It's Party Time!!!!
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015Tags: None
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Usain Bolt targets long jump in bid for legend status
• Mike Powell says Jamaican has physique to make big impact
guardian.co.uk, Sunday 23 August 2009 21.55 BST
After his record-breaking efforts in the sprints, Usain Bolt is now contemplating a future in the long jump, the 23-year-old said. The Jamaican has frequently expressed his desire to become a legend in the sport like Jesse Owens and Carl Lewis, who both excelled in the sprints and the long jump. "I tell my coach I'd love to try the long jump before I retire. Definitely," said the triple world record holder. "Hopefully I can do this before I retire because I think I'd be very good."
Mike Powell, the American long jumper whose world record of 8.95m has stood since the 1991 World Championships, believes Bolt could be the first to crack nine metres.
"With his height [6ft 5in] he is the type who would scare me … he is tall and fast." Powell believes the Jamaican could revitalise the event. "We are dealing with a freak-of-nature athlete. He is off the charts. He is destroying other athletes, making them look like kids."
The debate over whether Bolt will compete in the 400m rages on. The Jamaican said he would run the one-lap distance as a season's opener next year, but reiterated that he was not keen on the event. Could he be persuaded in time for 2012? "I don't know. I don't want to do it but if my coach decides I'm dominant over the 100 and 200 and let's try something new, I'll definitely try to put my heart into it also."
Bolt was presented with a piece of the Berlin Wall to take back to Jamaica, an acknowledgement of his triple gold medal-winning performances over the last 10 days. "Everybody knows my name. I'm as big as Bob Marley because my name is really everywhere like Bob Marley's was when he was alive. I have one of the rarest talents you'll ever find over 10 years," said Bolt who now competes in Zurich on Friday and Brussels next week. "There won't be any more world records for the rest of the season – I'm just trying to win."Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Usain...I don't think you quite reach Bob Marley status... nothing against you my young friend but, unless you leave an enduring legacy (like music) you name will fade, not away, but fade it will. Bob Marley will be huge for generations...
Maybe you could take up music when you retire?Peter R
He does not and will not have the status of Marley, but I have said before that he COULD very well be a more recognizable face than Bob Marley right now.
What he has in his favour is China and India , ie 30% of the worlds population which was not exposed much to Marley at the height of his career and he still is less known there than elsewhere. Bolt on the other hand is probably recognizable to every Chinese person over 5 years old.
I know many Jcans hate to even think that this is possible, but , the world is an infinitely more connected place today than it was in the 70s and 80s."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Jangle View PostUsain Bolt targets long jump in bid for legend status
• Mike Powell says Jamaican has physique to make big impact
guardian.co.uk, Sunday 23 August 2009 21.55 BST
After his record-breaking efforts in the sprints, Usain Bolt is now contemplating a future in the long jump, the 23-year-old said. The Jamaican has frequently expressed his desire to become a legend in the sport like Jesse Owens and Carl Lewis, who both excelled in the sprints and the long jump. "I tell my coach I'd love to try the long jump before I retire. Definitely," said the triple world record holder. "Hopefully I can do this before I retire because I think I'd be very good."
Mike Powell, the American long jumper whose world record of 8.95m has stood since the 1991 World Championships, believes Bolt could be the first to crack nine metres.
"With his height [6ft 5in] he is the type who would scare me … he is tall and fast." Powell believes the Jamaican could revitalise the event. "We are dealing with a freak-of-nature athlete. He is off the charts. He is destroying other athletes, making them look like kids."
The debate over whether Bolt will compete in the 400m rages on. The Jamaican said he would run the one-lap distance as a season's opener next year, but reiterated that he was not keen on the event. Could he be persuaded in time for 2012? "I don't know. I don't want to do it but if my coach decides I'm dominant over the 100 and 200 and let's try something new, I'll definitely try to put my heart into it also."
Bolt was presented with a piece of the Berlin Wall to take back to Jamaica, an acknowledgement of his triple gold medal-winning performances over the last 10 days. "Everybody knows my name. I'm as big as Bob Marley because my name is really everywhere like Bob Marley's was when he was alive. I have one of the rarest talents you'll ever find over 10 years," said Bolt (add a couple zeros to that) who now competes in Zurich on Friday and Brussels next week. "There won't be any more world records for the rest of the season – I'm just trying to win."
I called this here on this forum a month ago.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE