The game has changed!

• The game has changed!

After the Olympics it was; Jamaica beat the US in the sprints, what will happen the next time they meet, will Jamaica roll over and the US regain it's prominence in the sprints or can Jamaica duplicate Beijing.

Well that question has been answered emphatically, Jamaica has again whipped the US in the sprints, so now the quetion has been changed and the answer along with it, the question now is who won the championship, as evidenced by this Philadelphia Inquirer article.

US tops Jamaica in track golds

It is extremely interesting how that dynamic has changed quickly and the celebration by the US camp of the three golds on the last day, can you believe the relief that camp was feeling.

As I had said some time earlier this whole apple cart would have turned over if VCB had taken the gold and a stronger attempt made at the 4*400 womens, JA was potentially one unexpected gold medal from taking the whole thing. With a little competition you never know the US 4*4 w might have dropped the baton or just plain get rattled.

http://www.philly.com/inquirer/sport...ack_golds.html

Anyway it is clear that the game has changed, the question is whther JA is ready for the challenge, can JA pool the little resource, the various coaching talents all in the same tent without destroying the very thing that has been stiched together in glorious pieces, the Mills Camp, The MVP camp, the "farin" athletes camp, the rest.

Was this the one chance to take it all or is this the start of a more consistent competitiveness at the top echelons of the sport, my guess is that it is the first, we will continue to do well but to consistently compete at the top 3 level is not possible based on the current structure and administration and the key players are already so far apart, each faction wanting a bigger share of a little pie and not realizing that there is a bigger pie out there, that will lead to larger slices for all.

We will have Bolt for a while and we will have Mills and Franno for a while and if a strong effort is not made to bring the pieces together and to get the best local coaches to pick these guys minds and see what they are doing and how they are doing it then don't expect to see this same performance once these players disappear off the scene. This is what they call the perfect storm, everything comes together at one moment to create something greater than could be expected or has ever been seen historically, kind of like West Indies cricket in the 70's, to have a Holding, Roberts, Garner, Croft, Marshall, Richards, Lloyd, Gomes, Greenidge, Haynes, Richardson etc all playing at roughly the same time. That was no program putting that together that was just more of the perfect storm theory (of course looking at that idea from a positive perspective, the gelling of timing, talent, coaching, resources etc). Ja has always had excellent talent and now some really good local coaching now that will only last for a while.

The key question is can we get our act togther fast enough to create some real synergy out of Franno, Mills and Bolt, JAAA combination, the answer is already evident in everything I have seen in the press, we can't even keep the kassa kassa ah yard, we spill it out for the whole world to see, it is a pity, I really relished the opportunity to win the whole thing and I hope we can take that opportunity at the next WC but it really will require some serious effort and planning on the part of the administration and coaches to make that a reality regardless of how good the talent is, key example is the womens 4*4 team, how the race was run, the people who ran it and the outcome, to have two 49 point something runners in our camp and two others who could run low 50 point in a flat 400 and to get beaten by 4 seconds shows that we are not ready to compete from an organization standpoint.

Yes the game has changed, the sad part is that we have already dissloved into a fractionalized camp that will not be able to bring a cohesive effort to challenge the US in the midst of this our perfect storm.

The Harsh Facts!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    Well that question has been answered emphatically, Jamaica has again whipped the US in the sprints, so now the quetion has been changed and the answer along with it, the question now is who won the championship, as evidenced by this Philadelphia Inquirer article.
    We cannot ignore the following harsh facts:

1. Despite our successes, at this point in time Jamaica has no 400-meter male that stands even a remote chance of winning as much as a bronze medal in any global or even regional meet! Regionally, Trinidad’s Renny Quow and the Bahamas’ Christopher Brown and Ramon Miller (to name only three quarter milers) will whip any of our current 400-meter guys!

2. Jamaica cannot field an outstanding 4x400-meter men’s team! When we last reached a global final (in Beijing), we placed dead last. In 2009 it’s gotten worse as we cannot even qualify for the final.

3. We need younger 100-meter hurdlers. Both Brigitte Foster-Hylton and Delloreen Ennis-London, excellent hurdlers that they are, are approaching their mid-thirties.

