Relay: Losing Golden Opportunity!

• Relay: Losing Golden Opportunity!

From my comments in the thread below, my friends here most likely realize that I was not happy with the 42.06 seconds ran by the Jamaica women’s sprint relay team on Saturday.

Of course, the argument advanced by Islandman and others about the state of the ladies’ minds amidst the chaos and the importance of safe baton passing to ensure the gold medal are most certainly very logical and certainly relevant arguments. Also, as Hortical very correctly stated, “A win is a win.” That too I cannot argue against. I respect those points!

We are, however, running out of time to stamp our authority on an event that we should have firmly owned (in terms of record) by now! But let me stop and let a seasoned, world class athlete, Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie, put another angle to the issue (her perspective is that we should have used our best team). The following interview was published in today’s Daily Gleaner

Source of Interview story: The Jamaica Gleaner
    http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...s/sports2.html

Jamaica women could have had a world record

Published: Monday | August 24, 2009

Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie

Berlin, Germany:

Veteran Bahamian sprinter Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie who led her country to a silver medal in the women's sprint relay on Saturday evening in Berlin said Jamaica's decision not to run their best team in the final of the event on Saturday was 'mind-boggling'.

According to Ferguson, Jamaica's best team had a chance of breaking the world record.

Take advantage
    "It does not happen too often that you have a team to break the world record so when you have it have it you take advantage of it," Ferguson-McKenzie told journalists in the mixed zone.

".. And that's what I thought was - very mind-boggling. Why aren't they putting it together. Take the world record it does not come around too often. But I can't judge them they know what they are doing and obviously they still went out there and they won," said the 33-year-old sprinter. Ferguson-McKenzie ran on the Bahamas 'golden girls' team which took the 1999 World title and the 2000 Olympic crown.

Jamaica ran the sprint relay without Veronica Campbell-Brown who withdrew from the team shortly before the race was run.

Campbell-Brown later slammed the team management here for what she termed their "unprofessional" conduct.
    The women's 4x100m world record is 41.37 seconds held since 1985 by the then East Germany. The members of that team were Silke Gladisch, Sabine Rieger, Ingrid Auerswald and Marlies Gohr. A Jamaican team with Shelly-Ann Fraser, Veronica Campbell-Brown, Aleen Bailey and Kerron Stewart was expected to get near to or go under the world record. Fraser is the national record holder with 10.73, Stewart has a personal best 10.75, a time she equalled in the 100m final here while Campbell Brown has a season best 10.95 and Bailey, 11.07.

Jamaica won the sprint relay on Saturday in 42.06 seconds with Bahamas second in a season best 42.29. - E.T.

historian...this happens! sometimes athletes get caught up in the moment and od not ee the bigger picture.

the first thing that comes to mind is a young (but balding) andre agassi refusing to play at wimbledon because he refuses to wear all white...then a more mature and agassi (comfortable with being bald) wear the white and wins wimbledon!

wimbledon is and always will be bigger tah agassi, sampras, federer and nadal and if htey accept that it bcomes easier for them. VCB made a decision which i do not think that she will be 100% comfortable with over time....

Agreed.

One other thing on this, the more stories I see the more I get the feeling this was NOT really just about running anchor or whatever. There seems to be some elements of a power struggle between the ladies and maybe even at the level of thier coaches and camps.

arite den!

historian...this happens! sometimes athletes get caught up in the moment and od not ee the bigger picture.

the first thing that comes to mind is a young (but balding) andre agassi refusing to play at wimbledon because he refuses to wear all white...then a more mature and agassi (comfortable with being bald) wear the white and wins wimbledon!

wimbledon is and always will be bigger tah agassi, sampras, federer and nadal and if htey accept that it bcomes easier for them. VCB made a decision which i do not think that she will be 100% comfortable with over time....
          VCB fi eva!! Mek di JAAA old fogey dem guhwey!!

LoL

Yuh seit!

Debbie is VCB stable mate, shouldn't be a shocker.
                Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

OK, didn't realise that. Her concern makes more sense now.

You understand that Debbie Ferguson is VCB's good friend and training partner and would be biased towards VCB, right?

I am not saying she was not correct, i am just pointing out a fact..

nuff "outside forces" a try disrupt di "unity"
                      Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                      Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

seeitdeh...we encourage stranger fi inna wi living room a throw wud 'pan wi...ah bwoy!

Won't be the first time. In the Sydney fiasco - Pauline Thompson was all up in our business and referred to Merlene as "granny".

Dat's why to this day, me nuh like Pauline!

It seems back then too there was an issue with who would run in the relays...don't remember the details.

merlene or peta gaye dowdie....