Benjamin lashes WICB - Former speedster questions directors

btw i still waiting on the long term plans on the WICB...actually just one will do. start by comparing the websites......

http://www.cricket.com.au/

http://www.windiescricket.com/

karl, at the time of hendricks et al (yuh figget headley too)county cricket was not the professional outfit it became in the 80's AFTER kerry packer introduced the world to PROFESSIONAL cricket. The playing field was more level then it was basically talent for talent.....the stakes have since been raised on ALL accounts and THAT is where WIBC has been left lagging! They are STILL in the era of franz alexander and jackie hendicks when we are now in the era of ricky ponting and jacques kallis!

i have been to cricket clubs in south africa and i have SEEN first han the work being done with youngsters at the age of TWELVE working on the fundamentals of all 3 disciplines batting fielding and bowling. time and again our young cricketers are in AWE when they visit these places for the first time and realise the investment being made in developing cricket.

karl, do you think that the reason why SA and AUS are on top of the pile is accidental? if you do not think so, please enlighten me as to which BODY has been responsible for the development of their cricket or whether it is strictly the players.

you notice how AUS and SA churning them out? their academies are in FULL flight..you are fooling yourself if you think otherwise.

in today's cricket talent ALONE will never cut it! the only consistent windies batsman is chanderpaul and he is perhaps the most unorthodox batsman in cricket today..what does that tell you?

read sobers'/richards/walsh autobiographies
      btw - A George Headley name 'Atlas".

Perhaps you noticed in Australia that it is the States that keep the youngsters coming through the academies? Well our islands are the equivalent of those Australian States.

I'll repeat our island boards are letting us down. The work they do...the players they are currently turning out...are crap!
      Last edited by Karl; September 6, 2009, 03:59 PM.

karl...yuh blind in one eye and cannot see out of the other...the states are subsidised by cricket australia because it is part of a NATIONAL plan.

each territory in the west indies has a rep on the WICB and yet ... NOTHING.

i notice yuh stop blame the players and start blame the regional boards now......WICB money from tours and stuff is supposed to be distributed to the terriotries guess what, through mismanagement, there is a cash flow problem...recent the WICB had to ask for an advance...soemtimes it is MONTHS before the players get paid. i don't hear of that happening anyehere else except zimbabwe.

WICB is where ALL the problems start.

and i STILL waiting for you to name one of the long term plans of the WICB...btw yuh hear about the row wid the patterson report?

PJ patterson himself seh dat WICB is outdated! what more yuh want?

karl...yuh blind in one eye and cannot see out of the other...the states are subsidised by cricket australia because it is part of a NATIONAL plan.

each territory in the west indies has a rep on the WICB and yet ... NOTHING.

i notice yuh stop blame the players and start blame the regional boards now......WICB money from tours and stuff is supposed to be distributed to the terriotries guess what, through mismanagement, there is a cash flow problem...recent the WICB had to ask for an advance...soemtimes it is MONTHS before the players get paid. i don't hear of that happening anyehere else except zimbabwe.

WICB is where ALL the problems start.
            I have not stopped blaming the players! They are crap.
            ...and I blame the island boards more than I can ever hope to blame the WI Board.

Well karl, from crappy preparation you get crappy players! why doesn't the WICB selectors hoose better players? what is that? those are the best players available? those crappy players? so why can't we have players than can compete on the international arena? this is the fault of ALL the players?

WICB has killed west indies cricket and it will die whether you believe it or not. no doubt the WICB has a similar attitude to yours, hence the continued downward spiral since the early 90's.

yo realize seh yo a argue wid di originator of the old boys network?
                Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

i realise i having a discussion wid one of the old boys!!!

Good!
                    ...so you are saying the cricketers have no responsibility here? ...and the islands' boards none?

Let me state it for you once again...back to my first response to the post that started the thread - the argument about "it's all the board's fault" is nonsense?

The main responsibility rests with those in charge with and charged with development in thye islands. Once the cream...regardless of level of competence...the chosen players...has been chosen to represent us then they must perform. Part of their lousy display is rooted in their attitudes...their selfish dun kah attitude...ginnie more money or guh weh attitude...their to hell with actually doing very best we can attitude.