4. We need younger 110-meter hurdlers. Maurice Wignall, for example, is an “old man” has far as the sport is concerned (the male version of a Chandra Sturrup).

5. Although Issa Phillips is around mid-twenties and therefore still a young man, we need an additional 400-meter male hurdler or two to replacing the aging Danny McFarlane.

6. The Jamaica men’s 4x100-meter relay team has not run against the USA men since 2007 in Osaka. That is two years ago (I will not include the recent Zurich relay for a number of reasons)!

7. The Jamaica women’s 4x100-meter relay team has not run against the USA women since 2007 in Osaka.

8. Jamaica has no outstanding long jumper, male or female, at this point in time! (Whatever happened to young Chelsea Hammond?)

9. While discovering male 400-meter runners seems to be an impossible task, is it also impossible for Jamaica to discover female and male high jumpers?

The bottom line, whether we like it or not, is that in concentrating on the short sprints, we have severely limited ourselves! Our real strengths, therefore, are currently in the 100-meter and 200-meter races (both men and women), in the 400-meter race for women, in the 400-meter hurdles for women, and in both 4x100-meter races (men and women).

Originally posted by Historian View Post
      We cannot ignore the following harsh facts:

1. Despite our successes, at this point in time Jamaica has no 400-meter male that stands even a remote chance of winning as much as a bronze medal in any global or even regional meet! Regionally, Trinidad’s Renny Quow and the Bahamas’ Christopher Brown and Ramon Miller (to name only three quarter milers) will whip any of our current 400-meter guys!

2. Jamaica cannot field an outstanding 4x400-meter men’s team! When we last reached a global final (in Beijing), we placed dead last. In 2009 it’s gotten worse as we cannot even qualify for the final.

3. We need younger 100-meter hurdlers. Both Brigitte Foster-Hylton and Delloreen Ennis-London, excellent hurdlers that they are, are approaching their mid-thirties.

4. We need younger 110-meter hurdlers. Maurice Wignall, for example, is an “old man” has far as the sport is concerned (the male version of a Chandra Sturrup).

5. Although Issa Phillips is around mid-twenties and therefore still a young man, we need an additional 400-meter male hurdler or two to replacing the aging Danny McFarlane.

6. The Jamaica men’s 4x100-meter relay team has not run against the USA men since 2007 in Osaka. That is two years ago (I will not include the recent Zurich relay for a number of reasons)!

7. The Jamaica women’s 4x100-meter relay team has not run against the USA women since 2007 in Osaka.

8. Jamaica has no outstanding long jumper, male or female, at this point in time! (Whatever happened to young Chelsea Hammond?)

9. While discovering male 400-meter runners seems to be an impossible task, is it also impossible for Jamaica to discover female and male high jumpers?

The bottom line, whether we like it or not, is that in concentrating on the short sprints, we have severely limited ourselves! Our real strengths, therefore, are currently in the 100-meter and 200-meter races (both men and women), in the 400-meter race for women, in the 400-meter hurdles for women, and in both 4x100-meter races (men and women).
      Well all our athletes came out of the school systems...so turn the spotlight there.

Perhaps the teachers at the prep, primary and secondary, ISSA the JAAA and the colleges need to lead the chage at taking a -'re-look' at...turning the spotlight on those events at the lower levels?

We cannot get away from the fact that it is the schools and our school meets that turn the various events into attractions...glamour events for our talented youth. It is first at those lower levels that the interest and passion is built and nutured. Even our late bloomers were introduced to the events at the school level and stored the latent interest and passion for the sport. ...yup! ...back to the drawing board. Isn't that how you work at perpetual renewal?

Nice!
        ...nice call to arms on the need to work on...redouble our efforts on not losing our current place!

oh dear lord...first of all we are not a relay nation...second of all we will perhaps not be all things to all people.

at various times we have produced athletes in almost all the disciplines you have mentioned it ebbs and flows.

they may be harsh facts, but the happy facts are that we did FANTATICALLY well in the last 2 major athletics meets the BEST we have ever done and all you seem to want to do is throw cold water on it? it may not be case, but boss it really beginning to look a way....

it might only be me and i might be wrong but those are my harsh facts!

my thoughts exactly. historian only sees the half empty glass, it appears.

dwight thomas, although around 29 years old, just ran a superb 13.1 something the other day. we have a slew of young men who will be challenging the world's best at long and triple jump, just check the NCAA results and the national results. and i can go on.

