Mosiah did you hear Irwin Claire last night on Klass FM

Definetly not easy but isnt USA T&F associated with NIKE ? and other individual sponsors run with individual camps , granted Nike has the bulk.

Look its business.I am sure the JAAA must have marketing firms beating down their doors .

I think Aris did admit to such on the program when asked about what is being done Pre & Post Bejing /Berlin success thats when the study came up and he admitted about the study being done .

It also came out the study was done before his tenure ,which leads me to ask what was being done in his tenure ? you must admit aris was clueless as to his study and the way forward.

To his credit he did state they are looking at things in the future , which to me is a telling statement .If nothing was done post Bejing/Berlin except a camp gate coup , then what is being done for the future ?

Anyway things in the works for the future.....camp gate 3 !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

heh heh... no king son... no yeilding to my view... i appreciate your take... not saying i am right and you are wrong... there are really a lot of competing issues and challenges...

j3a is still operating as an amateur association and they have that responsibilty because we still have mostly amateur athletes in mass participation... a body within the j3a will need to be developed to deal with the few, yet growing professionals and their requirements which are separate from the amateurs...

Agreed !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

no x... he was not clueless about the study... the study was his undertaking... he requested the study which dr hamilton said was completed in 2007... she said based on the study t&f contributed 3 % to the gdp in ancillary areas...

Well I stand corrected and I give him credit.

Definetly not easy but isnt USA T&F associated with NIKE ? and other individual sponsors run with individual camps , granted Nike has the bulk.

Look its business.I am sure the JAAA must have marketing firms beating down their doors .

I think Aris did admit to such on the program when asked about what is being done Pre & Post Bejing /Berlin success thats when the study came up and he admitted about the study being done .

It also came out the study was done before his tenure ,which leads me to ask what was being done in his tenure ? you must admit aris was clueless as to his study and the way forward.

To his credit he did state they are looking at things in the future , which to me is a telling statement .If nothing was done post Bejing/Berlin except a camp gate coup , then what is being done for the future ?

Anyway things in the works for the future.....camp gate 3 !
              The JAAA is not a particularly attractive marketing target. What do they control....the athletes appearances? No. ....highly marketable meets? No. They don't control any viable content to leverage in the marketplace in a big way at the moment....and have limited scope to do so.

If they facilitate something like the US vs Jamaica track series...that would be an opportunity for them to create some value attractive to sponsors....but they have to beg athletes to participate.

I don't see why anyone would be beating down their doors for sponsorship or marketing opportunities.... just my opinion.

There is a gaping hole in marketing Jamaican T & F. This can be taken up by the JAAA or the Jamaica Tourist Board. I see PUMA using our ineptness and tardiness in realizing the quality of our product to maximise their profits. Prior to the 2004 Olympics and since, there has been a proliferation by PUMA, and others, of clothing and shoes sporting our Jamaican colours. I don't see where Jamaica has collected a cent from sales of these products. What I hear from the JAAA, which should be the body leading this marketing race, is a bag of excuses. The same can be said about the JFF also.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Baddaz, many people are not ready to hear what you just said, they will refuse to accept it whether they heard the programme or not, see they are fixed and inflexible in their thinking whether they have any expertise in the field or not.

the jaaa in of itself does not control anything at the moment... with continued success they could allign with a private entity for revenue generation... they have a lot of hurdles to clear...

the problem is not unique to jamaica t&f... even the usa has the same problems...

How much is the brand name Jamaica worth ? The JAAA has control over that name as it pertains to our track and field dont they ?

To find a professional entity that can market that brand name must be worth at least 500,000 to 1 mill a year us .

All the more reason for them to go professional , or as you say have a professional arm as an extension of the JAAA, like TEAM JAMAICA PRO T&F .

There is a gaping hole in marketing Jamaican T & F. This can be taken up by the JAAA or the Jamaica Tourist Board. I see PUMA using our ineptness and tardiness in realizing the quality of our product to maximise their profits. Prior to the 2004 Olympics and since, there has been a proliferation by PUMA, and others, of clothing and shoes sporting our Jamaican colours. I don't see where Jamaica has collected a cent from sales of these products. What I hear from the JAAA, which should be the body leading this marketing race, is a bag of excuses. The same can be said about the JFF also.
                        to be fair, none of us know the arrangement between puma and j3a to determine if they have been compensated for the use of our name and colors...

one issue which howard aris had mentioned and to a lesser extent babsy grange is that of ownership and use of the name jamaica and by extension colors...

i would say sometimes realities can appear to be excuses... from what i am able to observe and understand, it appears many of us would like the j3a to do things that are outside of their responsibility...

ownership of our name and colors and its use is not the j3a responsibility... that is a govt matter...

