• Issa Philips: JAAA NEVER made any contribution in my career

Watch the JAAA defenders(Karl and Don1) attack di youth

“JAAA never made any contribution to my career”, Phillips complains

Posted by admin on Sep 16th, 2009 and filed under Featured
    8 views Print This Post Email This Post

By Tammo Lotz, TrackAlerts

To succeed as a track and field athlete means more than being exceptionally fast, arduous and powerful. Physical performance is only one side of the story. Mental strength is just as important as is a healthy lifestyle and a professional and supportive environment.

Isa Phillips acknowledges the crowd before the start of the mens' 400m hurdles semi finals at August's World Athletics Championships in Berlin.

All of these points hold true for 400-metre hurdler Isa Phillips. The 25-year-old from Kingston has been improving in nine out of the last ten seasons. Starting with the long-hurdle event in 2000 Isa Philipps’ first race was clocked in 58 seconds. Two years later his PB had already dropped to 52.96. Since then his meticulous step-by-step approach has produced season bests of 50.95 (2003), 50.39 (2004), 49.96 (2005), 49.36 (2006), 48.51 (2007), 48.78 (2008) and 48.05 posted at this year’s Jamaica trials. Only double world champion Kerron Clement from the United States (47.91), South Africa’s L.J. Van Zyl (47.94) and Clement’s fellow countryman Bershawn Jackson (47.98) have come up with better marks than Phillips in 2009 on probably the most demanding event on track involving speed, technical skills, feeling for rhythm and stamina.

Yet there is still room for improvement and Phillips is keen on moving on. Cracking into the 47 seconds territory would be the next step and looking at a 46-seconds-performance is a challenging but not lofty goal for the distant future. Nothing is left to chance. However, executing on the biggest occasions has so far denied him, 48.85 seconds failed to take him beyond the semi-finals at last year’s Olympic Games in Beijing (China) as did 48.93 at the World Championships in Berlin (Germany) last month.

In addition he was disqualified at the WAF in Thessaloniki (Greece) recently for a lane violation following a protest by compatriot Danny McFarlane, generating mixed comments by the TrackAlerts audience.

Though patience is considered one of Phillips’ strong points, his disappointment about his subpar performance at the WC was unmistakable.
    “I am going through the process of succeeding. I have failed before, I have moved forward and worked likewise,” said Phillips, who left St. Andrew Technical in Kingston to attend Wayland Baptist University in Texas.

The 6’5 athlete is grateful about the support he has been given throughout his career, alluding to Donald ‘Cherry’ Davis, one of his early mentors as well as Louisiana State University coach Dennis Shaver (coach of Lolo Jones, 2006 World Indoor Champion over 60 metre hurdles) and former Jamaican stars Winthrop Graham (World silvers in 1991 and 1993 and Olympic runner-up in 1992) and Debbie-Ann Paris who finished second at the 2002 Commonwealth Games. “My disappointment at the World Championships is; not getting a medal for those who’ve invested in me and making me what I am today. ”

Phillips not only mentions the ones who have supported him, but also those who he thinks could have been more committed. It is the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA) that bears the brunt of Phillips’ criticism. “Jamaica’s track and field governing body, has never made any significant contribution to my athletic development.”

Extending his discomfort, the four-time All-American and 2007 NCAA National champion considered any medal expectations by the JAAA as unfair. “I do not think they (JAAA) have any right to say ‘this boy has to produce’ (as I’ve heard them say). The people who I owe to produce are those who have made an investment in me and who’ve helped me this far.”
    The political science graduate’s goals of winning gold medals at the World Championships and the Olympics, according to him, will remain – with or without JAAA’s support.

http://www.trackalerts.com/?p=3441
    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Originally posted by Yuttie View Post
    Watch the JAAA defenders(Karl and Don1) attack di youth

“JAAA never made any contribution to my career”, Phillips complains

Posted by admin on Sep 16th, 2009 and filed under Featured
    8 views Print This Post Email This Post

By Tammo Lotz, TrackAlerts

Phillips not only mentions the ones who have supported him, but also those who he thinks could have been more committed. It is the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA) that bears the brunt of Phillips’ criticism. “Jamaica’s track and field governing body, has never made any significant contribution to my athletic development.”

Extending his discomfort, the four-time All-American and 2007 NCAA National champion considered any medal expectations by the JAAA as unfair. “I do not think they (JAAA) have any right to say ‘this boy has to produce’ (as I’ve heard them say). The people who I owe to produce are those who have made an investment in me and who’ve helped me this far.”

The political science graduate’s goals of winning gold medals at the World Championships and the Olympics, according to him, will remain – with or without JAAA’s support.

http://www.trackalerts.com/?p=3441
    Going to school does not save one from making ass of self.

Mr. Phillips should let us know exactly what it is he expected to have been handed to him by the JAAA?

Perhaps, Mr. Phillips is giving fair warning that he shall apply to another country for the right to represent that country?

right an schedule

how's everything down South boss?
      Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
      Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Mr. Phillips should let us know exactly what it is he expected to have been handed to him by the JAAA?

Perhaps, Mr. Phillips is giving fair warning that he shall apply to another country for the right to represent that country?
        Karl. Asafa asked the JAAA for money for food and was rebuffed. This was before his WR exploits of course.

What exactly should they JAAA have done for Asafa and Isa?

Perhaps the JAAA should start giving, and then retaining a percentage of their winnings.

Let me be the Devil and say this NOW (mi back nuh broad like mi fren Lazie though) - yes the country feel good when them win medals etc., but on the other hand just like me and you have a office or a construction job - RUNNING is them job, they get PAID for running, and bountiful too!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
              Perhaps the JAAA should start giving, and then retaining a percentage of their winnings.

Let me be the Devil and say this NOW (mi back nuh broad like mi fren Lazie though) - yes the country feel good when them win medals etc., but on the other hand just like me and you have a office or a construction job - RUNNING is them job, they get PAID for running, and bountiful too!
              The second part is obvious, MdmeX, so let's stick to the first. Are you saying the JAAA should give them something? Give them what, and from what? And are you also saying the JAAA should get a percentage of the athletes' winnings?

To encourage, promote, develop and control amateur athletics in Jamaica amongst all sections of the community and amongst all Jamaican citizens.
                Followed their mission statement?

JAAA rejected Sanya Richards request for a plane ticket

Handed is to harsh...but I would like to know what he asked then for...

Sanya had just moved to Florida and could not afford the plane ticket ride back home to join Bolt & others at the youth trials. She asked for help and was told no, so she asked the US for help and they gave it to her.

Well, maybe our athletes should all go represent the USA. They will always be in a better position to hand out plane tickets!

How did the JAAA help Bolt and Gonzalez?

Why does the IAAF gives national federation stipends or did they do away with that program?

What i want to know is what's the prupose of the JAAA? Keep impunctual meets, provide travel documents, and mandate camps?

Why are there no longer junior camps?

Thank heavens for ISSA.

they already are... check the nationaly of their athletes

then...sayonara!

I would tend to believe that statement. I know a certain runner who used to represent Texas and she was also rebuffed by the JAAA. They ongle care bout yuh if you is a big star.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                              They ongle care bout yuh if you is a big star.
                              Exactly. They don't want to nurture but want to reap the accolades. Nobody want to plant the corn, but everybody want to raid the barn.