Willi how is VC thing about Franno

true! but if people don't attend camps, and start coming down with all sorts of ailments, that's all the time they're gonna get.

again, how much time did they actually spend practicing? VCB was running 100m and 200m. do u think they were practicing all week? what, 1 day? 4 hours?!?

true! but if people don't attend camps, and start coming down with all sorts of ailments, that's all the time they're gonna get.

again, how much time did they actually spend practicing? VCB was running 100m and 200m. do u think they were practicing all week? what, 1 day? 4 hours?!?
      Perhaps I do not get it! ...are you saying no camp or camp? Just throw the runners on the track in any order?

So did MVP get the memo long before or not?

Did they do the right thing and lodge a complain? or they just ignored the memo?

While the JAAA is not all one can desire but you have to take in consideration that they have seasoned and young athlete in the camp and they have to accomodate everybody so there has to be some guideline.

Anyway the fact is there has to be some common ground as we can't do this every important meet.
        ...and when and for how long was the JAAA's coaches spending with each athlete?

An hour for two days? or...? ...and what were the athletes and their coaches doing during time the JAAA's coaches we not with the athletes?

She dodged them all week?
          ...also while practising?

i'm saying i've heard they barely practised if any! so, to make a "change" 90 minutes before the race is no big deal.

and i'm also saying that, when each runner all of a sudden started having all sorts of ailments, how much time did that leave them to practice? one person left-handed so she haffi run a certain leg, the other one foot sick, the other one just have surgery, what do we expect the relay coach to do?

don't get me wrong - i'm sure the brazilians, japanese and all those countries that have ordinary runners but great relay teams have taken this thing down to a science. and that's where they would make sure that each baton change was done almost from finger tip to finger tip, shortening the 400m track. we knew we didn't have to do that and once we just got the baton to the next runner our footspeed, over ground, of course, would give us the gold. when you have that advantage, baton changes are elementary.

a nuh me one sey suh. aks juliet cuthbert who has run on quite a few relay teams.

i'm saying i've heard they barely practised if any! so, to make a "change" 90 minutes before the race is no big deal.

and i'm also saying that, when each runner all of a sudden started having all sorts of ailments, how much time did that leave them to practice? one person left-handed so she haffi run a certain leg, the other one foot sick, the other one just have surgery, what do we expect the relay coach to do?

don't get me wrong - i'm sure the brazilians, japanese and all those countries that have ordinary runners but great relay teams have taken this thing down to a science. and that's where they would make sure that each baton change was done almost from finger tip to finger tip, shortening the 400m track. we knew we didn't have to do that and once we just got the baton to the next runner our footspeed, over ground, of course, would give us the gold. when you have that advantage, baton changes are elementary.

a nuh me one sey suh. aks juliet cuthbert who has run on quite a few relay teams.
              Agreed!

...yet look at how the T'dad & Tobago men's team ran us close? Shouldn't our men have made that...'buttah'?

yes, but we knew conservative baton changes would have been enuff. and it was!

close? not really, but we should have beaten them by more!

Close....hahahahahahaha

Karl ah di best.

The 2nd fastest time in history and Carl called it close. Even when Burns obstructed Frater's marker and inadvertently caused our bad first exchange, we still dusted them. Even when Bolt ran the WORTST leg he has run in eons due to extreme fatigue, we dusted.

In any case, TnT is no slouch. 3 of the 4 have a sub-10 official PB and Callendar is a very good bend runner.

Mo, it is not normal to have a left hander. A kind of a gift and first and third legs must pass with right hand and 2nd and anchor with left hand.

Normally all the runners are right handed, so two will be running /passing unnaturally. This can be done, of course, but some like Bolt are so uncomfortable that they always switch hands.

We have Kerron who has fabulous top end speed and is left handed...a natural choice for anchor in my books. VC is a gifted curve runner. In structuring a perfect Jam team, I woul use SAF to SS to VC to KS.

Just saying that VC only practising anchor from inception was poor planning.

Are U that deluded???

It has been PROVEN by video evidence that Asafa finished the race with his batoon in the LEFT hand. The video slo-mo destroys the misrepresentation that you continue to foster. I posted the link in a separate thread and YOU STILL COME HERE TO REPEAT THAT NONSENSE???