Baddaz check this out !

USATF Inks Multi-Year Extension With Longtime Partner Nike

Nike Extends Sponsorship
                          Of USATF Through '13USA Track & Field (USATF) Friday announced a new, multi-year agreement with longtime partner Nike. The deal extends through '13 and is valued at more than $10M annually. Nike has been a USATF sponsor since '91. USATF CEO Doug Logan announced the deal at the Track & Field Writers of America breakfast in Eugene, Oregon. Logan said the apparel company has the option to renew the partnership through '17. He added if Chicago wins the right to host the '16 Olympics and Nike exercises that option, a "substantial premium" will be added to the existing deal. Under the deal, Nike maintains its status as the exclusive sponsor and supplier of USATF in the footwear, apparel and retail categories. Meanwhile, Logan said the USATF is pushing ahead with plans for dual meets with the Jamaican national team in April or May of '10. The first competition will take place in Kingston and the second will take place in the U.S. Nike has pledged its support of the event through participation of Nike athletes and additional resources (Tripp Mickle, SportsBusiness Journal). Sources said that the deal is "valued at more than" $10M a year -- a 30-40% "increase over the last sponsorship." The AP's Eddie Pells noted other parts of the Nike-USATF deal "establish a 'Project 30 Fund' to aid up-and-coming athletes as part of the sport's attempt to overhaul its structure and win 30 medals at the London Olympics." Logan said that Nike was "getting on board in trying to reshape the sometimes toxic relationship between athletes, agents and sponsors that many critics think prevents the sport from moving forward" (AP, 6/26).

BEST CASE SCENARIO: In Chicago, Philip Hersh noted IOC ethics rules "forbid its global sponsors from trying to influence host city elections," but Nike increasing its financial commitment to the USATF should Chicago win the '16 Games is different because it is not a global IOC sponsor. Logan said, "The partnership simply recognizes added value in the event of a domestic (Olympic) competition. You cannot avoid reality. We are certainly not going to attempt to unduly influence anyone." Hersh notes all four bid cities -- Chicago, Madrid, Rio de Janeiro and Tokyo -- have corporate sponsors and wrote, "Is anyone naive enough to think those bid sponsors won't be inclined to increase their support for a domestic Olympics?" (CHICAGOTRIBUNE.com, 6/26).

After finding this article 500,000 to a million is an insult for a world T&F power , we do compete on the same circuit for the same sponsorship dont we ? If we are beating USA T&F on the track we should be beating them in sponsorship locally and internationally.

Of USATF Through '13USA Track & Field (USATF) Friday announced a new, multi-year agreement with longtime partner Nike. The deal extends through '13 and is valued at more than $10M annually. Nike has been a USATF sponsor since '91. USATF CEO Doug Logan announced the deal at the Track & Field Writers of America breakfast in Eugene, Oregon. Logan said the apparel company has the option to renew the partnership through '17. He added if Chicago wins the right to host the '16 Olympics and Nike exercises that option, a "substantial premium" will be added to the existing deal. Under the deal, Nike maintains its status as the exclusive sponsor and supplier of USATF in the footwear, apparel and retail categories

Check this link UST&F nike apparel for sale ............ J3A a work out things, wha yuh say dem a beg sponsorship post Bejing & Berlin.I find it hard to believe ..forgive me.We beat them on the field , why not in terms of sponsorship , we both compete for the same global sponsorship dollars .

http://www.usatf.org/store/showProdu...6%20Collection

Thank you X (me haffi give yuh ur respect here). This is exactly what the Excusists are missing. How difficult is it for the JAAA to partner with an apparell manufacturer to produce clothing items with the JAAA logo and colours on it? I don't think that the Jamaican government has any control over the colours black, green and gold. We here in the diaspora have to go far and wide to buy something that represents us as a nation and evryday you hear the BS..tters talk about lack of money and sponsorship. I refuse to accept that.
                                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015