dem catalog , only thing missing is the Logo TEAM JAMAICA T&F.We beat them on the field , so why not in sponsorship ?

Have no fear dem ave a study and camp gate 3 is in the works , They expect me to have faith in them when all I have seen is an agenda to promote alms house with a smear campaign of we are working on it.

To me, seeing is beliving and unlike my breds baddaz who is very optimistic after post Bejing & Berlin camp gate , why shouldnt I expect campgate 3 giving thier mandate to sabotage with this clause about head coach overiding your coach.

I am sorry but I am pessimistic.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I am sorry but I am pessimistic.

Dis ya forum nuh deal wid pessimists

All i want from the JAAA is a working e-mail and an updated indept database for casual and ardent fans to get information about junior/senior athletes, prospective local&overseas high schools/community colleges/universities(add transparency for both athletes and parents in picking a instituion), scholarships,local/overseas track clubs, certfication course location(local/overseas), interactive forum(feedback), athlete blogs(Kobe gets payed $400,000/yr to blog on a chinese forum), professional/junior/college coaches, nutritionists, physiotherapists, psychologists,biomechanic specialisst,local/overseas agents, updated WADA banned list and recommened supplements, statistics, meets, music, recommeded accomodation for track meets(wonder how much Hiltons would pay), sponsors, JAAA delegates, JAAA adminstrators, athletes to watch, contact information, links to affiliates,E-mail/text alerts,etc. Can they also arrange work shops for juniors hosted by current/former athletes(disperse them to the schools during career day) to discuss balancing school and track, financial decsison making, sacrifices, diet, etc? How about building an account on facebook, twitter, and youtube?

Would it also be that difficult to do revenue sharing with an overseas investor (US, Canada, china, india, Europe) in order to better promote and expand local meets and products? Being that the IAAf wants to make Jamaica the falcrum of T&F, how difficult is it to get them to build and partly subsidize the mentainance of a national training facility? Or how would Puma feel to build and have a training complex named after them in Cornwall, Nike having one named after them in Middlesex, and Addidas having one named after them in Surrey?How about revenue sharing with a sporting goods manufacturer(Had to buy an Ed Hardy T shirt to get a Jamaica Logo), How about working with the JTB to promote Jamaica (via concert, jerk fest, street festivals) in every city that the Diamond league is held to boost Sports Tourism? How about at the end of the track season producing a DVD and sharing the revenue among the meet organisers? How about documentaries(I keep seeing foreigners making and profiting off Jamaican documentaries)How about a revenue share agreement with the local clubs to build and distribute merchandise?(damn, what I would do for one of those Bolt's Arm, or Melaine DuttyWine bubbleheads), How about exporting consultants(maybe not Quarrie robbed the brits )? Could they not enter in an business agreement with an telecommunication and internet provider to get exclusive updates via text/email when one signs up with said provider?

I have no formal training in business administration but I can still brainstorm the above? Are all the good administartors working for Grace Kennedy. I totally agree with you Jangle but Sickko basically presented to you the JAAA mindset in his reply. I heard the samething in the interview X; Did you hear the part when he implied the JAAA are saints and eveybody else is the devil's child? The JAAA is hopeless(wasn't Aires one of Portia's advisors? that explains alot), I put more stock in the local clubs and hope they can implement the above and more.

The JAAA is a cocunut stall!

Quietly wating for campdate tois in two years.
        Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
        Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

How much is the brand name Jamaica worth ? The JAAA has control over that name as it pertains to our track and field dont they ?

To find a professional entity that can market that brand name must be worth at least 500,000 to 1 mill a year us .

All the more reason for them to go professional , or as you say have a professional arm as an extension of the JAAA, like TEAM JAMAICA PRO T&F .
          Just what would this marketing powerhouse JAAA be selling?

Give me some specifics....we know the USA vs Jamaica series may provide some revenue IF they can beg the premier athletes to appear.

What else should they do or sell specifically? `They don't control content. It is for private entrepreneurs (preferably Jamaican to create content....the JAAA can facilitate but what do they bring to the party?

