Kerron perplexes the hell out of me??

Originally posted by Historian View Post
    Willi, I hope Karl reads this post of yours.

Why didn’t you point out to Karl the fact that the 200-meter performance of an ordinary athlete (that is, everyone else aside from Usain Bolt) will be affected if they compete in BOTH 100 and 200-meter races at global meets? Karl, for some strange reason, kept failing to understand my argument against Veronica Campbell-Brown running both the 100-meter and 200-meter races in Berlin!

Although I pointed out to him that VCB’s victory last year in Beijing and impressive 21.74 seconds was no doubt a result of not running the 100-meter rounds, Karl still failed to grasp the fact that after seven rounds in a matter of a few days, one’s performance in the 200-meter finals WILL be affected!!
    You do not want me do the research and to list the many who doubled and ran World's best 200? Right?

Then off the top of my head I think of 2 who did even more than that - ...mmmm? 3? ....4?

Men - Jessie Owens & Carl Lewis?

Women - There was this lady from I think - 1920a 0r 1930s or 1940s Fanny something or other?

Wilma Rudolph & Flo Jo!

Then there are those who did 'more' -
    e.g. MJ & Valrie Brisko-Hooks? ...I think there was a German woman of the doping era and then there was the Czechosolovakia - Jarmila whatever?

Historian: There are numerous...too many to mention who proves it doable.

*I think you are missing the runners' best ever times as being the only true comparable to time reproduced at these games?

E.g. If my best ever times were say 10.00 and 20.00 for 100M & 200M respectable...I have ot failed to perform if I do not get a medal and run 9.98 and 19.98 in the finals.

*...and pehaps it should be SB taking all matters such as recent injuries, etc. and time these occurred relative to the major games where 'peak' is expected?

VCB - Taking into consideration her SBs in the 100M and the 200M and the injuries...note? - injuries!...and training time loss...and when lost...did very well.

I saw her running into form using the 100M...but I thought she had fully recovered from her toe injury. How she could reproduce the times she did with a toe not fully healed...and thus that toes must have been getting more and more aggravated and re-injuried is beyond
    my comprehension

She is warrior and of champion's mettle of no mean order. Tears came to my eyes when I heard she was still injuries....she ran with that injuries toe.

Damn! Damn! ...she is out of this world!
    Last edited by Karl; September 14, 2009, 10:07 AM.

yuh actually include flo jo and carl lewis?

Wah mek yuh waan mi guh duh di research?
        Mi nah duh hit!

mi? look at mi question again....

Well iffen mi tek hout Carl Lewis and Flo Jo mi wudda affi fill dem place?

No problem!

LoL

Most of those named were

doped up!

Most of those named were

doped up!
                OK...when I ahve the time I shall look at some who doubled, their SB and what they produced at the big meets i.e. Olympics and World Champs.

...help? TDowl?
                ...or Willi or Historian?

Damn?
                Forgot one Tyson Gay! in the Olympics and the World Champs?

Is one Olys TG ever run (Beijing) and he did not double!

He shut his season down early after Osaka and pull the next year.

Doubling does mash you up.

Look at Bolt this year. The man could barely stand up for his interview last night after a pedestrian 19.68s run and he declared that was his last race for the season. Complete shut down. next year he is taking it easy, give his body a chance to recover from the last 2 years, as he will have 3 straight Globals from 2011-13!!!

yo nuh si Karl a mek reference to ppl from di 20's...

In all fairness to Karl he did advocate for cyborgs to run against humans and believes doping should be made legal.
                    Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                    Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Is one Olys TG ever run (Beijing) and he did not double!

He shut his season down early after Osaka and pull the next year.

Doubling does mash you up.

Look at Bolt this year. The man could barely stand up for his interview last night after a pedestrian 19.68s run and he declared that was his last race for the season. Complete shut down. next year he is taking it easy, give his body a chance to recover from the last 2 years, as he will have 3 straight Globals from 2011-13!!!
                      When since 19.68 tun pedestrian?

...and he shall always double!

...and why don't you help with the stats to support my point? You know they are out there!

Since Bolt mek it pedestrian!

Stats?

The ones that come to mind are suspect.

Krabbe, Gladish, Borzov, RuCarl, MJ, FloJo, Brisco-Hooks, etc.

[quote=Willi;188601]Since Bolt mek it pedestrian!

[quote]

Stats?

The ones that come to mind are suspect.

Krabbe, Gladish, Borzov, RuCarl, MJ, FloJo, Brisco-Hooks, etc.
                          Brisco-Hooks?

...and there must be more doublers?

What about Frankie Fredricks? Ato? Maurice Green? ...and...

...or 2nd and 3rd, etc., etc. who double and show it is possible when you compare SBs with performance at the major meets?
                          Cho, man!

I meant winning doublers.

B-Hooks was the 2-4 double.