• 'Mills, Francis should get OJs'

'Mills, Francis should get OJs'

Published: Friday | September 18, 2009

( L - R ) Francis, Mills
    Patrick Robinson, international judge and renowned author, is urging the Government to the national honours awarded to track and field coaches Glen Mills and Stephen Francis.
    Both coaches are members of the Order of Distinction but Robinson wants their achievements to be acknowledged with a promotion to the nation's fourth-highest award, the Order of.
    Robinson, a Jamaican judge serving at the International Criminal Tribunal, is also to be accorded the Order of Jamaica this year but says he would readily surrender his award to the two coaches.
    "As much as I am delighted to learn of the fully merited Order of Jamaica being bestowed on Usain Bolt, I would be happier if his , Glen Mills, was similarly recognised by the ," Robinson said.
    "Stephen Francis should also receive the same award as Usain ... . Like Mr Mills, Mr Francis operates at the very highest international level in his field," added Robinson.

Robinson
    He bemoaned what he said was a tendency in Jamaica to undervalue teachers or to acknowledge the product but not the producer.
    "The social significance of the contribution of Mr Mills and Mr Francis should not escape us," argued Robinson, who recently released the book Jamaican Athletics: A Model for 2012 Olympics and the World.
    However, last night, an authoritative figure who has been close to the selection of national honours said the two coaches should wait a bit longer.
    Bolt's achievements
    He said Bolt's honour, at such a young age, was justified by his unique achievements on the track and the impact he, as an individual, has had on the world.
    "These, however, are certainly two people (Mills and Francis) who should be kept in mind for the future, and not necessarily the distant future," he noted.
    He also said he did not agree with Robinson's willingness to surrender his award to the two coaches.
    "It is very nice of him and so on, but if I were the Government, I would not go the route of swapping awards," he said. arthur.hall@gleanerjm.com
    Last edited by Sir X; September 18, 2009, 08:35 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

disagree

Let me disagree with you for argument's sake...look at the long list of awardees every year..how many of them do you reciognise or even agree with.

The postmistress from back a bush who served for 45 years gets an award because maybe the MP likes her or a teacher who taught several generations in one area gets an award.

Can we argue that despite their being paid very well for what they are doing, Mills and Francis have done as much or even more than half the p;eople ont his list.

I recall one Heroes Day ceremony I covered in St James a few years ago and this man as awarded for his years as a teacher, turns out that his present 'school' consisted of ONE student which he taught on his verandah.

One man I k now who was awarded for sports in St James the other day worked at Sandals for years and was not associated with any sports association or team but he used to be a journalist more than 10 years before.

Before this turns into one of Karl's posts...most of these awards are watered down including the national awards...

The awards have turned into a free for all.

The postmistress from back a bush who served for 45 years gets an award because maybe the MP likes her or a teacher who taught several generations in one area gets an award.

I often wonder on whether or not "the back bush postmstress type" is not more deserving that many others who are recognised?

I have often said that all sorts of...people get these awards, some more deserving than others. The way they have watered it down, yes, maybe these coaches deserve them.

all dat tuh!

Or maybe an insult now, as OJs are given out to every political hack, etc?

Right now, they may prefer to get another kind of OJ...orange juice, for example. LoL

Why yuh want fi stifle greatness???

it depend if them tief the people remmittance money or not.