The first time you could be forgiven for being sloppy, but now you seem to be bent on creating mischief and spreading an obvious and easily verified LIE.

Have you no shame man? It is clear that Asafa switched the baton to his right hand after finishing the race. It is there for the world to see and anyone could see that IT HAD TO BE SO! If the baton was to be switched, it would have to be just after handoff at the start of the leg. Even at full speed video it was clear that Asafa did not do this and in full flight if he attempted to do so, the slowdown would have been noticable.

Dont tell me that you were either so lazy or bitter at being called out that you did not go back and review the video.

ROTFLMAO.

You clearly have an agenda and will stick to it no matter what.

I notice you still have not answered my question. I will take it as meaning you dont have a satisfactory answer.

I am still not convinced why a camp is obligatory. It is a good idea for those who have no alternative and for others to arrive at at their convenience.

Relay practice should be decoupled from this if we really want to be serious about it. It has to start earlier and be more regular and contain a pool of say 10 athletes which will be whittled down to 6 by time the Globals start.

The whole JAAA situation for me is azz backwards. They try to make obligatory camps with new, less experienced coaches taking over from the succesfual senior coachesand oblige athletes to run relays. This creates weird dynamics.

One, it is irresponsible to subordinate Club coaches at the most critical time of athelete peaking. Foolish in the extreme. the camp should be optional and supportive. The tail is wagging the dog.. Cant work, and poor results will follow, as night follows day. The evidence is clear.

Second, the oblige athletes to run relay. That is so crazy. the one jewel that the JAAA properly owns, the give up. Relay should be a PRIVILEGE, not a right or obligation. This is what caused the problem. Some think they have a right to anchor, cant wuk. No Asafa, no VC has such a right. Others feel buredened to HAVE to run relay, even on injury risking legs. Thus, when athletes should be naturally eager to run relays and FIGHT to get on the team, we have just the opposite. To get on the US relay team (of which any olympian can, hurdles, LJers, etc) one has to FIGHT and prove the case. This results in POWER to the Federation, as they can insist on fair and logical rules and regs and as everyone WANTS to get a prized sport, they never have our particular type of chaos.

Any Federation worth their saolt should have been able to figure all this out. They would facilitate top producers to do their things in a helpful and free camp situation and they would set clear ground rules and requirements for RELAY inclusion. This would work MUCH better and we would have the harmony we desire.

As for the memo, I dont know. From what was reported, the JAAA sent out an email 7 days before the camp was to start. VC's agent confirmed this. He said he also understood by word of mouth that the camp was mandatory.

JAAA initially said the camp was mandatory for testing. IAAF later refuted that obvious lie. I am sure JAAA could have been sanctioned for that lie.

MVP agent said he sent a letter asking for confirmation of a mandatory camp. He said he never received a reply. This is not the first report I have of the JAAA ignoring written requests.

I see no reason if a camp is not an absolute necessity to accomodate everyone. Simply find out who requires it and cater to that subset.

I agree we need common ground, and that is what the fight is about.

A properply structured and sane Jam. Athletic Federation, with coherent, supportive and relevant rules would bee a BOON to Jamaica's sporting cause. Right now, they seem to be partb of the problem.

See the posting from last week on people's opinions and how to move forward. We need professional counsellors to do a truth and reconsilliation to face the injustice and hard feelings of yesteryear, otherwise the will continue to fester.

After that, we need to restructure the JAAA radically. A starting template could be the IAAF, which shed its amateur status and mindset years ago.
                          Recall when the ONE DON Primo Nebiolo was in charge? It was his way or the highway and he ruled with an iron fist. this is the role model for the current JAAA setup and that is the HEART of the problem.

You cant manage a 2009 Pro setup with a 1950's paternalistic minset. Just wont work, and the fissure you see in the relationship is testament to that.

Except in the case of Felix, wi naa doubt har abilities but until shi old and ina wheelchair..di back strtch his hars
                            Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                            Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

agreed 100%!

i just wanted to make sure that the left-handedness was not first and foremost in determining the leg!

No

That cant be it.

Come on man...mi ah nuh novice inna dis. Your views on the realy case are the best I have read anywhere. Way to tell it like it is! Plain truth and bad mannaz.

Kudos pon dat.