Lewis: 'Who cares I failed drug test?'

• Lewis: 'Who cares I failed drug test?'

Lewis: 'Who cares I failed drug test?' Written by Duncan Mackay Monday, 14 April 2003 The Guardian

Carl Lewis has broken his silence on allegations that he was the beneficiary of a drugs cover-up, admitting he had tested positive for banned substances but claiming he was just one of "hundreds" of American athletes who were allowed to escape bans.

"There were hundreds of people getting off," he said. "Everyone was treated the same."

Lewis has now acknowledged that he failed three tests during the 1988 US Olympic trials, which under international rules at the time should have prevented him from competing in the Seoul games two months later.

The admission is a further embarrassment for the United States Olympic Committee, which had initially denied claims that 114 positive tests between 1988 and 2000 were covered up. It will add weight to calls by leading anti-doping officials and top athletes for an independent inquiry into the US's record on drug issues.

Last week Dr Wade Exum alleged that a ban imposed on Lewis after positive tests for three stimulants had been overturned by the USOC when the athlete said he had ingested them mistakenly in a herbal supplement.

Lewis received only a warning after officials ruled that his positive tests were due to "inadvertent" use. Some scientists believe the substances could have been a masking agent for more serious drugs, such as anabolic steroids.

"The climate was different then," said Lewis. "Over the years a lot of people will sit around and debate that [the drug] does something. There really is no pure evidence to show that it does something. It does nothing."

Lewis, who was arrested in Los Angeles on Monday for suspected drink-driving which friends say was the result of depression over Exum's revelations, won the 100 metres gold medal in the 1988 Seoul Olympics after Canada's Ben Johnson was stripped of the title when he tested positive for a steroid.

Lewis also won the long jump and finished second in the 200m behind his training partner Joe DeLoach, also named by Exum as having escaped a ban.

Johnson has now demanded that Lewis be stripped of his medals from Seoul, although the International Olympic Committee has no plans to review the situation because it has a statute of limitation set at three years.

"Do you expect him to say anything different?" said Lewis. "I mean we're talking about Ben Johnson. Come on. Let's be realistic."

Lewis, 41, said he was not concerned about the uproar around the world caused by the revelations. "It's ridiculous. Who cares?" he said. "I did 18 years of track and field and I've been retired five years, and they're still talking about me, so I guess I still have it."

Hypocrite and parasite
    Want to come out and take a bite of Bolt.

Mine him get shock by lightning.

Lewis: 'Who cares I failed drug test?' Written by Duncan Mackay Monday, 14 April 2003 The Guardian

Carl Lewis has broken his silence on allegations that he was the beneficiary of a drugs cover-up, admitting he had tested positive for banned substances but claiming he was just one of "hundreds" of American athletes who were allowed to escape bans.

"There were hundreds of people getting off," he said. "Everyone was treated the same."

Lewis has now acknowledged that he failed three tests during the 1988 US Olympic trials, which under international rules at the time should have prevented him from competing in the Seoul games two months later.

The admission is a further embarrassment for the United States Olympic Committee, which had initially denied claims that 114 positive tests between 1988 and 2000 were covered up. It will add weight to calls by leading anti-doping officials and top athletes for an independent inquiry into the US's record on drug issues.

Last week Dr Wade Exum alleged that a ban imposed on Lewis after positive tests for three stimulants had been overturned by the USOC when the athlete said he had ingested them mistakenly in a herbal supplement.

Lewis received only a warning after officials ruled that his positive tests were due to "inadvertent" use. Some scientists believe the substances could have been a masking agent for more serious drugs, such as anabolic steroids.

"The climate was different then," said Lewis. "Over the years a lot of people will sit around and debate that [the drug] does something. There really is no pure evidence to show that it does something. It does nothing."

Lewis, who was arrested in Los Angeles on Monday for suspected drink-driving which friends say was the result of depression over Exum's revelations, won the 100 metres gold medal in the 1988 Seoul Olympics after Canada's Ben Johnson was stripped of the title when he tested positive for a steroid.

Lewis also won the long jump and finished second in the 200m behind his training partner Joe DeLoach, also named by Exum as having escaped a ban.

Johnson has now demanded that Lewis be stripped of his medals from Seoul, although the International Olympic Committee has no plans to review the situation because it has a statute of limitation set at three years.

"Do you expect him to say anything different?" said Lewis. "I mean we're talking about Ben Johnson. Come on. Let's be realistic."

Lewis, 41, said he was not concerned about the uproar around the world caused by the revelations. "It's ridiculous. Who cares?" he said. "I did 18 years of track and field and I've been retired five years, and they're still talking about me, so I guess I still have it."
      What a monumental fraud and hypocrite.

yuh acting surprised!? likkle by likkle ben johnson a get some vindication!

poor merlene.

Hypocrite and parasite
            Want to come out and take a bite of Bolt.

Mine him get shock by lightning.
            Yuh seit! That guy was and still is a fraud!

btw - 'Memba mi haul-ways seh mek dem tek wah dem want...

...besides the athletes just cannot protect themselves from being sullied in the present nonsense climate where substances not banned can and do result in bans if found in the athletes systems.

Aside: If we look at the current situation with the Jamaica 5, we'll see athletes from many camps all being struck with the same 'ailment'. What does the regulatory bodies want us to believe? The athetes got together and had a 'peformance enhancing party' using substances not on the 'banned lists'?

Makes no sense!

stale news-this article is 6 years old

Carl Lewis has not been heard of since the 2009 WC.

The guy is a selfish and pompous ass!
                Good riddance!

...remember his 'now we know' fake righteous indignation when Ben whipped his ass?

i remember his MANY speeches about CLEAN athletes when was a fling word after ben johnson completely ignoring flo jo...and HIMSELF!!

a massive fraud .....never liked him and now that it is actually justified .......?!!!!!!

and LIE...him owna sistah had to buss him...'bout him neva did look 'cross di line when the replay showed him STARING....

i am so happy i booed him in fla!

can someone please post his "star mangled banner" rendition again....

Yuh seit!
                      ...he now has a problem in accepting the spotlight has is not on him...that he is irrelevant!

and LIE...him owna sistah had to buss him...'bout him neva did look 'cross di line when the replay showed him STARING....

i am so happy i booed him in fla!

can someone please post his "star mangled banner" rendition again....
                        You really dislike dis yah guy!

me too!

at your request sir

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJLvCM4j2mg
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

....why yuh seh dat?

Yuh his wiked!