A what a GWAAN??? GAY 9.69!!!
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015Tags: None
Re: Tyson Gay
Originally posted by Time View PostAre we talking greatest or fastest? Asafa not in the greatest business.
By the way, as sad as the Asafa Powell scenario is, I have to agree here with our posters Time and Hortical about the major importance of winning a global gold medal for one to be classified among “the greatest”! Asafa had his golden chances in 2004 and 2007 (and quite likely 2003 as well) and literally gave them away. Now, those chances seem gone forever. This is, to me, one of the saddest episodes in Jamaica’s track and field history since the 1940s.
Originally posted by Historian View PostTyson Gay is the real deal as well as a great athlete, and we should have recognized this from, at the very least, 2007. The fact that some of us kept making condescending remarks about this outstanding American sprinter shows how little we sometimes learn from experience! We should thank our lucky stars for Usain Bolt, otherwise the world would be talking about Gay, an American, as the greatest sprinter in history!!
By the way, as sad as the Asafa Powell scenario is, I have to agree here with our posters Time and Hortical about the major importance of winning a global gold medal for one to be classified among “the greatest”! Asafa had his golden chances in 2004 and 2007 (and quite likely 2003 as well) and literally gave them away. Now, those chances seem gone forever. This is, to me, one of the saddest episodes in Jamaica’s track and field history since the 1940s.
He needs more time and more accomplishments.
As to Asafa..he was definitely not mentally ready or experienced enough to be the best in 2003 or even 2005 (I was observing him almost daily at UTECH at the time). Yes he missed a great chance in 2007 to make his mark. That chance will probably not return.
As a 100m specialist he would never have the chance to be considered the GOAT.
That accolade is usually reserved for those who double.Last edited by Don1; September 20, 2009, 01:27 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Goat
Originally posted by Don1 View PostUsain or no Usain...Gay at this point would not be considered by most experts as the GOAT..... imho.
He needs more time and more accomplishments.
Nevertheless, my essential point about who the world would be talking about today still stands. In the absence of a Usain Bolt, the world would be talking about Tyson Gay.
Also, we need to recognize that Usain Bolt made his impact at the senior level in one year (2008-2009). Tyson Gay, on the other hand, made his during the two-year period 2007-2009! The fundamental difference is the sheer impact of Bolt’s performances, as he singlehandedly turned theories about speed and endurance upside down and, no doubt, sent numerous people scurrying for the theory labs (lol)! In other words, his accomplishments were so immense that immortality had to, it seems, be immediately applied to Bolt.
But without Bolt, Gay’s resume would have read like this:
100-meter: 2007 world champion
200-meter: 2007 world champion
100-meter: 2009 world champion
9.69: fastest 100-meter time in history
9.71: second fastest 100-meter time in history
19.58: second fastest 200-meter time in history
the most prolific sub 10sec runner in history and he is not considered great... its as if you guys are taking sub10 for granted...
world titles cannot be the only definition for greatness...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
I find it sureal at times when I find myself 'defending' Tyson Gay and American sprinter to some Jamaicans and even media people who we expect would be able to get past the hysterics and emotional responses.
But you put it in proper perspective that were it not for Bolt, Gay would be right near if not the top of the pile but I cant doscount Mo Green and even carl lewis' contributionsSolidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
I agree a 100 and X % Historian .Asafa needs to win a big one to be considered.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.