See it deh, this is no fiction, we have two other guys besides Isa running under 49 already, and another at 49.2, now we need some focus on these guys.
well said peter r... i especially appreciated the above quote...
gamma rightfully said, we cannot be all things to all people... that is also exactly right... fact is, we are over achieving in track & field... we have had athletes achieving world class standards in many disciplines... we are a small nation... it is somewhat unrealistic to expect a nation of our size to consistently place athletes in the varied disciplines all the time...
non traditional events with representation...
decathlon... maurice smith, claxton bernard...
high jump... germaine mason (now england)
men's long jump... beckford
women triple jump... tricia smith...
women 800m.. kenia sinclair...
men's shot put... dorian scott...
we have a bunch of men's long jumpers coming up...
the future looks bright for us... we will have quarter milers and 400m hurdlers by the next olympics... bolt ascendance in the sprints will redefine who is a 100/200m sprinter and force many of our 'sprinters' to the quarter mile...
finally, i think it is unrealistic to expect jamaica to end t&f championships ahead of the usa... the fact that we have come that close to warrant the usa's attention is satisfaction enough for me... indeed, jamaica has exceeded expectations - on all levels...
This is a post that has me thinking you are pessimistic and hopeful. You put up limits on what we can be. Perhaps even as you look at our past achievements a part of your mind dismisses some of them or at the least relegate some to what could be called 'fuke' performances.
Think on the relationships say the sprints have to the long jump, 800M? Think of our talent pool and the results...world class results, produced at our youth levels across a broad range of events. Perhaps after taking those looks at our youth performances and comparing them with World Youth performances you may say, with careful planning excellent execution of those plans - YES WE CAN!
As one of our athletes in our line of many great athletes says...
As our GREAT Usain Bolt likes to say —