Is it just me or does Sanya winning just irk you!

yuh start i upagain... i would have been happy for those 2 roles to be reversed JA get the gold and she get the silver!!!

Re: Sanya Richards

LOL! Stonigut After all those mutual compliments between you and Historian and then you post this! Expect some harsh words on this from him!

Anyway, personally I have no beef with Sanya. I was happy for her when she finally won her individual gold. I consider her a great talent with a charming personality who for whatever reason is representing the country where she has lived her entire adult life.
      Islandman, you know me so much (although we’ve never met) that it isn’t funny (lol). As usual, bro, you are correct .

Stonigut, I have no problem with you or anyone expressing personal opinions freely. I do it every day (lol). Nevertheless, I just want to make a small input here. As a teen, Sanya was NOT the one who made the decision to change her citizenship!!!! I’m not sure why is this so difficult for so many Jamaicans to understand!! But then again, maybe I am being naive in my surprise that so many Jamaicans hate a young woman for a decision to become a foreigner, a decision that was made by a parent while she was under the age of 18 and therefore not an adult. Maybe I underestimate the irrationality of some of my fellow Jamaicans?

Personally speaking, Sanya Richards is an athlete that I adore tremendously, and she is certainly among my top five favorite female athletes on the planet! Certainly I wanted my beloved Shericka Williams to win that gold medal, but if Sanya is the one who ended up winning (which she did), then I have no problem with that!

Equally important, Sanya has never failed to maintain connection with Jamaica and with her old school, despite the barbs that narrow minded, insensitive, thoughtless Jamaican have thrown her way at local and international track meets.

By the way, her family is, in many ways, an exemplary one!!! Do I respect Sanya and her family? You bet I do!!!!

Understood, as I say nothing wrong with that in my view. There are Jamaicans who would have been happy if Sanya tripped and got nothing.

As for me, I would have been happy for JA but somewhat sad for Sanya.

If she is not threatening our medal count, then I wish her well as a Jakan and all.
          That's exactly what she did!

It is just you...LOL...actually if you approach her and she realise you are Jamaican she switches easily to patois.

Yes she did 'reject' us as you said but when she did it she was still a junior so maybe she did not have much choice as maybe it was her parents who did not think we would be able to fully utilise her talents.

But yes I do feel irked when she beat Wire-wire for the gold...

All I know, she seems to be all over Usain's richard! First was the youtube then camera shots of them in the warm-up area frolicking and the rest of it!

Sanya ever see Mizzi yet? (A so she name? although she is mi relative!)

Sandra Farmer Patrick really ticked me off..she was here in Kingston for Trials when he papers came through and she left so fast the hotel room door was stil swinging when she rushed the the airport to get back to the US...but God nah sleep, she nuh go buck her foot and did not finish her race (cant recall if it was Olympics or WC) and she was never the same afterwards... bun a fyah

wha kinda back and belly post that...which begins "it is just you" and ends with "But yes I do feel irked when she beat Wire-wire for the gold"? 'splain yuhself...QUIUCK!

Sorry cant help you there at all, I dont know any details but that does not sound right...based on the little I do know, I doubt a ticket from Florida to here would have been a problem for either her family or the JAAA plus I know she used to come back often as she did have close family here as well.

MI DID TINKL A ME ONE NOTICE IT OR FEEL SUH!! but i could be wrong....

LOL! See what a hack writer I am? cant even explain myself properly..ha ha ha...it means that i do understand how you feel and it does irk me when she beats a jamaican but I cant blame her for the actions of her parents and unlike you I dont/didnt have her up.

Mizzi is still here in Jamaica and I know Mr Sanya is in NFL training camp....hmmmmm

but di tv cameras buss dem!

Sheeeeettt!!!! Me believe seh a me alone did see dat wid me "third" yeye. hehehe....
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                                ...in fact, she has consistently supported jamaica financially and otherwise while representing the usa... a lot more so than many jamaicans who have similar means...

respect to sanya richards everytime...
                                Truth!