I just checked the male 4x100 relay final...

AHA!!! so you HAVE been drinking the kool aid!! or is it that you NOW want to drink the kool aid?

LOL...Ever read Tom Wolfe's 'Electric Acid Kool-Aid test'...wicked book...

Ah di last exchange mek di time was di secon fastest in history an not a anodah worl record. Powell nevah really use up him markah to him exchange box. Si how Usain run up pan him. Dat did really show seh Asafa did hab a groin problem fi true. Him nevah use up him markah to nuh great extent. Jus play it safe.

Mullings to Frater got messed up, so was the Frater to Bolt.
          Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
          Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

But rumour has it his preference was a Red Stripe...

Sure but I am also sure the marketing people at Sam Adams must have fallen on him like a bank safe falling on Wiley Coyote ands made sure he drank a Boston beer...

Red Stripe had already got its props!

Yes they did and they did not have to ship a case nof beer there either..

Bolt took the baton in his right hand and delivered it to Asafa in HIS left hand. Asafa ran all the way to the line to FINSH with the baton ....in his LEFT hand. The baton switched to the right hand AFTER the race done.

Check the slo mo at 9:33mins at:
                    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPyFGDkM37U

Siccko, yuh a journalist man. DO proper research!!!

Switching hands costs time. Elementary stuff, I cant see why you even argue this.
                    Di video gone, mi get dis yah message: This video has been removed due to terms of use violation.

Will..ah yuh an Sickko kass kass mek dis gwaan. Cho!!

Willi....there must be something said for being just more than 'safe'. Also how do we put numbers to safe...what is fast baton change...etc...in these days of superslow mo cameras, action replyas etc..and scientific coaching, yes, I think we have to be a little more scientific with our relays...let's look at the emprical data...
                      If you reflect back to champs days(late 70's , 80's) you'll remember teams like Camperdown that had wicked baton changes and WON!
                      OK, so we win on footspeed - what happens when a team has same footspeed? or slightly marginally better....
                      We have to win relays on a combination of speed and smooth transition....yes, I know its difficult to get teams together but to go for the WR again may need a camp of sorts....or just more team Jamaica relays...
                      In the long run - anything can happen...dropped baton, faulty change, running out of the box, lane, etc...
                      I WANT US TO BLOW AWAY THE WR now when we have our fastest sprinters..fit and ready!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mbXYl...1&feature=fvwp

Tanks..but..ah dis dem tell mi now:The URL contained a malformed video ID

Nuh worry yuhself...mi si di race areddy..

Respek

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            Willi....there must be something said for being just more than 'safe'. Also how do we put numbers to safe...what is fast baton change...etc...in these days of superslow mo cameras, action replyas etc..and scientific coaching, yes, I think we have to be a little more scientific with our relays...let's look at the emprical data...
                            If you reflect back to champs days(late 70's , 80's) you'll remember teams like Camperdown that had wicked baton changes and WON!

OK, so we win on footspeed - what happens when a team has same footspeed? or slightly marginally better....

We have to win relays on a combination of speed and smooth transition....yes, I know its difficult to get teams together but to go for the WR again may need a camp of sorts....or just more team Jamaica relays...

In the long run - anything can happen...dropped baton, faulty change, running out of the box, lane, etc...

I WANT US TO BLOW AWAY THE WR now when we have our fastest sprinters..fit and ready!
                            ...and maginally slower footspeed can and do beat teams with greater footspeed!

nuh worri yuh-self Exile di idea dat practising di baton exchanges is unimportant...a wan nonsense policy. fool-fool busi-niz dat!

Nobody said that.

I said we cant afford to practice like the French that live and train together all year long, with generous Govt stipends. Dem dont have to make a living in the flat 100m. Dem caan win anyway!

Again I say for those who cant seem to grasp it, since we cant do it the French way, we just need minimal practice time to arrange logistic and let the years of experience take over.

No way footspeed get beaten by the French if footspeed gets average baton changes.

Bolt show you that Friday. Hahahahahahahaha

Nobody said that.

I said we cant afford to practice like the French that live and train together all year long, with generous Govt stipends. Dem dont have to make a living in the flat 100m. Dem caan win anyway!

Again I say for those who cant seem to grasp it, since we cant do it the French way, we just need minimal practice time to arrange logistic and let the years of experience take over.

No way footspeed get beaten by the French if footspeed gets average baton changes.

Bolt show you that Friday. Hahahahahahahaha
                                Let's use the reverse order on what you said -
                                a) both teams, USA and Jamaica had a set of poor changes. If the USA had adequate changes and we still had those poor changes Bolt would have followed Spearman home.

They would have run about 37.50+ and we would have done our 37.70.

b) I think the JAAA can broker a deal with Franno, Mills and the other athletes to have us running our best teams a few times each year. ...get the runners some familarity with each other over a longer period. and fine tune at the major meets i.e. at the Olympics and th World Championships.

c) Forget the French and whomever we are seeking best for our athletes and Jamaica!

d) I never said you said we should not work at practising baton exchanges. Your comments speak for themselves.
                                Last edited by Karl; August 30, 2009, 02:58 PM.