1)Watch Ricardo Chambers next year and maybe Gunz. Injuries hampered things.

3)We have Andrea Bliss and Vonnette Dixon, plus couple Alpha girls who went on to College.

4) We have Bigga and KC's Kieron Stewart...just off to college.

5) markino Buckley ran 48.5s last year before injury.

6) USA fault that, NOT ours! Racers dusted the US in London too.

7) Again, mainly the US fault here.

8) Chelsea came 4th in the Olys and may be injured. The guys are young but promising.

We are small and its a tall order to cover all the bases all the time!

I have to come to Historian's defense on this one. Even though sometimes he is like a Dark Shadow (unuh memba dat TV show back in the days), in this case i think he was responding to Stoni's post. Stoni is putting forth some serious points about Jamaica continuing and building on this recent dominance over the USA in the sprints. Historian is merely outlining the stark realities about our limitations, which, I think he is ABSOLUTELY correct. However, Karl, in one of his few lucid moments, made the suggestion about expanding and glamourizing some of these non-traditional events to our young schoolers as an answer. Unuh ease up on Histy. Every post on the topic so far has valid points.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

karl had lucid moment?!!! WHEN?!! how come nubaddy neva point it out at the time..min' yuh nuh jangle!!!

If I may offer a few corrections-
                    We do have a few up and coming 100m hurdlers- Shermaine Williams set the new NJR 13.06 seconds at Penn Relays had had the top six times in thew world until mid July and also won at Pan-Am when herself and fellow former Alpha and current John son C Smith student Rosemarie Carty were 1-2.

There were two girls at WYC this year as well who coaches are quietly confident that given the right environment could do well and there is also the former St Jago hurdler who will go to Texas A&M this year.

We have a few good up and coming female high jumpers led by Peter-Gay Reid of STETHS who had two good seasons with only a failure to make the final at the WYC in Italy this year spoiling her record.

She won back to back titles at CARIFTA setting a new U17 record, won back to back at Champs and also at Penn Relays where she looks set to break the record soon.

I agree the long jumpers are in a hiatus but after James Beckford have we really ever had any consistent performer on the global scale?

We all hoped Elva would have come through but injuries cut her career short.

As for the 400m dilemma I have no idea and we can all hope we are able to transfere some wanna be sprinters into decent quarter milers.

And in this regard this is where people like Bert Cameron has failed us badly as we all hoped he would have been able to identify and groom the next great quartermiler.

But Bertland nuh was one ah di National coaches in Berlin???

I agree the long jumpers are in a hiatus but after James Beckford have we really ever had any consistent performer on the global scale?

And in this regard this is where people like Bert Cameron has failed us badly as we all hoped he would have been able to identify and groom the next great quartermiler.
                        Two long jumpers held the crowd in their seats at the end of the national trials the other day. 8.21 and 8.19 are not bad.

Gosh, Siccko! How can you blame Bert?! The athletes failed themselves, perhaps!

Bert nuh coach nuh big time 400m prospects as far as I know. Indeed, does he coach ANY senior athlete?

are we dissing Bert now?

"Dark Shadows"...?? you must be as old as the hills... or even as old as the man from Shady Pines.

Historian as usual makes valid points; the "criticism" of his comment is in the context they are made...all of a sudden we are seen to be bordering on underachieving? before even a year and a week have respectively passed since the Olys and the WC in which we excelled even beyond our expectations I would say.

JA has a long tradition in T&F so I think what Histy is really trying to say is that we should "carpe diem" now that our star is on really the rise, that all the hard work of predecessor athletes and coaches is now coming to fruition.

Now I don't have a problem with being a one or two trick pony... if sprints is our forte let's not dilute the talent pool because we want to emulate the bigger nations and have a man/woman in every single event at the world class level. Even countries with vast resouces find that difficult, so our desires must be tempered with reality and practicality. What we really should focus on is NOT ignoring the kids who show promise in the non-showcase events.