Sorry, but I don't believe Bolt just caught stage fright once he got up to the senior level. The youth battled thru injuries and still did fairly well.
And as for the comparison - one could argue that Mills has always worked with the best. It is said that even when he coached at the sprint factory called Camperdown, it wasn't like he was developing athletes. Rather, the school had a solid scholarship program, so to speak, so the best athletes were in his hands from day one! Franno's genius cannot be questioned in a similar manner!
This about scholarship and best is nonsense...it is a crutch for those who have inferiority complexes.
...and do not tell me about Dago Gordon and others...talent abounds. It is what is done with the talent that makes the difference.
A Dago - street baller and cricketer from his earliest days is merely the difference between that type youth and the just as talanted uptowner who spends his time on a couch with a TV remote.
Heard DJ brought back Anthony Davis (His former intercollegiate star athlete). Cannot remember hearing that DJ was the one who brought in Franno.
Was that during Dr. Astil Sangster's reign?
btw - DJ took a few athletes from me when I was track coach at Mico. I can recall Berris Long, who went on to represent Jamaica and won a medal in one of the games as a member of 4x4 team.
Last I heard of Berris he was teaching at CW Post on Long Island, New York.
...I do not have a problem changing views if convinced. I was never convinced from Deryck Tomlinson's 1960s Vere was tearing up D'Cup and Oliver Shield.
I always thought if the other schools started their training when Deryck started Vere's and their coaches had Deryck's type coaching background the results would in all likelihood not be as they were.
Perhaps a "Skill" Cole would have been enough for Deryck's team to win...but the competition would be on 'level ground'.
Truth is I really don't know enough about them to say i have faith in them, but what I do know is that regardless of where they are now it is clear that they have a bag ah work to do. As the guiding hand for Jakan track they have done a poor job in both Beijing and Berlin, too much kassa-kassa with no resolution in sight. Mills and Franno and all the other coaches that I don't know, are all clearly doing a good job, if Franno or Mills were doing such a job in say a corporate environment they would be well rewarded, and made to feel like they are the key players.
JAAA must set the stage for these guys to feel happy and focus in on producing, they have not done that. Based on that I would say we need new leadership etc, but that also does not excuse Franno from shutting down on giving feedback and working to see what could be achieved by talking about what he wanted. Of course i don't know if he did that, if he did not then shame on him, if he did then he has tried, the way how all those dominoes came out in the sequence it did, it may have even been intentional, but again this is not about Franno and the incident is just the crumbs of the issue. JAAA needs to take the leadership thing very seriously and it is clear to me on just what i have seen from the outside that this is not the case.
Yeah but we had many others who also did the same or close to the same as Bolt as back in the days Sammy would have won them youth world champs as well, man like Jan Jones and Thommo from Cbar was running 21.2 in class 2 in the 70's!!!
So we have seen Bolt before at the junior level, hell we even seeing it now with teh crop of current teenage runners Ashmeade, Mckenzie, etec etc but let's see how many of those come through if they are not linked up with Mills or Franno.
So, I guess you believe that Jackie Walters just transforms Glenmuir's players into the island's best, huh?
And I guess Campion also adds immense value to ordinary kids who enter thru her doors, and the other schools are somehow wukliss because dem not doing di same.
Willi, Yuh ever see DJ run yet, I saw him run at a Cbar sports day when he must have been well into his mid 40's, well dem time dey the big belly man style was in full effect, well, i was thinking it was really funny as I didn't really know him as a sprinter just a guy in the old boys race, well the man tek off and win by a good bit in a 50 yard dash, yes we were all pretty surprised as they were some skinny fast looking guys in that race.
So, I guess you believe that Jackie Walters just transforms Glenmuir's players into the island's best, huh?
And I guess Campion also adds immense value to ordinary kids who enter thru her doors, and the other schools are somehow wukliss because dem not doing di same.
LOL!
Let us look at MC when I was there - We never started training until school re-opened. We played our first match approximately 2 weeks before D'Cup got under way.
We just did not put in the work the main contenders did.
---
Well why do you think so many kids arte left behind in academics each year? Never to, for example, see the door of secondary schools?
If you think you or the rest of us fortunate enough to enter high schools were inherently more talented than the rest of our 'sisteers and brothers' then join Lazie innah di foolishness.
Massa Talent abounds. It is opportunity...rather lack of opportunity (including environement in which the child is nutured) that condemns the rest to being out in the cold.
I refuse to believe that tons of Asafa Powells and Bolts do not exist...just as I refuse to think tons of Dagos, Sastris, Skills, etc. do not abound.
Create the work environment for the potential athletes, students, what have you and tons shall be world beaters.
Example: I know as fact that when I was in the top T&F athletes at Mannings boys at Little London in my age group dus mi hout wen wi ave road races! Talent abounds!
How many kids leave Jamaica supposedly 'dunce = Big bwoy' a school and innah 'Merica a professor a dem Univesity? Nuff-muff?
Talent abounds!
Even Asafa...what if there was not a Stephen Francis who created the environment?
Massa, talent abounds! We need to create the environment and put in the work to reap the rewards!
LOL!
Yes!
...and Yes!
They have been doing work others have not been doing! They create the environment and work!