• Crank up that old English press

Usain Bolt’s fast becoming a regular bar hopper

By London Lite Last updated at 13:32pm on 10.09.09
    Add your view

He may be the world's fastest sprinter — but double world record-holder Usain Bolt is getting a reputation as a marathon drinker.

Quick drink: Usain Bolt and a friend last night
    The 23-year-old Jamaican hit London's clubbing scene for the second time this week — choosing Mayfair's Whisky Mist nightclub last night with a few pals in tow.
    Our spy told us: “When Usain arrived he was brought straight through to the VIP room, where he was taken to his table. He was treated to bottles of Grey Goose vodka, which Usain and his friends were clearly pleased with.”
    After a while, word spread that Usain was in the club — eventually reaching the ears of Chelsea striker Didier Drogba.
    Our source continued: “Didier went over to say hello to Usain and soon after joined his table. “Usain was clearly making the most of his night out, and at one point he decided to pop into the DJ booth and select a few songs — including Big Pimpin' by Jay-Z.
    “Everyone was surrounding his table and trying to get a glimpse of him, but he was really pleasant to anyone who approached him for a chat or an autograph.”
    On Monday night, Usain went to Alto club in Soho, where he spent the evening with fellow speed freak Lewis Hamilton and JLS singer Marvin Humes.
    On that occasion he was treated to two magnum bottles of Dom Pérignon and a magnum bottle of vodka.
    Sounds like the guy can run up a bar tab in world-record time.

Reader views (2)

Add your view
    Can anyone tell me why people wear SUNglasses at night? and who is that silly woman with Usain who obviously believes she's a star who needs to hide her eyes from the cameras. One more thing, Usain if you're reading this. Stay away from the blonde/brunette/fake tan/miniskirt high heel wearing women that frequent nightclubs looking for an eligible wealthy man. They're nasty!

- Bemused, London
    I was there last night and all i saw Usain drinking was Guiness! nice guy.

- Anon, London, UK
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I see that Mr. Bolt is following my blueprint to the "T".
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Ricky Simms turn coach now!!!!!

Bolt's Asia trip up in the air, says agent
      (China Daily)
      Updated: 2009-09-10 10:15
      Comments(2) PrintMail
      RALEIGH, North Carolina: A fatigued Usain Bolt will wait until this weekend to decide whether or not to compete in China and South Korea later this month, his agent told Reuters on Wednesday, rebuffing media reports the world's fastest man had canceled his Asian trip.

Usain Bolt of Jamaica waves after winning the men's 200 metres race at the IAAF Golden League Memorial Van Damme athletics meeting in Brussels September 4, 2009. [Agencies]

"I have informed both organisers in Shanghai and Korea (Daegu) that we will continue to analyse his performance until after the world athletics final (in Thessaloniki, Greece on Sunday), and see how he is," Ricky Simms said in a telephone interview from London.
      Triple Olympic and world champion Bolt is scheduled to run 100 metres races in Shanghai on September 20 and Daegu on September 25 after competing in a 200 metres at Thessaloniki.
      The 23-year-old Jamaican said after recent meetings in Zurich and Brussels the long season in which he broke both his 100 and 200 metres world records has left him fatigued.
      "He's a jewel in the crown of athletics... he's the golden man... and hopefully can run for 10 years, so we don't need to over race him this year," Simms told Reuters.
      "Yes, he could earn good money (in Asia) but it is very important that he not over do it this year.
      "It will be pretty much after Sunday, when we make a decision," Simms said.
      The trip to Asia, if he makes it, would be Bolt's first since his eye-catching, triple gold performance at the 2008 Beijing Olympics in which he set world records in the 100 and 200 metres and led Jamaica to a world mark in the 4x100 metres relay.
      Related readings:
      This dog can bolt, unbolt door with its front legs
      Bolt: 'I want to try long jump'
      Bolt was star of the show in Berlin
      Bolt eyes clubbing, beach after world titles

Bolt wins 3rd gold as Jamaica bags both 4x100m relays

Bolt shattered both individual world records with another stunning performance at last month's world championships in Berlin, running 9.58 seconds in the 100 metres and 19.19 in the 200. He also led Jamaica to the world 4x100 metres relay gold.
      "We have been analysing his performances and everything since the world championships -- Coach (Glen) Mills and myself -- and everyone saw he was very, very tired in Zurich," Simms said.
      Reuters

"fast becoming" - heh heh!

paparzzi camera flash BRIGHT ergo the sunglasses as for his bodyguard...mi nutten obviously wrong wid har...

- Bemused, London
            I was there last night and all i saw Usain drinking was Guiness! nice guy.

What i don't like is the implication that Bolt is a 'rum-head'. The British culture of drinking and Jamaica's are so far apart it's not funny. Jamaica, as a country, doesn't have a drinking problem. One of the culture shocks that I experienced here in the USA is the idea of "going out" means going to a bar to drink with your friends. For us (Jamaicans), "going out" means going to a night club to dance........and drink. Every Jamaican man knows that Guiness "PUT IT BACK". So Bolt was only drinking his medicine.

As much as HL makes me out to be!

Bolt is a party animal, and, as you said, that is different from being a party animal in a US college.

Drinks too expensive for most Jamaicans to drink as they please. Bolt may not have that problem any more, but we don't have a drinking culture as other societies.

Bwoy when mi coach did a tell mi fi work harder mi shoulda listen..heheheheh

Do you ting Mr. Bolt cause mi woulda do de same ting.

Not the first time this guy has promoted himself as the top man around Usain.

The question is, is he?

nutten obvious wrong wid har...
                      haul mi seh, watch dem!

yuh relaise man like drogba, ronaldo are "among the best players in the world" bolt is THE fastest man in the world none faster....heheheh when drogba hear seh him dideh him seh yow mi haffi meet THE fastest man in the world.....sweet mi....duh yuh thing ligtining 'cause yuh a guh strike again.

Who's the cleavage on his right?

Calm down Karl, sounds like a mistake made by the writer and not Ricky.
                            Ricky actually is a world rated coach and has coached long distance athletes to global medals in the past but right now he is Bolt's agent and I am sure he is not running around telling people he is Bolt's coach to make himself look bigger than he is.

Really! We dont have a drinking culture? Why do we have so many bars then? When last you go to a Catholics Priests convention?