Get rid of them and back to the drawing board.

karl...if the WICB is the governing body and the territories have been failing ... what the EFF has the WICB done to fix that .... NOTHING! like fish...the rot starts in the head.

you have just brilliantly, yet intentionally made my point! what kind of board allows that to happen and for so long?!!!

Jagdeo blasts WICB over mediation failure

CMC
                        Friday, September 04, 2009
                        GEORGETOWN, Guyana (CMC) - Caricom Chairman Bharrat Jagdeo has delivered a stinging attack on the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB), placing heavy blame on cricket's regional governing body for the failed mediation talks over the contracts row with the players.

Mediation talks broke down and Jagdeo, who had brokered an agreement six weeks ago for the feuding parties to enter a mediation process, believes the WICB prejudiced the effort from the start by not disclosing they had already selected a Champions Trophy squad without the top-flight players.

The Guyana president said it was his understanding that when the West Indies Players' Association (WIPA) agreed during their July 21 meeting to make all their players available for selection, the move would allow "normalcy" to return to team selection.

Jagdeo said the WICB knew otherwise but did not declare their position.
                        "When the mediation under Sir Shridath Ramphal was agreed upon with me on 21 July 2009, it was in the context in which WIPA made all their players available and I understand this is to be the basis of a return to normalcy in team selection," Jagdeo said in a short press release dated Tuesday.

"The members of the board did not disclose to me or to WIPA that they had already selected a 'B' team for the Champions Trophy in South Africa," Jagdeo said.

The Caricom chairman said WICB President Julian Hunte acknowledged the board's selection position some time after when the process was too far gone.

"The president later apologised for the omission; but the damage had been done; the mediation was weakened from the start," Jagdeo said.
                        Expressing regret over the failure of the WICB and WIPA to reach agreement in their dispute, Jagdeo added that he was not totally surprised.

He criticised the WICB's role in the process and slammed the administrators for high-handed behaviour in the matter.

"It seems that the mediation has been the victim of the same spirit of board insistence on getting its own way whatever the consequences for our cricket," Jagdeo declared.

He said Caricom governments will have to "consider what next to do to save West Indies cricket, and West Indians, everywhere, from still further humiliation".

Jagdeo thanked mediator Sir Shridath Ramphal for his effort and said he awaited a further report from the former Commonwealth secretary general.

Officials of the WICB held a news conference at Kensington Oval on Tuesday to announce that its board and WIPA will now pursue arbitration, following the collapse of mediation talks aimed at solving the long-running dispute between them.

WICB vice-president Dave Cameron disclosed at the news conference that the failure to find a solution to the dispute follows 10 days of tough negotiations throughout the month of August.

"No agreement could be reached at the conclusion of the mediation process, and the next option that is provided under the dispute resolution clause of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) and Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) with WIPA is arbitration," said Cameron.

Cameron said talks broke down because the players have "changed essentially how they want to be represented, and viewed in commercial terms", departing from the MOU and CBA they have been operating under.

Gamma?

Here comes another ass claiming the board only is to blame.

This guy is not an outsider. He knew of the claims made by Cameron.

yuh choose to ignore this?

The Caricom chairman said WICB President Julian Hunte acknowledged the board's selection position some time after when the process was too far gone.

"The president later apologised for the omission; but the damage had been done; the mediation was weakened from the start," Jagdeo said.
                            Expressing regret over the failure of the WICB and WIPA to reach agreement in their dispute, Jagdeo added that he was not totally surprised.

PLEASE name me one long term initiative that the WICB has made in respect of the development of west indies cricket .. one deggeh deggeh one.

ok let me help you...they commissioned the patterson report......to date have they even tried to implement the suggestions? ken gordon another ASS who incidentally is a past president of of WICB has blasted the WICB for not implementing any of the recommendations....he may be biased though because i believe it was commissioned under his tenure (where is the tongue in cheek emoticon)

it STARTS with the board and flows down karl.....and has been ever since but while we were successful because of the "free coaching" that was being had in england and australia everything was groovy when that dried up, the WICB became headless chickens and their ineptitude was exposed. this has over time trickled down...for it to get better it has to START at the top! the WICB.

Wonder who selects these board members?
                                Where do they come from?

Let me repeat - It starts in the islands!