The main point is that while they can definitely do a more professional job and are in urgent need of reform...the JAAA does not have PROPERTY RIGHTS over much marketable content.
          Last edited by Don1; September 23, 2009, 05:01 PM.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
            the jaaa in of itself does not control anything at the moment... with continued success they could allign with a private entity for revenue generation... they have a lot of hurdles to clear...

the problem is not unique to jamaica t&f... even the usa has the same problems...
            unless they control attractive content...their marketing leverage is limited....their opportunity to do so is limited....that's my thesis.

Did you see the link I gave as per NIKE USAT&F ? What attractive content are they selling but the name USA and its rich T&F history ?

Here is the link :

http://www.usatf.org/store/showProdu...ry=New%20Items

Our attractive content is our name , and the content are our past , present and future stars.If that isnt worth at least 5million a year on the global market , hell NY alone , then siccko is right I am an idiot.

How can we beat the great 10 million a year NIKE sponsored USA T&F and cannot garner sponsorship along such lines.

We compete for said sponsorship in the global T&F world, lets not fool ourselves NIKE USA isnt about only marketing USA T&F in the USA , its a global campaign.

Now Don 1 , do you see it , if you dont well just just agree to disagree.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Did you see the link I gave as per NIKE USAT&F ? What attractive content are they selling but the name USA and its rich T&F history ?

Here is the link :

http://www.usatf.org/store/showProdu...ry=New%20Items

Our attractive content is our name , and the content are our past , present and future stars.If that isnt worth at least 5million a year on the global market , hell NY alone , then siccko is right I am an idiot.

How can we beat the great 10 million a year NIKE sponsored USA T&F and cannot garner sponsorship along such lines.

We compete for said sponsorship in the global T&F world, lets not fool ourselves NIKE USA isnt about only marketing USA T&F in the USA , its a global campaign.

Now Don 1 , do you see it , if you dont well just just agree to disagree.
                As I said a private enterprise like Nike or Puma has to drive this process..the JAAA can facilitate....and get a percentage of the upside. JAAA has been doing this with Puma for years. What they got from their Puma sponsorships I don't know.

This p[rocess cannot be driven by the JAAA...it has to be driven by private entities....can they do better?... I agreed with you that they can.

O.K so we agree, I did call for a marketing arm, I did not say it could not be private , I threw Nike & Puma out there i.e sponsors etc.

The question then is whats the % the J3A is getting from Puma , how much is thier sponsorship deal worth?

It doesnt look like much if dem a bawl fi more sponsorship from corporate Jamaica.

I just had a long talk with Irwin Clare. He said the message that he wanted to get across on the radio was the JAAA should operate like a business and to full time paid professionals. He is happy to know that he has our support (this site.)

Not all members, the reactants like Don1 thinks marketing is impossibility due to the nature of T&F.
                        Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                        Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

time... we all know and would like the j3a to operate like a for profit business... however, as it is currently structured it cannot if it intends to serve its original purpose...

hence, the formation of a separate division under the umbrella j3a... it is a complicated situation but some decisions will need to be made...

There is a gaping hole in marketing Jamaican T & F. This can be taken up by the JAAA or the Jamaica Tourist Board. I see PUMA using our ineptness and tardiness in realizing the quality of our product to maximise their profits. Prior to the 2004 Olympics and since, there has been a proliferation by PUMA, and others, of clothing and shoes sporting our Jamaican colours. I don't see where Jamaica has collected a cent from sales of these products. What I hear from the JAAA, which should be the body leading this marketing race, is a bag of excuses. The same can be said about the JFF also.
                            I hope this is not a loss opportunity.
                            "We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.

The question then is whats the % the J3A is getting from Puma , how much is thier sponsorship deal worth?

It doesnt look like much if dem a bawl fi more sponsorship from corporate Jamaica.

yes dats where dem probaby weak...need professional marketing help.

yuh rite bredrin..no question.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                                time... we all know and would like the j3a to operate like a for profit business... however, as it is currently structured it cannot if it intends to serve its original purpose...

hence, the formation of a separate division under the umbrella j3a... it is a complicated situation but some decisions will need to be made...
                                Does Not For Profit means that you cannot generate income, pay pensions to atletes etc? I know not for profits that do.