• WPost:Bolt clean,incomparable but comparable to Magic,Lebron

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn...errer=facebook

The Incomparable Usain Bolt

TOOLBOX
    Resize
    Print

washington_po284:http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn...082403004.htmlYahoo! Buzz

if ( show_doubleclick_ad && ( adTemplate & TOOLBOX_LEFT_180X31 ) == TOOLBOX_LEFT_180X31 ){placeAd('ARTICLE',commercialNode,28,'',true) ;}

#ArticleCommentsWrapper {display:block};
    COMMENT
    0 Comments
    if ( COMMENTS_ALLOWED ) { if( COMMENTS_ACTIVE) { // document.write('POST A COMMENT
    '); document.write('BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT
    '); document.write( getDisplayUserName()+'
    '); document.write(''+getFakeForm()+'
    '); document.write(' Discussion Policy
    '); document.write('
    '); } else { document.write('COMMENTS ARE CLOSED
    '); } } BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT
    You must be logged in to leave a comment. Log in | Register Why Do I Have to Log In Again?
    CLOSE

We've made some updates to washingtonpost.com's Groups, MyPost and comment pages. We need you to verify your MyPost ID by logging in before you can post to the new pages. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Discussion Policy

Your browser's settings may be preventing you from commenting on and viewing comments about this item. See instructions for fixing the problem.

Discussion Policy
    CLOSE

Comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

Who's Blogging

ยป Links to this article

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Regarding Michael Wilbon's Aug. 20 Sports column, "Outrunning Everything, Except Public Cynicism," on what he characterized as the unfortunate suspicion that Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt may be using performance-enhancing drugs:
    In wondering whether Mr. Bolt is "clean," Mr. Wilbon cited astonishing performances turned in by sprinters who turned out to be juiced, including the disgraced Ben Johnson and Tim Montgomery. For those who follow track and field closely, though, Mr. Johnson and Mr. Montgomery weren't surprises: After strong but unspectacular years of sprinting, both suddenly piled on massive amounts of muscle and dropped their times by large amounts.
    Mr. Bolt, on the other hand, was a phenomenon as a 16-year-old: He was raw and gangly, but his talent was obvious. More specifically, there's never been a sprinter before Mr. Bolt who could combine his unusual height (6'5") with such quickness. Matching Mr. Bolt against sprinters eight or 10 inches shorter is (as we're seeing) no match.
    So rather than comparing Bolt to disgraced, juiced (5'8") sprinters like Mr. Johnson and Mr. Montgomery, let's compare him to Magic Johnson or LeBron James, who did the same thing Mr. Bolt has done: revolutionize their sport by combining power-forward size with point-guard quickness.
    MIKE MORIARTY

McLean

American commentary and references make me nauseous.

They could have compared him to Brian Lara yuh kno'

Great Empires tend to elicit this reaction from some...

They could have compared him to Brian Lara yuh kno'
          Peter R, I am sure that you are joking. How many Americans you think know the name Brian Lara? They have to make the comparison to the icons their culture is familiar with.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran